Anyone know if there's an actual rule on this? Or at least thoughts?
Normally you wouldn't want this, of course, but we scored a ring of spell storing which holds 5 levels of spells. If a 'lock is restricted to casting at slot level (3rd, in this case), you could only put one spell on the ring. But if they can voluntarily lower the level (e.g., cast a first level spell at first level), then they could fill the ring.
I agree with filcat. At 5th level a warlock is limited to putting 1 spell in a ring of spell storing leaving 2 spell slots empty in the ring. But if there is a spell caster in your group who isn't a warlock, that person can fill the empty slots in a ring of spell storing with 1st level spells while the warlock is attuned to it and then the warlock can cast those spells out of the ring in addition to the spell that they stored into it. If my warlock get's his hands on a ring of spell storing that's what he'll do. He might even have other party members fill it up completely.
I don't see much sense in it but that is the way it is by RAW. I looked up several discussions on this topic before because I asked myself the same question. A warlock only has one level for spellslots (level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5), so he supposedly is only able to cast spells at exactly that level. While I don't see much sense in forbidding casters to "hold back" and cast spells at a lower level even if using a higher level slots anyway it really makes no sense in my eyes if the spell does not scale. But being able to put only one shield spell into the ring because your spell slots are level three to five even if shield is level 1 and does not scale seems the way it is supposed to be...
There are advantages to warlocks casting all of their spells at the level of their highest spell slot that make up for the limitation of the Ring of Spell Storing, which is only one magic item. Even a spell like hex that doesn’t scale that much at higher levels becomes much harder to counterspell or dispel. The same with spells that don’t scale at all. And since a spell cast with a 4th level spell slot is a 4th level spell, warlocks limited number of spell are usually higher level than other casters spells. It’s balanced.
This is also why some of the most popular multiclass options for Warlock are the other CHA casting classes. Gives you extra low level spell slots and a bigger list of spells you can cast out of your supercharged Warlock slots on occasion (Or smiting with a Warlock spell slot for short-rest smiting if you pick Paladin)
Personally, I'd allow it. It's not a game breaker after all. You still spend the slot at its max, but the ring caps it at its max storable level. You don't get a fractional spell slot.
And as pointed out, some spell don't even scale...like Comprehend Languages so why not cap it at 1st level. You still spend a 5th level slot, and need to short rest to get it back.
Otherwise, the ring is kind of useless to a Warlock, compared to every other caster and I don't think that was intended. It's a strange side effect of pact magic.
I disagree completely with your statement that, "Otherwise the ring is kind of useless to a Warlock, compared to every other caster". I'm playing a Warlock and I just got a Ring of Spell Storing and I'm incredibly excited!
Any creature can store a spell in the ring by touching the ring as they cast the spell, not just the creature wearing it. That means other people in my party can store spells that I'm not able to cast in the ring without attuning to it and I can cast them during combat.
I'm only going to store spells that scale and that I use in almost every encounter in the ring myself. That will effectively give me a third spell slot about 50% of the time, depending on the nature of the adventure.
I'm limited to only storing one spell in the ring myself, but that isn't much of a limitation. Our current campaign is one where we're facing a large number of fiends so I learned Banishment and I'm seriously considering casting it into the ring and giving the ring to a non-spellcaster to wear so that we can cast Banishment twice in the first round of combat instead of once.
I misread the problem a bit... you are right it isnt useless. It isnt as useful. Assuming you had only 5th level spell slots, you could only store one spell.
But if i wanted to store a arms of hadar which doesnt scale past 3rd, and a darkness which also doesnt scale past 2nd, you can't do it. Assuming a wizard or sorcer could cast arms, they can do exactly that kind of combination at any character level. A warlock could only store multiple spells between warlock class levels 1 and 4.
This is an odd case of an item becoming less flexible / useable for class as they increase in levels. Especially for one that is restricted in slots overall.
Otherwise it is a very cool item so grats on getting it.
Just ask your other players to cast lower levels spells in the ring for you. “Hey wizard pal how about lending me your fireball spell, I promise I’ll return your leaf blower”. l’m sure you’re good friend Peter the paladin or Cristy the cleric might cast cure wounds or Protection from good and evil if you agree to pray with them once a day. Your patron won’t mind as long as you don’t really mean it! Or just walk into town and find a caster...A successful persuasion check or charm person just might work. The magic initiate feat will give you a first level spell that you could use to fill up your ring. You are a tricky, nasty fellow with high charisma, I’m sure you can find away to get the most out of that awesome ring!
