Depending on the spells, you can quicken one and cast another. One of them has to be a cantrip though, no two leveled spell combos without action surge.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Twinned Spell: When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell's level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
Class feature says "targets only 1 creature" AOE doesn't require a target, only a location or destination, and isn't a casting range of self.
Twinned Spell: When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell's level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
Class feature says "targets only 1 creature" AOE doesn't require a target, only a location or destination, and isn't a casting range of self.
So, yes you can.
I don't think this is true. I seem to recall a sage advice that disallows you from twinning chaos bolt because it /can/ jump to a second target.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Twinned Spell test: can the spell affect only one creature at the spell's current level, and is its range not self? If yes, TS works.
The only problem with that of course is that he doesn't allow Dragon's Breath to be twinned because it will ultimately affect more than one creature - you cast it on someone and when it is used there is an AoE that includes multiple targets. I think I read that ice knife can't be twinned so I'm going to take a wild guess that witch bolt can't. However, I would take to your DM. I allow twinning Dragons breath because RAW the spell itself affects one target. What that target or targets choose to do is not my concern.
The words 'affect' or 'creatures' are not in the description of twinned spell. Target and creature are 2 different definitions in 5e. This is explained in both Targets and AoE on page 204 of PHB, take note that nowhere under the AoE section of rules, the word target is ever used. Words like location, and point of origin are. The word 'target' is actually avoided in the AoE section.
Twinned Spell test: can the spell affect only one creature at the spell's current level, and is its range not self? If yes, TS works.
The only problem with that of course is that he doesn't allow Dragon's Breath to be twinned because it will ultimately affect more than one creature - you cast it on someone and when it is used there is an AoE that includes multiple targets. I think I read that ice knife can't be twinned so I'm going to take a wild guess that witch bolt can't. However, I would take to your DM. I allow twinning Dragons breath because RAW the spell itself affects one target. What that target or targets choose to do is not my concern.
Your "problem" is fake, you have misread RAW. Per RAW, the Dragon Breath spell does not do damage, it grants you the ability to do damage. The spell itself only targets one person, not the people damaged by the dragon breath. Note the range is TOUCH, while the damage is a cone of 15 ft. The cone of damage exceeds the range of the spell, so it can not be part of the spell.
Similarly, a fire bolt can set fire to a forest, killing multiple people in the forest. But it still only affects a single target.
I did not say I agreed with Jeremy. I am merely repeating his view on the matter. Since many DMs do agree with Sage Advice, it is always a good idea to check with your DM to see how they want to handle it.
Twinned Spell;You can spend sorcery points equal to a spell's level (1 for a cantrip) to target a second creature in range with the same spell, as long as the spell at the level it's being cast is incapable of targeting more than one creature. - - - - - - - Cure Wounds 1st LevelEvocation / . . .Range/Area: Touch / Source: PHB, pg. 230 /
A creature you touch regains a number of hit points equal to 1d8 + your spellcasting ability modifier. This spell has no effect on undead or constructs.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the healing increases by 1d8 for each slot level above 1st.
So is this saying regardless of normal action economy a Sorcerer could meta-cast twinned cure wounds on two separate creatures in touch range, in one action?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Itinerant Deputy Shire-reave Tomas Burrfoot - world walker, Raft-captain, speaker to his dead
Toddy Shelfungus- Rider of the Order of Ill Luck, Speaker to Friends of Friends, and Horribly big nosed
Jarl Archi of Jenisis Glade Fee- Noble Knight of the Dragonborn Goldcrest Clan, Sorcerer of the Noble Investigator;y; Knightly order of the Wolfhound
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can I use twinn meta magic and target 1 person with 2 spells that only target 1 person
no twin allows you to effect 1 additional creature on a single target spell
Depending on the spells, you can quicken one and cast another. One of them has to be a cantrip though, no two leveled spell combos without action surge.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
There are a few others ways to get another leveled spells without action surge, but A.S. is the main one. Reactions and Thieves Reflexes can do it.
can ice knife be used with twinned spell meta magic, as it has a secondary AOE after the initial hit?
Twinned Spell:
When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell's level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).
Class feature says "targets only 1 creature" AOE doesn't require a target, only a location or destination, and isn't a casting range of self.
So, yes you can.
As long as the Reaction isn’t on the caster’s turn 🙂
I don't think this is true. I seem to recall a sage advice that disallows you from twinning chaos bolt because it /can/ jump to a second target.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Sage Advice (Crawford's ruling):
Twinned Spell test: can the spell affect only one creature at the spell's current level, and is its range not self? If yes, TS works.
The only problem with that of course is that he doesn't allow Dragon's Breath to be twinned because it will ultimately affect more than one creature - you cast it on someone and when it is used there is an AoE that includes multiple targets. I think I read that ice knife can't be twinned so I'm going to take a wild guess that witch bolt can't. However, I would take to your DM. I allow twinning Dragons breath because RAW the spell itself affects one target. What that target or targets choose to do is not my concern.
'second targets' being the keywords in your post
The words 'affect' or 'creatures' are not in the description of twinned spell. Target and creature are 2 different definitions in 5e. This is explained in both Targets and AoE on page 204 of PHB, take note that nowhere under the AoE section of rules, the word target is ever used. Words like location, and point of origin are. The word 'target' is actually avoided in the AoE section.
Can I twin a fireball if there's only 1 creature in each instance of fireball?
No.
Because there is no target. It's a point of origin that affects the creatures within. Doesn't select any targets.
Can you twin Clone If you were a wizard with the metamagic feat?
Your "problem" is fake, you have misread RAW. Per RAW, the Dragon Breath spell does not do damage, it grants you the ability to do damage. The spell itself only targets one person, not the people damaged by the dragon breath. Note the range is TOUCH, while the damage is a cone of 15 ft. The cone of damage exceeds the range of the spell, so it can not be part of the spell.
Similarly, a fire bolt can set fire to a forest, killing multiple people in the forest. But it still only affects a single target.
My problem is not "fake." Nor am I misreading RAW. I am merely repeating Sage Advice/Jeremy Crawford: https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/944272988983062528?lang=en
Please read the ruling before you judge whether or not my problem is "fake."
Here is his ruling on Ice Knife: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/04/11/can-i-use-twinned-spell-on-ice-knife/
I did not say I agreed with Jeremy. I am merely repeating his view on the matter. Since many DMs do agree with Sage Advice, it is always a good idea to check with your DM to see how they want to handle it.
So is this saying regardless of normal action economy a Sorcerer could meta-cast twinned cure wounds on two separate creatures in touch range, in one action?
Itinerant Deputy Shire-reave Tomas Burrfoot - world walker, Raft-captain, speaker to his dead
Toddy Shelfungus- Rider of the Order of Ill Luck, Speaker to Friends of Friends, and Horribly big nosed
Jarl Archi of Jenisis Glade Fee- Noble Knight of the Dragonborn Goldcrest Clan, Sorcerer of the Noble Investigator;y; Knightly order of the Wolfhound
Yes, absolutely. I do that on my divine sorcerer.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha