I think the weapon of your choice line is clearly supposed to mean I choose a long sword, now a dagger, not that specific dagger over there.
Yes, this is pretty obviously the intent.
Oh, I agree that that is probably RAI, but it isn't RAW.
Disagree that it is the RAW. RAW does not mean every possible meaning of the same sentence is the rule as written. for rules to be interpreted writing requires reading, reading requires a good faith interpretation. In a case where you have two possible meanings of the same sentence and you know what the RAI is, the RAW is the meaning that aligns with the RAI. I think RAW is a pointless discussion otherwise as almost every rule can be read to mean multiple things.
I disagree. RAW means whether something is permitted by a strict reading of the rules. Good faith isn't a factor because people can disagree about what constitutes good faith. Good faith is about RAI. In fact, you could even go so far as to say that, in most cases, good faith is what distinguishes RAI from RAW. But, that's for a different discussion. Further digging into it here would take us far afield from this discussion's topic.
of course, do keep in mind that this stunt doesn't work against a weapon a character is attuned to. So, I'm betting that it only really works at low levels since most characters will end up with a weapon they are attuned to. You are giving up being attuned to a magic weapon to be able to snatch non-magical weapons out of enemies' hands with a bonus action. Unless I'm mistaken, that means that you are giving up being able to apply Charisma bonuses to hit and damage with a magic weapon. That seems like a big opportunity cost.
of course, do keep in mind that this stunt doesn't work against a weapon a character is attuned to. So, I'm betting that it only really works at low levels since most characters will end up with a weapon they are attuned to. You are giving up being attuned to a magic weapon to be able to snatch non-magical weapons out of enemies' hands with a bonus action. Unless I'm mistaken, that means that you are giving up being able to apply Charisma bonuses to hit and damage with a magic weapon. That seems like a big opportunity cost.
With this interpretation it would work for any weapon you can "Conjure" into your hand. If you think that includes magic weapons than someone else being attuned to it is not a factor as that prohibition only applies to the magic weapons you bond to by touch, not weapons that you "conjure into your hand" and in any case plenty of high level enemies have non-magic weapons.
You are not giving up being attuned to a magic weapon yourself at all. Being attuned to one weapon does not prevent you from bonding with or "conjuring" another weapon as a pact weapon and doing so does not break your attunement on the first weapon. Also you can change your pact weapon every single round with a bonus action.
It would not necessarily cause you to give up using Charisma for attack and damage. You can start a fight with your attuned, bonded magic pact weapon, attack with it using your action and Charisma on your first turn, then use your bonus action on your first turn to "Conjure" the enemies weapon into your hand and it becomes your pact weapon. Then next round you use your bonus action first to bond back to your attuned magic weapon so you can attack with it using Charisma.
There is an opportunity cost you are giving up - anything you would otherwise do with your bonus action, but this is a relatively low bar, especially if you are talking about a dip or feat to get this ability.
of course, do keep in mind that this stunt doesn't work against a weapon a character is attuned to. So, I'm betting that it only really works at low levels since most characters will end up with a weapon they are attuned to. You are giving up being attuned to a magic weapon to be able to snatch non-magical weapons out of enemies' hands with a bonus action. Unless I'm mistaken, that means that you are giving up being able to apply Charisma bonuses to hit and damage with a magic weapon. That seems like a big opportunity cost.
With this interpretation it would work for any weapon you can "Conjure" into your hand. If you think that includes magic weapons than someone else being attuned to it is not a factor as that prohibition only applies to the magic weapons you bond to by touch, not weapons that you "conjure into your hand" and in any case plenty of high level enemies have non-magic weapons.
You are not giving up being attuned to a magic weapon yourself at all. Being attuned to one weapon does not prevent you from bonding with or "conjuring" another weapon as a pact weapon and doing so does not break your attunement on the first weapon. Also you can change your pact weapon every single round with a bonus action.
It would not necessarily cause you to give up using Charisma for attack and damage. You can start a fight with your attuned, bonded magic pact weapon, attack with it using your action and Charisma on your first turn, then use your bonus action on your first turn to "Conjure" the enemies weapon into your hand and it becomes your pact weapon. Then next round you use your bonus action first to bond back to your attuned magic weapon so you can attack with it using Charisma.
There is an opportunity cost you are giving up - anything you would otherwise do with your bonus action, but this is a relatively low bar, especially if you are talking about a dip or feat to get this ability.
"As a Bonus Action, you can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch; you can’t bond with a magic weapon if someone else is attuned to it or another Warlock is bonded with it. Until the bond ends, you have proficiency with the weapon, and you can use it as a Spellcasting Focus."
A weapon you're not bonded with can't be a pact weapon. You can't bond with a weapon someone else is attuned to.
I disagree. RAW means whether something is permitted by a strict reading of the rules. Good faith isn't a factor because people can disagree about what constitutes good faith. Good faith is about RAI. In fact, you could even go so far as to say that, in most cases, good faith is what distinguishes RAI from RAW. But, that's for a different discussion. Further digging into it here would take us far afield from this discussion's topic.
of course, do keep in mind that this stunt doesn't work against a weapon a character is attuned to. So, I'm betting that it only really works at low levels since most characters will end up with a weapon they are attuned to. You are giving up being attuned to a magic weapon to be able to snatch non-magical weapons out of enemies' hands with a bonus action. Unless I'm mistaken, that means that you are giving up being able to apply Charisma bonuses to hit and damage with a magic weapon. That seems like a big opportunity cost.
With this interpretation it would work for any weapon you can "Conjure" into your hand. If you think that includes magic weapons than someone else being attuned to it is not a factor as that prohibition only applies to the magic weapons you bond to by touch, not weapons that you "conjure into your hand" and in any case plenty of high level enemies have non-magic weapons.
You are not giving up being attuned to a magic weapon yourself at all. Being attuned to one weapon does not prevent you from bonding with or "conjuring" another weapon as a pact weapon and doing so does not break your attunement on the first weapon. Also you can change your pact weapon every single round with a bonus action.
It would not necessarily cause you to give up using Charisma for attack and damage. You can start a fight with your attuned, bonded magic pact weapon, attack with it using your action and Charisma on your first turn, then use your bonus action on your first turn to "Conjure" the enemies weapon into your hand and it becomes your pact weapon. Then next round you use your bonus action first to bond back to your attuned magic weapon so you can attack with it using Charisma.
There is an opportunity cost you are giving up - anything you would otherwise do with your bonus action, but this is a relatively low bar, especially if you are talking about a dip or feat to get this ability.
"As a Bonus Action, you can conjure a pact weapon in your hand—a Simple or Martial Melee weapon of your choice with which you bond—or create a bond with a magic weapon you touch; you can’t bond with a magic weapon if someone else is attuned to it or another Warlock is bonded with it. Until the bond ends, you have proficiency with the weapon, and you can use it as a Spellcasting Focus."
A weapon you're not bonded with can't be a pact weapon. You can't bond with a weapon someone else is attuned to.