Just ask your other players to cast lower levels spells in the ring for you.
So yes you can do that. But this isn't a "get the most of a Ring of Spell Storing thread." Based on the OP thread question, is can a Warlock lower their own spell level so they can get more than one Warlock spell into the ring on their own..
The other solutions to maximize the potential are all completely valid, but it wasn't the original question. I outlined the case that I would want to do above already. But, as a warlock gains spell slot power, the ring becomes less flexible even for the cases of using it for another party members spell. A Warlock with a 5th level slots, could only ever get one spell into it, even if it was a spell they only needed the minimum spell level (2nd or 3rd) , and then can't even get a friends spell into it. This doesn't happen with any other caster, and it smells like an unintended consequence. In my mind that makes a really cool item, less valuable than a Rod of the Pact Keeper to the point that it is better in any other casters' hand. That just feels weird to me.
IMHO, it's an oddball case and I would houserule it as such to keep the Warlock's spell utility at the same level as any other caster using the ring. I personally would certainly love to store a darkness and a Arms of Hadar for...reasons. Sure I can get friends to help, but I might not want their spells to start with because I want to use a spell on my list, and not theirs. But I realistically might want another parties spell in the ring instead; I do get the value.
* - There is one exception to the Darkness example, and that is if you want to make it more difficult for it to be dispelled by either a Dispel Magic or a Daylight where the level of the spell does matter. I personally have never run into this as a problem as rarely does the opposition have either handy, but there is going to be that day...
So if you pick a spell that doesn't scale there is a good argument that you can put it in the ring of spell storing at its spell level instead of the higher spell slot level you used. So unless it says "At a higher level" the spell slot doesn't matter. If someone is saying it does then any spell a warlock casts has to be considered the spell slot level used by the warlock for counter spell and other over powering effects such as darkness canceling spells that create light. In fact...Jeremey Crawford addressed this...
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/11/04/no-light-in-the-darkness/ Q:Does darkness dispel fire spells that shed light like flaming sphere? Can you increase its slot to dispel more? Jeremy Crawford's A:I would allow the darkness spell to dispel any spell of 2nd level or lower that explicitly produces light. Q:Can you cast darkness at a higher level slot to nix a spell such as fire shield? Jeremy Crawford's A: As written, the darkness spell can't be made more powerful with a higher level slot.
To me that reads, you can use a higher level spell slot to cast it but since it does not read "At higher level" and describe the spell effect it is still a level 2 spell even though a Warlock might cast it using a level 5 Pact Magic spell slot.
With that in mind, here is a list of some option keeping in mind I am only listing spells that "could" have an application in battle otherwise you could just take a short rest after you cast making the ring pointless.
1st level Protection from evil and good - great emergency spell option (this frees you from holding 1 of 2 slots when it might be relevant) Unseen Servant - (This doesn't look like a battle spell up front but I have seen players summon one and hand it healing potions telling it to run around healing allies while they fight) 2nd level Darkenss Misty Step Mirror Image Suggestion - (make some of your enemies leave to reduce numbers) 3rd level Hunger of Hadar Hypnotic Pattern 4th Dimension Door Hallucinatory Terrain - (This is more of an emergency spell. Escape combat and hide the party but you would not have a chance to rest for spell slots then, so it becomes and option) 5th Far Step
I am sure I missed some and while you likely wanted to put a couple of hex in the ring of storing to free up your spell options the ring is far from useless even if you can't convince your GM to let you cast spells as lower level with higher level slots.. which some GMs will allow even if not intended.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The lack of inflection in text means that a reader of any post adds their own inflection as they "verbalize" it in their head. I write long and repetitive in an effort to be clear and avoid my intent from being skewed or inverted. I am also bad at examples. It is common for people to skim my posts pull out the idea they think I mean or want to argue against or focus on my bad example instead of the point I am actually trying to make. I apologies for the confusion my failure to be clear and concise creates.
To me that reads, you can use a higher level spell slot to cast it but since it does not read "At higher level" and describe the spell effect it is still a level 2 spell even though a Warlock might cast it using a level 5 Pact Magic spell slot.
No, it's still a 5th level spell; it just doesn't have a more potent effect than normal. A spell's level always matches the level of the slot used to cast it.
