Initial situation I have the Eldritch Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" With my "Hex Warrior" class feature I can touch any weapon at the end of a long rest to have it become my Hex Weapon, but I have to be proficient with the touched weapon. Let's assume after my long rest I touch my conjured greatsword. (Conjured with "Pact of the Blade")
Question The "Improved Pact Weapon" Invocation allows only "... can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow". Does the "Hex Warrior" Feature also remove thre type restriction and I can add the +1 Bonus also to my conjured greatsword or is it still restricted to the four types mentioned above?
I hope I was able to describe my problem in a way that is understandable.😉
Initial situation I have the Eldritch Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" With my "Hex Warrior" class feature I can touch any weapon at the end of a long rest to have it become my Hex Weapon, but I have to be proficient with the touched weapon. Let's assume after my long rest I touch my conjured greatsword. (Conjured with "Pact of the Blade")
Question The "Improved Pact Weapon" Invocation allows only "... can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow". Does the "Hex Warrior" Feature also remove thre type restriction and I can add the +1 Bonus also to my conjured greatsword or is it still restricted to the four types mentioned above?
I hope I was able to describe my problem in a way that is understandable.😉
OP, I see you are from Bern, so I suspect English is not your first language, although you are doing great with it. (Your English is better than my German!) "Can be", in this case, means "Can also be". If it were a restriction, it would probably read "Must be".
So you choices are not limited to shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow, rather, those four are added to the list of possible weapons. Normally Pact of the Blade weapons must be melee weapons, Improved Pact Weapon adds those four ranged weapons to the list. So, yes, your Greatsword will get the +1 bonus.
Edited to add: Also, you need do nothing special with your Greatsword to get the benefit of Hex Warrior. Those benefits are automatically extended to all weapons conjured with Pact of the Blade.
Initial situation I have the Eldritch Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon" With my "Hex Warrior" class feature I can touch any weapon at the end of a long rest to have it become my Hex Weapon, but I have to be proficient with the touched weapon. Let's assume after my long rest I touch my conjured greatsword. (Conjured with "Pact of the Blade")
Question The "Improved Pact Weapon" Invocation allows only "... can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow". Does the "Hex Warrior" Feature also remove thre type restriction and I can add the +1 Bonus also to my conjured greatsword or is it still restricted to the four types mentioned above?
I hope I was able to describe my problem in a way that is understandable.😉
OP, I see you are from Bern, so I suspect English is not your first language, although you are doing great with it. (Your English is better than my German!) "Can be", in this case, means "Can also be". If it were a restriction, it would probably read "Must be".
So you choices are not limited to shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow, rather, those four are added to the list of possible weapons. Normally Pact of the Blade weapons must be melee weapons, Improved Pact Weapon adds those four ranged weapons to the list. So, yes, your Greatsword will get the +1 bonus.
Edited to add: Also, you need do nothing special with your Greatsword to get the benefit of Hex Warrior. Those benefits are automatically extended to all weapons conjured with Pact of the Blade.
Thank you very much for your detailed answer. That really helped me, now I understand the small but very important difference in the wording of the rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am builing a 5th level hexblade warlock.
Initial situation
I have the Eldritch Invocation "Improved Pact Weapon"
With my "Hex Warrior" class feature I can touch any weapon at the end of a long rest to have it become my Hex Weapon, but I have to be proficient with the touched weapon.
Let's assume after my long rest I touch my conjured greatsword. (Conjured with "Pact of the Blade")
Question
The "Improved Pact Weapon" Invocation allows only "... can be a shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow". Does the "Hex Warrior" Feature also remove thre type restriction and I can add the +1 Bonus also to my conjured greatsword or is it still restricted to the four types mentioned above?
I hope I was able to describe my problem in a way that is understandable.😉
OP, I see you are from Bern, so I suspect English is not your first language, although you are doing great with it. (Your English is better than my German!) "Can be", in this case, means "Can also be". If it were a restriction, it would probably read "Must be".
So you choices are not limited to shortbow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow, rather, those four are added to the list of possible weapons. Normally Pact of the Blade weapons must be melee weapons, Improved Pact Weapon adds those four ranged weapons to the list. So, yes, your Greatsword will get the +1 bonus.
Edited to add: Also, you need do nothing special with your Greatsword to get the benefit of Hex Warrior. Those benefits are automatically extended to all weapons conjured with Pact of the Blade.
Thank you very much for your detailed answer. That really helped me, now I understand the small but very important difference in the wording of the rule.