That's the Attack Action. Making an actual attack, mechanically, is always either Weapon or Spell and is called out as such.
That's not true. Both grapples and shoves are made with a "special melee attack".
Still doesn't flat out state "attack". And didn't I also state the GENERAL is it's either a weapon or spell attack? We all already agreed specific trumps general.
Heck, go back to those 10 actions and read the "Attack" entry. Not even 2 sentences in it specifically says "the Attack Action."
You need to go back and reread the basic rules; or PHB if you have it. And your own posts. Because the rules don't say what you say they do, and your own posts don't say what you say they do.
Can you RAW Grapple or Shove with your Hasted action? Yes - it replaces an attack in your Attack Action, which Haste grants.
Yes, because that replacement is not formulated inside a specific power that requires that you make multiple attacks to be able to replace one of them (again, "one of those attacks" plural and directly referenced).
That's not even how the feature works when isolated. If requiring multiple attacks to replace one of them it would state "you can replace the SECOND attack" - making sure the first one already occured, therefore satisfying its own conditions.
That it totally besides the point. The feature is NOT isolated, on purpose. It is part of the "Extra Attacks" feature, again on purpose. And it does, again on purpose, specifically refer to those attacks provided by the Extra Attack. Suggesting that it can be "isolated" is simply ridiculous, the sentence is not even self-standing.
You're the one that isolated the feature, hence I referenced that. And it doesn't refer to your Extra Attack attacks specifically at all. That's your own RAI.
"You can replace one of those attacks".
Extra Attack only grants you one, why is it specifying "one of those" if it specifically applies to Extra Attack, which only includes one attack?
It's blatantly obvious (though I will be fair and admit this is going into my own RAI) it states "You can replace one attack made as part of your Attack Action" as to exclude the Ready Action and Reactions.
That's patently false. Extra Attack only applies when you take the Attack action on your turn. You cannot ready a cantrip via the Attack action because Extra Attack doesn't apply. You would just take the Cast a Spell and hold it, but this means you're concentrating and that comes with its own problems. Nor can you with a simple reaction; you need War Caster for that.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
As with the Attack Action, which only has Weapon Attacks EXCEPT the specific rule where you replace them with Grapple or Shove (and we already concurred you can do that with your hasted action).
Actually, let me meet people half-way and propose the following question.
What EXACTLY does Haste do with Extra Attack?
Does it
- Ignore the extra attack from the feature?
- Overwrite the total amount of attacks gained by the feature?
- Negate the feature as a whole?
"This is semantics and doesn't matter at all!," I hear you say.
It DIDN'T matter, before Bladesigner gained this version of the Extra Attack feature.
Can argue all day about does/doesn't, but the very first question should be how Haste EXACTLY interacts with Extra Attack.
?
The spell haste does not interact with any class's Extra Attack feature. But, for the sake of due diligence, I'll address each of the questions posed.
Does [haste] ignore the extra attack from the feature? Actually, it's just the opposite. The spell was written with Extra Attack in mind. The additional action provided by the spell allows for a number of different options. But it can't do all of the actions. A creature under the effect of haste cannot use it for the [Tooltip Not Found] or Help action, for example. A banshee would also be unable to attack again with their Corrupting Touch because it's a spell attack and not a weapon attack. Because the additional Attack is limited to, "one weapon attack only," it expressly cannot be combined with any Extra Attack feature while also acknowledging that an affected character might have Extra Attack or Multiattack.
Does [haste] overwrite the total amount of attacks gained by the [Extra Attack] feature? No, the additional Attack action granted by the spell specifically does not interact with Extra Attack in any way. Extra Attack is Extra Attack. A creature has to use their standard-issue action to declare an Attack to benefit from the Extra Attack feature. And the additional action can always be used for something else. A hasted fighter, for example, could Attack with Extra Attack, use their Action Surge to do it again, and, through the spell, would still be limited to a single additional weapon attack. For example, an 11th level fighter under the effect of haste could pull off up to 7 attacks (3 + 3 + 1) with their Action Surge. The spell would not allow for 8 [(3+1) + (3 + 1)]. Or they could spend it on Dodge; if they were facing a particularly nasty foe. Their action, their choice.
Does [haste] negate the [Extra Attack] feature as a whole? No, as we've established the spell does not interact with Extra Attack. A hasted creature still has access to its full range of actions; including Extra Attack and Multiattack. That said, a creature which expends its action to cast haste on itself would not be able to use Extra Attack or Multiattack during that same turn. Unless, of course, it had some other feature which specifically allowed it to.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
As with the Attack Action, which only has Weapon Attacks EXCEPT the specific rule where you replace them with Grapple or Shove (and we already concurred you can do that with your hasted action).