So if you pick a spell that doesn't scale there is a good argument that you can put it in the ring of spell storing at its spell level instead of the higher spell slot level you used. So unless it says "At a higher level" the spell slot doesn't matter. If someone is saying it does then any spell a warlock casts has to be considered the spell slot level used by the warlock for counter spell and other over powering effects such as darkness canceling spells that create light. In fact...Jeremey Crawford addressed this...
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/11/04/no-light-in-the-darkness/ Q:Does darkness dispel fire spells that shed light like flaming sphere? Can you increase its slot to dispel more? Jeremy Crawford's A:I would allow the darkness spell to dispel any spell of 2nd level or lower that explicitly produces light. Q:Can you cast darkness at a higher level slot to nix a spell such as fire shield? Jeremy Crawford's A: As written, the darkness spell can't be made more powerful with a higher level slot.
To me that reads, you can use a higher level spell slot to cast it but since it does not read "At higher level" and describe the spell effect it is still a level 2 spell even though a Warlock might cast it using a level 5 Pact Magic spell slot.
To expand upon the accurate and succinct answer from InquisitiveCoder, the rule he is referencing is actually this one, the one which deals with the situation in question, from the PHB page 201:
Casting a Spell at a Higher Level: When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into. Some spells, such as magic missile and cure wounds, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell’s description.
I bolded the part of his reply referencing the italicized part of the rule, for easy reference. They are asking if they can use a higher level spell slot to make darkness able to dispel more powerful spells. He answered that. It doesn't make the spell not higher level, it just means that being higher level does not make it more powerful.
So if you pick a spell that doesn't scale there is a good argument that you can put it in the ring of spell storing at its spell level instead of the higher spell slot level you used. So unless it says "At a higher level" the spell slot doesn't matter. If someone is saying it does then any spell a warlock casts has to be considered the spell slot level used by the warlock for counter spell and other over powering effects such as darkness canceling spells that create light. In fact...Jeremey Crawford addressed this...
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/11/04/no-light-in-the-darkness/ Q:Does darkness dispel fire spells that shed light like flaming sphere? Can you increase its slot to dispel more? Jeremy Crawford's A:I would allow the darkness spell to dispel any spell of 2nd level or lower that explicitly produces light. Q:Can you cast darkness at a higher level slot to nix a spell such as fire shield? Jeremy Crawford's A: As written, the darkness spell can't be made more powerful with a higher level slot.
To me that reads, you can use a higher level spell slot to cast it but since it does not read "At higher level" and describe the spell effect it is still a level 2 spell even though a Warlock might cast it using a level 5 Pact Magic spell slot.
To expand upon the accurate and succinct answer from InquisitiveCoder, the rule he is referencing is actually this one, the one which deals with the situation in question, from the PHB page 201:
Casting a Spell at a Higher Level: When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into. Some spells, such as magic missile and cure wounds, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell’s description.
I bolded the part of his reply referencing the italicized part of the rule, for easy reference. They are asking if they can use a higher level spell slot to make darkness able to dispel more powerful spells. He answered that. It doesn't make the spell not higher level, it just means that being higher level does not make it more powerful.
Ok but if that is your argument you counter spells and dispel magic will also consider it a level 5 spell and you have to track it. Also, the darkness spell can no longer be dispelled by daylight once a warlock becomes level 7 casting darkness with a level 4 spell slots since Jeremy Crawford's sage advice would still apply.
I was going to make an argument against your position but ... I found a sage advice on the inverse of daylight vs darkness where they clarify you can't dispel darkness cast with a spell slot higher than 3 even if you cast daily light with a higher level slot, just as you can't cast darkness at a higher level slot to snuff out any spell that makes light of 3 or higher.
The lack of inflection in text means that a reader of any post adds their own inflection as they "verbalize" it in their head. I write long and repetitive in an effort to be clear and avoid my intent from being skewed or inverted. I am also bad at examples. It is common for people to skim my posts pull out the idea they think I mean or want to argue against or focus on my bad example instead of the point I am actually trying to make. I apologies for the confusion my failure to be clear and concise creates.
RAW is a tad limiting for warlocks. We house ruled it to:
This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM.
