You can also use Pact of the Blade to bond with a magic weapon, turning it into your pact weapon. This magic weapon doesn’t have to be a melee weapon, so you could use the feature on a +1 longbow, for instance. Once the bond is formed, the magic weapon appears whenever you call your pact weapon to you, and you can’t change the magic weapon’s form when it appears. For example, if you bond with a flame tongue (longsword) and send the weapon to an extradimensional space, the weapon comes back as a longsword when you summon it. You don’t get to turn it into a club. Similarly, if you bond with a dagger of venom, you can’t summon it as a maul; it’s always a dagger.
In our party, the Warlock failed a save against Command cast by a death knight, and dropped his pact weapon.
A death slaad picked it up and used it.
The Warlock then announced he was dismissing it.
This led to 15 minutes of 3 of us searching online in vain for an answer to "can you dismiss your weapon when someone else holds it?"
And did you find any specific rules to override the default statement that "Your pact weapon disappears ... if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die." with no restriction on you having to hold it to do so?
In our party, the Warlock failed a save against Command cast by a death knight, and dropped his pact weapon.
A death slaad picked it up and used it.
The Warlock then announced he was dismissing it.
This led to 15 minutes of 3 of us searching online in vain for an answer to "can you dismiss your weapon when someone else holds it?"
And did you find any specific rules to override the default statement that "Your pact weapon disappears ... if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die." with no restriction on you having to hold it to do so?
No. So we disappeared it. As a compromise, I made him use an action to do so, then discovered that dismissing does not require an action....
Actually, you're proficient with your pact weapon no matter what it is.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM: Are you sure?
Wizard: Yes. I cast the Wish spell and I wish that everybody loves me!
DM: You transform into an irresistible, magnificent feast. It was so great, all who participated in devouring you tell of the joy they felt with tears in their eyes and all who hear the tale only feel sorrow that they weren't there to eat.
The character sheet quick descriptions do omit some content of the rules that are fully stated in the PHB. In this case the rule does state they are melee weapons.
Is it possible to have a magical weapon as a pact weapon, let's say a dancing greatsword, and then dismiss it. Could you then summon another type of weapon, for example a mace, without "loosing" the dancing greatsword? I always thought that if you made a magical weapon your pact weapon then summon another weapon as a pact weapon the magical weapon would "reappear" on the ground no longer being your pact weapon. Is it possible to switch between regular weapons and the dancing greatsword? Are my ramblings understandable? :)
As far as I recall, Sage Advice clarified that you can summon both a magical pact weapon and a regular pact weapon. The example given, iirc, was a dual wielding dagger character.
Is it possible to have a magical weapon as a pact weapon, let's say a dancing greatsword, and then dismiss it. Could you then summon another type of weapon, for example a mace, without "loosing" the dancing greatsword? I always thought that if you made a magical weapon your pact weapon then summon another weapon as a pact weapon the magical weapon would "reappear" on the ground no longer being your pact weapon. Is it possible to switch between regular weapons and the dancing greatsword? Are my ramblings understandable? :)
As far as I recall, Sage Advice clarified that you can summon both a magical pact weapon and a regular pact weapon. The example given, iirc, was a dual wielding dagger character.
Is it possible to have a magical weapon as a pact weapon, let's say a dancing greatsword, and then dismiss it. Could you then summon another type of weapon, for example a mace, without "loosing" the dancing greatsword? I always thought that if you made a magical weapon your pact weapon then summon another weapon as a pact weapon the magical weapon would "reappear" on the ground no longer being your pact weapon. Is it possible to switch between regular weapons and the dancing greatsword? Are my ramblings understandable? :)
As far as I recall, Sage Advice clarified that you can summon both a magical pact weapon and a regular pact weapon. The example given, iirc, was a dual wielding dagger character.
Hmm ... I don't think this is quite saying what you think it says. It seems to say that you can use the benefit of Hex Warrior (using Charisma instead of Strength or Dexterity to wield a melee weapon) for a non-Pact bonded weapon as well as for a summoned Pact weapon at the same time. This does not mean you can summon more than one Pact weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Is it possible to have a magical weapon as a pact weapon, let's say a dancing greatsword, and then dismiss it. Could you then summon another type of weapon, for example a mace, without "loosing" the dancing greatsword? I always thought that if you made a magical weapon your pact weapon then summon another weapon as a pact weapon the magical weapon would "reappear" on the ground no longer being your pact weapon. Is it possible to switch between regular weapons and the dancing greatsword? Are my ramblings understandable? :)
As far as I recall, Sage Advice clarified that you can summon both a magical pact weapon and a regular pact weapon. The example given, iirc, was a dual wielding dagger character.
Hmm ... I don't think this is quite saying what you think it says. It seems to say that you can use the benefit of Hex Warrior (using Charisma instead of Strength or Dexterity to wield a melee weapon) for a non-Pact bonded weapon as well as for a summoned Pact weapon at the same time. This does not mean you can summon more than one Pact weapon.
I believe you are right. I didn't quite see the text in the hyperlink.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A river cuts through rock, not because of its power, but because of its persistence."
As an action, you can create a pact weapon in your hand (you choose the form, you're proficient with it, and it counts as magical). You can also transform a magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual.
