So, I know wizards gain new spells when they level up, but am wondering a bit about if i interpret it correctly at which levels I could scribe them...
So, I'll make another thread for the combination later since I'm also interested in a few other things about it but the base for my question revolves around picking a few levels of druid, probably 2, then picking a few levels of wizard. Since both are full spellcasters they will keep the same amount of spellslots as any other full non-multiclass character...
At level 3, taking the first level of wizard it's clear what you get, you can pick 6 first level spells. at 4th level, the 2nd level of wizard... You can learn 2 new spells and they can be of a level you can cast spells, which in this case is 2nd level. So basically you seem to catch up pretty fast.
In addition, if I understand it correctly wizards can still copy spells from other sources so technically they could learn level 2 spells already at the 1st level of wizard, since they have 2nd level spellslots. Right?
So more or less what you really lose from wizard is the subclass features a bit later and not as much arcane recovery, and of course stat gain a bit later.
I know you're supposed to do the whole known/prepared spells individually for each class, but it get's a bit weird when the wizard can copy spells from other spellbooks and such.
No it does not work because of this little tidbit in the PHB regarding multiclassing:
Your capacity for spellcasting depends partly on your combined levels in all your spellcasting classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.
Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus.
If a cantrip of yours increases in power at higher levels, the increase is based on your character level, not your level in a particular class.
Along with this errata to the PHB in 2016 which adds this little tidbit:
Wizard: Your Spellbook (p. 114). The spells copied into a spellbook must be of a spell level the wizard can prepare.
Ah, ok, the errata at least explains it better. The first part only really deals with the free spells on level up, not copied spells but the errata fixes that a bit since the wizard can't prepare more than level 2 spells in this case.
Does this mean they can't use their 3rd level spell slots since when they prepare spells they can only prepare 2nd level spells? Or just that they can only prepare level 1-2 spells but can cast any scaling spell of those at a 3rd level spellslot
Edit: Yeah, ok, I think I got the hang of it now, prepare lower level spells and then upcast them with higher level slots. Seems fair.
So, I know wizards gain new spells when they level up, but am wondering a bit about if i interpret it correctly at which levels I could scribe them...
So, I'll make another thread for the combination later since I'm also interested in a few other things about it but the base for my question revolves around picking a few levels of druid, probably 2, then picking a few levels of wizard. Since both are full spellcasters they will keep the same amount of spellslots as any other full non-multiclass character...
At level 3, taking the first level of wizard it's clear what you get, you can pick 6 first level spells. at 4th level, the 2nd level of wizard... You can learn 2 new spells and they can be of a level you can cast spells, which in this case is 2nd level. So basically you seem to catch up pretty fast.
In addition, if I understand it correctly wizards can still copy spells from other sources so technically they could learn level 2 spells already at the 1st level of wizard, since they have 2nd level spellslots. Right?
So more or less what you really lose from wizard is the subclass features a bit later and not as much arcane recovery, and of course stat gain a bit later.
I know you're supposed to do the whole known/prepared spells individually for each class, but it get's a bit weird when the wizard can copy spells from other spellbooks and such.
No it does not work because of this little tidbit in the PHB regarding multiclassing:
Your capacity for spellcasting depends partly on your combined levels in all your spellcasting classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Spellcasting feature from more than one class, use the rules below. If you multiclass but have the Spellcasting feature from only one class, you follow the rules as described in that class.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.
Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus.
If a cantrip of yours increases in power at higher levels, the increase is based on your character level, not your level in a particular class.
Along with this errata to the PHB in 2016 which adds this little tidbit:
Wizard: Your Spellbook (p. 114). The spells copied into a spellbook must be of a spell level the wizard can prepare.
Ah, ok, the errata at least explains it better. The first part only really deals with the free spells on level up, not copied spells but the errata fixes that a bit since the wizard can't prepare more than level 2 spells in this case.
Does this mean they can't use their 3rd level spell slots since when they prepare spells they can only prepare 2nd level spells? Or just that they can only prepare level 1-2 spells but can cast any scaling spell of those at a 3rd level spellslot
Edit: Yeah, ok, I think I got the hang of it now, prepare lower level spells and then upcast them with higher level slots. Seems fair.