Any non-pact magic creature can expend a spell slot and cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the non-pact slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
Any pact magic creature can cast a spell into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. Expending a pact magic slot, the creature can choose the level at which the ring absorbs the spell. The highest level a spell can be stored is dependent on the pact magic slot level of the creature casting into the ring and the lowest is determined by the base spell level. However, the ring can only absorb 2 spells that were cast with pact magic. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spell-casting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if the attuned user cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
This way a warlock can fill/use (or help other non-pact attuned user fill/use) the ring without opening up a hack that gives 5 extra slots they can fill up in a handful of hours of short rests.
Is there anything, mechanically, that would unbalance the warlock when compared to the capabilities of other spell casting classes?
Obviously, the warlock has a different thing going on with their spell slots.
Every spell caster would want to be putting spells into the ring before going to sleep to start the new day with full spell slots and spells in their ring. There is nothing inherent to this that is more powerful for the warlock compared to a similarly leveled bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, or wizard.
The warlock is able to get their spell slots back on a short rest. That means some percentage of the time the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, or wizard will get to the end of the day and be unable to put spells into the ring. That will essentially never be the case with the warlock unless you rule that the warlock cannot take a short rest, and then a long rest. I don't know how important that potential outcome weighs into the balance of this item.
I feel like the hex spell is the clear way to try to abuse this magic item. There is virtually no reason to cast hex with a higher spell slot (weee ... duration). So, would it be unbalancing to store one or two first level spell slot hex spells in a ring and also a third or fourth level spell slot spell? Two hexes and a counterspell/hunger of hadar or an upcast 2nd level spell upcast with a third level slot seems like a pretty optimal way to go. I think the goal is to make the hex spell available in every combat encounter, and also offer some utility in some way because utility oriented spells are generally impactful enough at a lower spell level.
The rules suggest 2-3 combats and then a short rest, and then another 2-3 combats and then a long rest as your adventuring day (technically, they suggest more combats than that but I've been playing this edition since it came out and never seen a group manage this). This would grant a 7th level warlock a total of four spell slots for those 4-6 combats. Would another one or two hex spells unbalance the warlock? Is a warlock really intended to have no spell slots to contribute to combat and just use cantrips for about 2-4 of the 4-6 encounters per day? Generally, in out of combat situations resting for an hour to regain spells used in social situations isn't much of a factor so I feel like this is pretty much just a consideration for combat encounters.
I think if you were allowing the warlock to have five spell slots at 7th level (two 4th level spell slots as would be normal, and then storing a third level spell and two first level hex spells into the ring) that could get unbalanced. If the warlock were to get into a fight and burn all their spells, then rest to regain spells and charge the ring, and rest to regain spells again to start back up with two 4th level spell slots and a 3rd and a 1st) that at least has the potential to get ugly. At the end of every day that warlock could rest twice to be able to pump three spells into the ring and then take a long rest.
I feel like the real issue there is the abuse of short rests, not the ring of spell storing itself. Only allowing the warlock to cast a spell at a lower level once or twice per day does feel like an interesting work around. Only allowing the ring to store two spells from pact magic and freely letting the warlock cast at lower level spell levels is also interesting.
I miss 4th edition and encounter based spells/abilities/items. I think a ring that just lets you cast hex once per encounter would basically solve this.
I absolutely do not think that a medium to high level warlock storing a 2nd level spell slot spider climb and 3rd level tongues in a ring while also having access to their 2 or 3 other spell slots has any chance of unbalancing a game. Right? So, it's only some spell combinations that are an issue.
Is storing five 1st level spell slot hex spells going to break a 14th level warlock? No, it really isn't. Would a 3rd level spell slot fly or counter spell and also two hex spells at first level break a 14th level warlock? I don't think so. I don't think having a couple of low level spells in this ring is going to have much of an impact late game. So, really it's only at lower levels when a 3rd and 4th level spell slot is a big deal that this is even an issue.
Some spells and items just have a power curve that isn't very linear and I think that's OK.
I just dipped a level of Bard for this reason. You cannot cast spells at a lower spell slot. Having a couple level 1 slots to play around with is a fun option since the very nature of the Warlock class is few spell slots but at high levels.
And as pointed out, some spell don't even scale...like Comprehend Languages so why not cap it at 1st level. You still spend a 5th level slot, and need to short rest to get it back.