The wording could not be clearer. You are proficient in any weapon you summon. Summon a brassiere and use it as a sling, its then magical and you are proficient in it. Summon a giants nutsack and use it as bolas, its then magical and you are proficient with it/them.
That is NOT what the rule says. It says (and I quote):
"You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it (see the Weapons section for weapon options)."
What you wrote is not what the rule says, so you can't claim "The wording could not be clearer."
Mine IS quoted directly from my Bladelock characters character sheet here on this site, so yes, this is what the rule says, like it or not.
The description of this feature on the DDB character sheet doesn't specify melee weapon, it's true. Problem is, the descriptions from the character sheets are truncated and not the complete rules. I ran into this problem once because the description of the Slashing Flourish from Swords Bard on the character sheet didn't mention that you need to be able to see your targets, so I slashed into darkness. The full description of the ability in the book is the actual rules and the character sheet is just a summary.
Please stop attacking each other, you are all just looking at different references.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
If the weapon is more than five feet from you for more than one minute it disappears.
Which means you can summon a +1 longsword, sell it to a shopkeeper, run away, and it'll disappear from his hands.
Someone who has the wealth and skill to buy magical weapons would probably be aware of this and make sure to hold it more than 5' from a seller for more than a minute. Still may be possible to pull off with a trick of some kind, like polymorph the warlock into a tiny creature that stealth's within 5; of the blade while another party member acts as the face selling the magic sword.
Have the weapon wedge something like a boulder up. Lure some enemies under the boulder. Summon the weapon to distract them. Rocks fall and everyone dies (but the players).
Yeah since its kind of disposable I've seen it used for a wedge to keep crushing traps, closing door traps etc open a short period of time longer.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
No, if you bond a magical weapon, that same weapon comes back when you summon.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium
In our party, the Warlock failed a save against Command cast by a death knight, and dropped his pact weapon.
A death slaad picked it up and used it.
The Warlock then announced he was dismissing it.
This led to 15 minutes of 3 of us searching online in vain for an answer to "can you dismiss your weapon when someone else holds it?"
And did you find any specific rules to override the default statement that "Your pact weapon disappears ... if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die." with no restriction on you having to hold it to do so?
If the weapon is more than five feet from you for more than one minute it disappears.
Which means you can summon a +1 longsword, sell it to a shopkeeper, run away, and it'll disappear from his hands.
No. So we disappeared it. As a compromise, I made him use an action to do so, then discovered that dismissing does not require an action....
Actually, you're proficient with your pact weapon no matter what it is.
DM: Are you sure?
Wizard: Yes. I cast the Wish spell and I wish that everybody loves me!
DM: You transform into an irresistible, magnificent feast. It was so great, all who participated in devouring you tell of the joy they felt with tears in their eyes and all who hear the tale only feel sorrow that they weren't there to eat.
The character sheet quick descriptions do omit some content of the rules that are fully stated in the PHB. In this case the rule does state they are melee weapons.
As far as I recall, Sage Advice clarified that you can summon both a magical pact weapon and a regular pact weapon. The example given, iirc, was a dual wielding dagger character.
Was a good few years ago though. 😂
Edit: here you go - https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sageadvice.eu/2017/11/16/hex-warrior-can-you-have-both-a-bonded-regular-weapon-and-a-pact-weapon-gaining-the-cha-bonus-benefit-at-the-same-time/amp/?espv=1
Thank you! Most helpful. I will use this to motivate my argument :)
"A river cuts through rock, not because of its power, but because of its persistence."
Hmm ... I don't think this is quite saying what you think it says. It seems to say that you can use the benefit of Hex Warrior (using Charisma instead of Strength or Dexterity to wield a melee weapon) for a non-Pact bonded weapon as well as for a summoned Pact weapon at the same time. This does not mean you can summon more than one Pact weapon.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
I believe you are right. I didn't quite see the text in the hyperlink.
"A river cuts through rock, not because of its power, but because of its persistence."
You are an idiot. please go back and read the rules from the PHB+XgtE and not your simplified character sheet for nubs...
No ranged pact weapons from the Pact of the Blade, It clearly states "Melee weapons ONLY".
Eldritch Invocation: Improved Pact Weapon adds a few ranged weapons as options.
adding rules from other features is NOT helpful to others!
On that token, if you want ranged pact weapons you have to take the Improved Pact Weapon invocation.
The description of this feature on the DDB character sheet doesn't specify melee weapon, it's true. Problem is, the descriptions from the character sheets are truncated and not the complete rules. I ran into this problem once because the description of the Slashing Flourish from Swords Bard on the character sheet didn't mention that you need to be able to see your targets, so I slashed into darkness. The full description of the ability in the book is the actual rules and the character sheet is just a summary.
Please stop attacking each other, you are all just looking at different references.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Someone who has the wealth and skill to buy magical weapons would probably be aware of this and make sure to hold it more than 5' from a seller for more than a minute. Still may be possible to pull off with a trick of some kind, like polymorph the warlock into a tiny creature that stealth's within 5; of the blade while another party member acts as the face selling the magic sword.
Yeah since its kind of disposable I've seen it used for a wedge to keep crushing traps, closing door traps etc open a short period of time longer.