To what extent do magic items which are activated by use or command word need concentration? Examples include a Potion of Invisibility and a Potion of Mind Reading (to use Detect Thoughts).
I think I would use Polymorph to become an invisible stalker, to gain the benefits of invilibilty and flight, or Boots of Speed to gain the benefit of the equivalent of Haste.
(FYI, I think the symbol for needing concentration needs to be more obvious. I at first thought the versions of them on this site for these two spells do not require them, because the "c" is too small and the diamond shape had not really sunk into my mind yet.)
Game: D&D 4e or 5e Group type: Online / Face-to-face / either Experience: a few years off an on Location/Timezone: EST, in Maine, USA Schedule: mostly evenings EST Roles sought: Player, Discord: BoinsterPsi#9024 Game style: (usual, with +2 to +7 level adjustment, depending on group) strategy player and power gamer
To what extent do magic items which are activated by use or command word need concentration? Examples include a Potion of Invisibility and a Potion of Mind Reading (to use Detect Thoughts).
I think I would use Polymorph to become an invisible stalker, to gain the benefits of invilibilty and flight, or Boots of Speed to gain the benefit of the equivalent of Haste.
(FYI, I think the symbol for needing concentration needs to be more obvious. I at first thought the versions of them on this site for these two spells do not require them, because the "c" is too small and the diamond shape had not really sunk into my mind yet.)
Thanks, I like the class. One of my favorite creations. Wish my DM would let me play it. :(
If the magic item says "as spell' or says 'casts' then it needs concentration unless otherwise stated. For example the Potion of Mind Control. But if it describes the effect without mentioning concentration, such as the potion of flying and the potion of invisibility then it does NOT need concentration.
Note that Polymorph is limited to beasts, not elementals like the Invisible Stalker and Boots of speed does not let you get all the advantages of Haste, it just increases your speed and grants AoO disadvantage.
You are right about Polymorph and Boots of Speed. The default battle strategy I would have used in 4e is pretty much useless in 5e because of things like that. (There are a lot fewer options, apparently.)
Apparently concentration may still be required with the triggering of a Glyph of Warding spell glyph. it says at the end of the spell glyph section "If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration." However, other spells do use that language within their normal description, although I could not find any while writing this. It seems to mean if "the spell normally requires concentration".
I hate rules lawyering, but the interpretation I had would been a game-changer. Rats.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Game: D&D 4e or 5e Group type: Online / Face-to-face / either Experience: a few years off an on Location/Timezone: EST, in Maine, USA Schedule: mostly evenings EST Roles sought: Player, Discord: BoinsterPsi#9024 Game style: (usual, with +2 to +7 level adjustment, depending on group) strategy player and power gamer
You are right about Polymorph and Boots of Speed. The default battle strategy I would have used in 4e is pretty much useless in 5e because of things like that. (There are a lot fewer options, apparently.)
Apparently concentration may still be required with the triggering of a Glyph of Warding spell glyph. it says at the end of the spell glyph section "If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration." However, other spells do use that language within their normal description, although I could not find any while writing this. It seems to mean if "the spell normally requires concentration".
I hate rules lawyering, but the interpretation I had would been a game-changer. Rats.
If a spell doesn't 'normally' require concentration and has a duration it generally lasts its full duration or until ended early by a successful saving throw or with an action/bonus action trigger included in the spell description. Even if your dm makes a table rule that it still uses your concentration, you would be unable to stop concentrating on the spell due to the wording in Glyph of Warding -- it lasts its full duration, so I hope you didn't throw a Suggestion spell in there (concentration up to 8 hours).
Every table is by all means to rule as the dm likes and/or as the entire table agrees, so I really can't naysay a different interpretation... but I am fairly certain I am following RAW when saying that Glyph of Warding's spell glyph does not use your concentration.
And touch spells like protect from evil and good may be used through your familiar. In that case your familiar hold concentration on such spells.
I think you're in error here. You can cast the spell through the familiar:
Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the
But the familiar is not casting the spell. It's just that the familiar's touch counts as an extension of your touch. Familiars can't maintain concentration.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The "Focused Mind" subclass above has potential.
To what extent do magic items which are activated by use or command word need concentration? Examples include a Potion of Invisibility and a Potion of Mind Reading (to use Detect Thoughts).
I think I would use Polymorph to become an invisible stalker, to gain the benefits of invilibilty and flight, or Boots of Speed to gain the benefit of the equivalent of Haste.
(FYI, I think the symbol for needing concentration needs to be more obvious. I at first thought the versions of them on this site for these two spells do not require them, because the "c" is too small and the diamond shape had not really sunk into my mind yet.)
Game: D&D 4e or 5e
Group type: Online / Face-to-face / either
Experience: a few years off an on
Location/Timezone: EST, in Maine, USA
Schedule: mostly evenings EST
Roles sought: Player, Discord: BoinsterPsi#9024
Game style: (usual, with +2 to +7 level adjustment, depending on group) strategy player and power gamer
Maybe use Wish to be able to concentrate in two spells? Or Simulacrum, só there may be two of you concentrating one different spells?
Thanks, I like the class. One of my favorite creations. Wish my DM would let me play it. :(
If the magic item says "as spell' or says 'casts' then it needs concentration unless otherwise stated. For example the Potion of Mind Control. But if it describes the effect without mentioning concentration, such as the potion of flying and the potion of invisibility then it does NOT need concentration.
Note that Polymorph is limited to beasts, not elementals like the Invisible Stalker and Boots of speed does not let you get all the advantages of Haste, it just increases your speed and grants AoO disadvantage.
You are right about Polymorph and Boots of Speed. The default battle strategy I would have used in 4e is pretty much useless in 5e because of things like that. (There are a lot fewer options, apparently.)
Apparently concentration may still be required with the triggering of a Glyph of Warding spell glyph. it says at the end of the spell glyph section "If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration." However, other spells do use that language within their normal description, although I could not find any while writing this. It seems to mean if "the spell normally requires concentration".
I hate rules lawyering, but the interpretation I had would been a game-changer. Rats.
Game: D&D 4e or 5e
Group type: Online / Face-to-face / either
Experience: a few years off an on
Location/Timezone: EST, in Maine, USA
Schedule: mostly evenings EST
Roles sought: Player, Discord: BoinsterPsi#9024
Game style: (usual, with +2 to +7 level adjustment, depending on group) strategy player and power gamer
If a spell doesn't 'normally' require concentration and has a duration it generally lasts its full duration or until ended early by a successful saving throw or with an action/bonus action trigger included in the spell description. Even if your dm makes a table rule that it still uses your concentration, you would be unable to stop concentrating on the spell due to the wording in Glyph of Warding -- it lasts its full duration, so I hope you didn't throw a Suggestion spell in there (concentration up to 8 hours).
Every table is by all means to rule as the dm likes and/or as the entire table agrees, so I really can't naysay a different interpretation... but I am fairly certain I am following RAW when saying that Glyph of Warding's spell glyph does not use your concentration.
And touch spells like protect from evil and good may be used through your familiar. In that case your familiar hold concentration on such spells.
I think you're in error here. You can cast the spell through the familiar:
Finally, when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the
But the familiar is not casting the spell. It's just that the familiar's touch counts as an extension of your touch. Familiars can't maintain concentration.