I don't recall you and I agreeing on grappling or shoving with a hasted action. That said, I'm struggling to find any mention of weapon...
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
As with the Attack Action, which only has Weapon Attacks EXCEPT the specific rule where you replace them with Grapple or Shove (and we already concurred you can do that with your hasted action).
I don't recall you and I agreeing on grappling or shoving with a hasted action. That said, I'm struggling to find any mention of weapon...
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
This literally describes the Attack Action. Not simply "making an attack"
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
As with the Attack Action, which only has Weapon Attacks EXCEPT the specific rule where you replace them with Grapple or Shove (and we already concurred you can do that with your hasted action).
I don't recall you and I agreeing on grappling or shoving with a hasted action. That said, I'm struggling to find any mention of weapon...
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
This literally describes the Attack Action. Not simply "making an attack"
And the Making the Attack section also makes a point to mention melee and ranged spell attacks as well as unarmed strikes. Because this section of the text is for making any attack, not just when someone takes the Attack action.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
As with the Attack Action, which only has Weapon Attacks EXCEPT the specific rule where you replace them with Grapple or Shove (and we already concurred you can do that with your hasted action).
I don't recall you and I agreeing on grappling or shoving with a hasted action. That said, I'm struggling to find any mention of weapon...
Attack
The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, whether you are swinging a sword, firing an arrow from a bow, or brawling with your fists.
With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See the "Making an Attack" section for the rules that govern attacks.
Certain features, such as the Extra Attack feature of the fighter, allow you to make more than one attack with this action.
This literally describes the Attack Action. Not simply "making an attack"
And the Making the Attack section also makes a point to mention melee and ranged spell attacks as well as unarmed strikes.
When are you going to start reading?
When are you going to tell me about the types of attacks you can make using the Attack Action that aren't Weapon Attacks? (that aren't Shove/Grapple, as they are Specific rulings and not the general)
The point you attempted to raise, the point that I responded to, was that the Attack action makes default assumptions about what kind of attack is made. This is patently false, as any plain reading of the text will tell you. This is why I quoted the text for you.
Then you attempt to discuss the Making an Attack section, which covers every conceivable attack a character can take. And, again, no assumptions are made; only examples given. This is what we call "moving the goalposts." You have been consistently wrong for several pages just today. Take a breather.
The point you attempted to raise, the point that I responded to, was that the Attack action makes default assumptions about what kind of attack is made. This is patently false, as any plain reading of the text will tell you. This is why I quoted the text for you.
Then you attempt to discuss the Making an Attack section, which covers every conceivable attack a character can take. And, again, no assumptions are made; only examples given. This is what we call "moving the goalposts." You have been consistently wrong for several pages just today. Take a breather.
I don't need to take a breather though?
Heck, let's get on the "Making an Attack" section you refer to.
One of the very first sections in it, "Resolve the Attack", requires an attack roll. Shove and Grapple both bypass this; they're specific rules that trumps the general here.
Now, again, what kind of attacks are you able to make using the Attack Action, bar the specific rules of Grapple and Shove that trump the "Resolve the Attack" paragraph of the "Making an Attack" rule?
Is it only Melee and Ranged Weapon attacks? Cause I think it's only Melee and Ranged Weapon attacks.
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
Seems like we are arguing about this. It is to be noted that yes, by "default" the Attack Action only has one weapon Attack, however there are a ton of specific rules that override this, such as the bladesinger's Extra Attack, really every Extra Attack, Shove/Grapple, etc.
Thus, this (one weapon attack) is valid mechanical wording as it is a specific rule that is more specific than all of these other specific rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
So this is a special class feature that modifies the Attack action. Like most such features it grants an additional attack every time the character takes the Attack action. Unlike other such features it also allows the character to cast a cantrip in place of one of those attacks. I disagree with the idea that one must use all of those attacks in order to qualify as having used the feature and I think I can safely make the following wording change without changing how the rule is used
Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of any one of those attacks.
So I do think that you can initiate the Attack action, replace your first attack with a cantrip, and then run out of targets or otherwise choose not to use your second attack and still have used the Attack Action. It is not somehow retroactively change to the Cast a Spell Action.
This makes a difference when you have anything else that triggers off of an Attack Action rather than Cast a Spell.
Furthermore the Haste spell says the following:
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. ... it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
The spell grants additional actions. They are real actions, even if the list is a bit trimmed down from your usual list of actions. The Attack action is still a real Attack action, even if it is limited to one weapon attack.