Comprehend languages is a Ritual Spell. Do not cast it with a spell slot unless absolutely forced to. You've usually got something better to use that slot for. Even on a Wizard.
that being Said. When it comes to a Warlock. The Best use of the Spell Storing Ring For a Warlock is not to cast their own spells into the Ring. It's to have a caster capable party member put spells into your ring so that you have more of an arsenal or backups for various emergencies. While only the Attuned person can cast spells from the Ring. Any caster can touch the ring and cast a spell INTO it without being attuned. This is to help facilitate people like Warlocks and Non-spell casters to get new spells into it without using up resources they either don't have or aren't best used in this way under normal circumstances AND while not having to give up attunement to the ring each time to do it.
And I know. At a glance the Warlock seems like a good one to cast spells into it because they get spells back quickly. But it's not really the best use. Both because of the limited number they get at a time, and the way the scaling of their spell slots works.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Anyone know if there's an actual rule on this? Or at least thoughts?
Normally you wouldn't want this, of course, but we scored a ring of spell storing which holds 5 levels of spells. If a 'lock is restricted to casting at slot level (3rd, in this case), you could only put one spell on the ring. But if they can voluntarily lower the level (e.g., cast a first level spell at first level), then they could fill the ring.
I think you cannot because, in fact, the warlock does not have lower level spell slots.
I agree with filcat. At 5th level a warlock is limited to putting 1 spell in a ring of spell storing leaving 2 spell slots empty in the ring. But if there is a spell caster in your group who isn't a warlock, that person can fill the empty slots in a ring of spell storing with 1st level spells while the warlock is attuned to it and then the warlock can cast those spells out of the ring in addition to the spell that they stored into it. If my warlock get's his hands on a ring of spell storing that's what he'll do. He might even have other party members fill it up completely.
Professional computer geek
Yeah, that was kinda my sense, too. And almost certainly how my DM will call it.Thanks for the input.
I don't see much sense in it but that is the way it is by RAW. I looked up several discussions on this topic before because I asked myself the same question. A warlock only has one level for spellslots (level 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5), so he supposedly is only able to cast spells at exactly that level. While I don't see much sense in forbidding casters to "hold back" and cast spells at a lower level even if using a higher level slots anyway it really makes no sense in my eyes if the spell does not scale. But being able to put only one shield spell into the ring because your spell slots are level three to five even if shield is level 1 and does not scale seems the way it is supposed to be...
There are advantages to warlocks casting all of their spells at the level of their highest spell slot that make up for the limitation of the Ring of Spell Storing, which is only one magic item. Even a spell like hex that doesn’t scale that much at higher levels becomes much harder to counterspell or dispel. The same with spells that don’t scale at all. And since a spell cast with a 4th level spell slot is a 4th level spell, warlocks limited number of spell are usually higher level than other casters spells. It’s balanced.
Professional computer geek
This is also why some of the most popular multiclass options for Warlock are the other CHA casting classes. Gives you extra low level spell slots and a bigger list of spells you can cast out of your supercharged Warlock slots on occasion (Or smiting with a Warlock spell slot for short-rest smiting if you pick Paladin)
Personally, I'd allow it. It's not a game breaker after all. You still spend the slot at its max, but the ring caps it at its max storable level. You don't get a fractional spell slot.
And as pointed out, some spell don't even scale...like Comprehend Languages so why not cap it at 1st level. You still spend a 5th level slot, and need to short rest to get it back.
Otherwise, the ring is kind of useless to a Warlock, compared to every other caster and I don't think that was intended. It's a strange side effect of pact magic.
I disagree completely with your statement that, "Otherwise the ring is kind of useless to a Warlock, compared to every other caster". I'm playing a Warlock and I just got a Ring of Spell Storing and I'm incredibly excited!
I'm limited to only storing one spell in the ring myself, but that isn't much of a limitation. Our current campaign is one where we're facing a large number of fiends so I learned Banishment and I'm seriously considering casting it into the ring and giving the ring to a non-spellcaster to wear so that we can cast Banishment twice in the first round of combat instead of once.
Professional computer geek
I misread the problem a bit... you are right it isnt useless. It isnt as useful. Assuming you had only 5th level spell slots, you could only store one spell.
But if i wanted to store a arms of hadar which doesnt scale past 3rd, and a darkness which also doesnt scale past 2nd, you can't do it. Assuming a wizard or sorcer could cast arms, they can do exactly that kind of combination at any character level. A warlock could only store multiple spells between warlock class levels 1 and 4.
This is an odd case of an item becoming less flexible / useable for class as they increase in levels. Especially for one that is restricted in slots overall.
Otherwise it is a very cool item so grats on getting it.