Here is where we run into the dilemma. The Bladesinger feature modifies the Attack action and the Haste spell grants an Attack action, but the spell also says it can only be one and only a weapon attack. The feature says yes, the spell says no, which is more specific? The spell. So I think the answer is no, you cannot replace the Hasted attack with a cantrip, even if you are a Bladesinger. Regrettably I would say this also disallows the changing of the hasted attack into a grapple or a shove.
But does a blade cantrip count as a weapon attack? I would say no, even though it allows and calls for a weapon attack as part of the resolution of the spell, it is still a spellcasting action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
So this is a special class feature that modifies the Attack action. Like most such features it grants an additional attack every time the character takes the Attack action. Unlike other such features it also allows the character to cast a cantrip in place of one of those attacks. I disagree with the idea that one must use all of those attacks in order to qualify as having used the feature and I think I can safely make the following wording change without changing how the rule is used
Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of any one of those attacks.
So I do think that you can initiate the Attack action, replace your first attack with a cantrip, and then run out of targets or otherwise choose not to use your second attack and still have used the Attack Action. It is not somehow retroactively change to the Cast a Spell Action.
This makes a difference when you have anything else that triggers off of an Attack Action rather than Cast a Spell.
Changing the word to "any" would allow you to replace ALL of the attacks granted by Extra Attack if you wanted.
The wording of Extra Attack already allows you to replace either of the two attacks with a cantrip - it doesn't specify that only the second attack can be replaced.
Changing the word to "any" would allow you to replace ALL of the attacks granted by Extra Attack if you wanted.
The wording of Extra Attack already allows you to replace either of the two attacks with a cantrip - it doesn't specify that only the second attack can be replaced.
I didn't change a word, I added a word. It was mostly a minor point as part of the counter to the idea that a Bladesinger using the Attack action only to cast a cantrip was somehow retroactively using the Cast a Spell action instead.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
the bladesingers ability supersedes it, it modifies the action to swap for a cantrip, consider longterm superiority (the spell ends but your feature of bladesinger does not)
I generally consider spell rules to be more specific than class feature abilities. Do you not? Because remember ...
Specific Beats General
This book contains rules, especially in parts 2 and 3, that govern how the game plays. That said, many racial traits, class features, spells, magic items, monster abilities, and other game elements break the general rules in some way, creating an exception to how the rest of the game works. Remember this: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.
Exceptions to the rules are often minor. For instance, many adventurers don’t have proficiency with longbows, but every wood elf does because of a racial trait. That trait creates a minor exception in the game. Other examples of rule-breaking are more conspicuous. For instance, an adventurer can’t normally pass through walls, but some spells make that possible. Magic accounts for most of the major exceptions to the rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
one is a adjective it restricts and limits the subject
weapon attack is the attack subject as so are the Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object are the subject of the sentence.
its proper english Ophidimancer
if you want to limit to purely weapon attack
only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only)
it would change to only to take the Attack (only one weapon attack)
im sure d&d has enough understanding of english and grammar to get this finesse. (They have had decades of writing, which has shaped most modern fantasy entertainment and gaming)
I disagree with this and think you are wrong about your grammar point. The Attack action granted by Haste allows one weapon attack only, meaning it is only one and only a weapon attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
You need to go back and reread the basic rules; or PHB if you have it. And your own posts. Because the rules don't say what you say they do, and your own posts don't say what you say they do.
That's patently false. Extra Attack only applies when you take the Attack action on your turn. You cannot ready a cantrip via the Attack action because Extra Attack doesn't apply. You would just take the Cast a Spell and hold it, but this means you're concentrating and that comes with its own problems. Nor can you with a simple reaction; you need War Caster for that.
?
Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target's speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.
This looks pretty clear to me.
Read the entire thread.
Tldr; "(one attack)" wouldn't be valid mechanical wording - as by "default" the Attack Action only has Weapon Attacks.
By default, see this section in the Basic Rules on Making an Attack. It covers everything from weapons (both melee and ranged), spells, and special attacks such as grappling a creature or shoving them.
As with the Attack Action, which only has Weapon Attacks EXCEPT the specific rule where you replace them with Grapple or Shove (and we already concurred you can do that with your hasted action).
The spell haste does not interact with any class's Extra Attack feature. But, for the sake of due diligence, I'll address each of the questions posed.