Just ask your other players to cast lower levels spells in the ring for you. “Hey wizard pal how about lending me your fireball spell, I promise I’ll return your leaf blower”. l’m sure you’re good friend Peter the paladin or Cristy the cleric might cast cure wounds or Protection from good and evil if you agree to pray with them once a day. Your patron won’t mind as long as you don’t really mean it! Or just walk into town and find a caster...A successful persuasion check or charm person just might work. The magic initiate feat will give you a first level spell that you could use to fill up your ring. You are a tricky, nasty fellow with high charisma, I’m sure you can find away to get the most out of that awesome ring!
So if you pick a spell that doesn't scale there is a good argument that you can put it in the ring of spell storing at its spell level instead of the higher spell slot level you used. So unless it says "At a higher level" the spell slot doesn't matter. If someone is saying it does then any spell a warlock casts has to be considered the spell slot level used by the warlock for counter spell and other over powering effects such as darkness canceling spells that create light. In fact...Jeremey Crawford addressed this...
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/11/04/no-light-in-the-darkness/
Q:Does darkness dispel fire spells that shed light like flaming sphere? Can you increase its slot to dispel more?
Jeremy Crawford's A:I would allow the darkness spell to dispel any spell of 2nd level or lower that explicitly produces light.
Q:Can you cast darkness at a higher level slot to nix a spell such as fire shield?
Jeremy Crawford's A: As written, the darkness spell can't be made more powerful with a higher level slot.
To me that reads, you can use a higher level spell slot to cast it but since it does not read "At higher level" and describe the spell effect it is still a level 2 spell even though a Warlock might cast it using a level 5 Pact Magic spell slot.
With that in mind, here is a list of some option keeping in mind I am only listing spells that "could" have an application in battle otherwise you could just take a short rest after you cast making the ring pointless.
1st level
Protection from evil and good - great emergency spell option (this frees you from holding 1 of 2 slots when it might be relevant)
Unseen Servant - (This doesn't look like a battle spell up front but I have seen players summon one and hand it healing potions telling it to run around healing allies while they fight)
2nd level
Darkenss
Misty Step
Mirror Image
Suggestion - (make some of your enemies leave to reduce numbers)
3rd level
Hunger of Hadar
Hypnotic Pattern
4th
Dimension Door
Hallucinatory Terrain - (This is more of an emergency spell. Escape combat and hide the party but you would not have a chance to rest for spell slots then, so it becomes and option)
5th
Far Step
I am sure I missed some and while you likely wanted to put a couple of hex in the ring of storing to free up your spell options the ring is far from useless even if you can't convince your GM to let you cast spells as lower level with higher level slots.. which some GMs will allow even if not intended.
The lack of inflection in text means that a reader of any post adds their own inflection as they "verbalize" it in their head. I write long and repetitive in an effort to be clear and avoid my intent from being skewed or inverted. I am also bad at examples. It is common for people to skim my posts pull out the idea they think I mean or want to argue against or focus on my bad example instead of the point I am actually trying to make. I apologies for the confusion my failure to be clear and concise creates.
No, it's still a 5th level spell; it just doesn't have a more potent effect than normal. A spell's level always matches the level of the slot used to cast it.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
Some spells, such as magic missile and cure wounds, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell’s description.
The lack of inflection in text means that a reader of any post adds their own inflection as they "verbalize" it in their head. I write long and repetitive in an effort to be clear and avoid my intent from being skewed or inverted. I am also bad at examples. It is common for people to skim my posts pull out the idea they think I mean or want to argue against or focus on my bad example instead of the point I am actually trying to make. I apologies for the confusion my failure to be clear and concise creates.
RAW is a tad limiting for warlocks. We house ruled it to:
This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM.
Any non-pact magic creature can expend a spell slot and cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the non-pact slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
Any pact magic creature can cast a spell into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. Expending a pact magic slot, the creature can choose the level at which the ring absorbs the spell. The highest level a spell can be stored is dependent on the pact magic slot level of the creature casting into the ring and the lowest is determined by the base spell level. However, the ring can only absorb 2 spells that were cast with pact magic. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spell-casting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if the attuned user cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
This way a warlock can fill/use (or help other non-pact attuned user fill/use) the ring without opening up a hack that gives 5 extra slots they can fill up in a handful of hours of short rests.
Is there anything, mechanically, that would unbalance the warlock when compared to the capabilities of other spell casting classes?
Obviously, the warlock has a different thing going on with their spell slots.
Every spell caster would want to be putting spells into the ring before going to sleep to start the new day with full spell slots and spells in their ring. There is nothing inherent to this that is more powerful for the warlock compared to a similarly leveled bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, or wizard.
The warlock is able to get their spell slots back on a short rest. That means some percentage of the time the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, or wizard will get to the end of the day and be unable to put spells into the ring. That will essentially never be the case with the warlock unless you rule that the warlock cannot take a short rest, and then a long rest. I don't know how important that potential outcome weighs into the balance of this item.
I feel like the hex spell is the clear way to try to abuse this magic item. There is virtually no reason to cast hex with a higher spell slot (weee ... duration). So, would it be unbalancing to store one or two first level spell slot hex spells in a ring and also a third or fourth level spell slot spell? Two hexes and a counterspell/hunger of hadar or an upcast 2nd level spell upcast with a third level slot seems like a pretty optimal way to go. I think the goal is to make the hex spell available in every combat encounter, and also offer some utility in some way because utility oriented spells are generally impactful enough at a lower spell level.
The rules suggest 2-3 combats and then a short rest, and then another 2-3 combats and then a long rest as your adventuring day (technically, they suggest more combats than that but I've been playing this edition since it came out and never seen a group manage this). This would grant a 7th level warlock a total of four spell slots for those 4-6 combats. Would another one or two hex spells unbalance the warlock? Is a warlock really intended to have no spell slots to contribute to combat and just use cantrips for about 2-4 of the 4-6 encounters per day? Generally, in out of combat situations resting for an hour to regain spells used in social situations isn't much of a factor so I feel like this is pretty much just a consideration for combat encounters.
I think if you were allowing the warlock to have five spell slots at 7th level (two 4th level spell slots as would be normal, and then storing a third level spell and two first level hex spells into the ring) that could get unbalanced. If the warlock were to get into a fight and burn all their spells, then rest to regain spells and charge the ring, and rest to regain spells again to start back up with two 4th level spell slots and a 3rd and a 1st) that at least has the potential to get ugly. At the end of every day that warlock could rest twice to be able to pump three spells into the ring and then take a long rest.
I feel like the real issue there is the abuse of short rests, not the ring of spell storing itself. Only allowing the warlock to cast a spell at a lower level once or twice per day does feel like an interesting work around. Only allowing the ring to store two spells from pact magic and freely letting the warlock cast at lower level spell levels is also interesting.
I miss 4th edition and encounter based spells/abilities/items. I think a ring that just lets you cast hex once per encounter would basically solve this.
I absolutely do not think that a medium to high level warlock storing a 2nd level spell slot spider climb and 3rd level tongues in a ring while also having access to their 2 or 3 other spell slots has any chance of unbalancing a game. Right? So, it's only some spell combinations that are an issue.
Is storing five 1st level spell slot hex spells going to break a 14th level warlock? No, it really isn't. Would a 3rd level spell slot fly or counter spell and also two hex spells at first level break a 14th level warlock? I don't think so. I don't think having a couple of low level spells in this ring is going to have much of an impact late game. So, really it's only at lower levels when a 3rd and 4th level spell slot is a big deal that this is even an issue.
Some spells and items just have a power curve that isn't very linear and I think that's OK.
I just dipped a level of Bard for this reason. You cannot cast spells at a lower spell slot. Having a couple level 1 slots to play around with is a fun option since the very nature of the Warlock class is few spell slots but at high levels.
Comprehend languages is a Ritual Spell. Do not cast it with a spell slot unless absolutely forced to. You've usually got something better to use that slot for. Even on a Wizard.
that being Said. When it comes to a Warlock. The Best use of the Spell Storing Ring For a Warlock is not to cast their own spells into the Ring. It's to have a caster capable party member put spells into your ring so that you have more of an arsenal or backups for various emergencies. While only the Attuned person can cast spells from the Ring. Any caster can touch the ring and cast a spell INTO it without being attuned. This is to help facilitate people like Warlocks and Non-spell casters to get new spells into it without using up resources they either don't have or aren't best used in this way under normal circumstances AND while not having to give up attunement to the ring each time to do it.
And I know. At a glance the Warlock seems like a good one to cast spells into it because they get spells back quickly. But it's not really the best use. Both because of the limited number they get at a time, and the way the scaling of their spell slots works.