Does [haste] ignore the extra attack from the feature? Actually, it's just the opposite. The spell was written with Extra Attack in mind. The additional action provided by the spell allows for a number of different options. But it can't do all of the actions. A creature under the effect of haste cannot use it for the [Tooltip Not Found] or Help action, for example. A banshee would also be unable to attack again with their Corrupting Touch because it's a spell attack and not a weapon attack. Because the additional Attack is limited to, "one weapon attack only," it expressly cannot be combined with any Extra Attack feature while also acknowledging that an affected character might have Extra Attack or Multiattack.
Does [haste] overwrite the total amount of attacks gained by the [Extra Attack] feature? No, the additional Attack action granted by the spell specifically does not interact with Extra Attack in any way. Extra Attack is Extra Attack. A creature has to use their standard-issue action to declare an Attack to benefit from the Extra Attack feature. And the additional action can always be used for something else. A hasted fighter, for example, could Attack with Extra Attack, use their Action Surge to do it again, and, through the spell, would still be limited to a single additional weapon attack. For example, an 11th level fighter under the effect of haste could pull off up to 7 attacks (3 + 3 + 1) with their Action Surge. The spell would not allow for 8 [(3+1) + (3 + 1)].
Or they could spend it on Dodge; if they were facing a particularly nasty foe. Their action, their choice.
Does [haste] negate the [Extra Attack] feature as a whole? No, as we've established the spell does not interact with Extra Attack. A hasted creature still has access to its full range of actions; including Extra Attack and Multiattack. That said, a creature which expends its action to cast haste on itself would not be able to use Extra Attack or Multiattack during that same turn. Unless, of course, it had some other feature which specifically allowed it to.
I don't recall you and I agreeing on grappling or shoving with a hasted action. That said, I'm struggling to find any mention of weapon...
This literally describes the Attack Action. Not simply "making an attack"
And the Making the Attack section also makes a point to mention melee and ranged spell attacks as well as unarmed strikes. Because this section of the text is for making any attack, not just when someone takes the Attack action.
When are you going to tell me about the types of attacks you can make using the Attack Action that aren't Weapon Attacks? (that aren't Shove/Grapple, as they are Specific rulings and not the general)
The point you attempted to raise, the point that I responded to, was that the Attack action makes default assumptions about what kind of attack is made. This is patently false, as any plain reading of the text will tell you. This is why I quoted the text for you.
Then you attempt to discuss the Making an Attack section, which covers every conceivable attack a character can take. And, again, no assumptions are made; only examples given. This is what we call "moving the goalposts." You have been consistently wrong for several pages just today. Take a breather.
I don't need to take a breather though?
Heck, let's get on the "Making an Attack" section you refer to.
One of the very first sections in it, "Resolve the Attack", requires an attack roll. Shove and Grapple both bypass this; they're specific rules that trumps the general here.
Now, again, what kind of attacks are you able to make using the Attack Action, bar the specific rules of Grapple and Shove that trump the "Resolve the Attack" paragraph of the "Making an Attack" rule?
Is it only Melee and Ranged Weapon attacks? Cause I think it's only Melee and Ranged Weapon attacks.
Seems like we are arguing about this. It is to be noted that yes, by "default" the Attack Action only has one weapon Attack, however there are a ton of specific rules that override this, such as the bladesinger's Extra Attack, really every Extra Attack, Shove/Grapple, etc.
Thus, this (one weapon attack) is valid mechanical wording as it is a specific rule that is more specific than all of these other specific rules.
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Hmm ..
So this is a special class feature that modifies the Attack action. Like most such features it grants an additional attack every time the character takes the Attack action. Unlike other such features it also allows the character to cast a cantrip in place of one of those attacks. I disagree with the idea that one must use all of those attacks in order to qualify as having used the feature and I think I can safely make the following wording change without changing how the rule is used
So I do think that you can initiate the Attack action, replace your first attack with a cantrip, and then run out of targets or otherwise choose not to use your second attack and still have used the Attack Action. It is not somehow retroactively change to the Cast a Spell Action.
This makes a difference when you have anything else that triggers off of an Attack Action rather than Cast a Spell.
Furthermore the Haste spell says the following:
The spell grants additional actions. They are real actions, even if the list is a bit trimmed down from your usual list of actions. The Attack action is still a real Attack action, even if it is limited to one weapon attack.
Here is where we run into the dilemma. The Bladesinger feature modifies the Attack action and the Haste spell grants an Attack action, but the spell also says it can only be one and only a weapon attack. The feature says yes, the spell says no, which is more specific? The spell. So I think the answer is no, you cannot replace the Hasted attack with a cantrip, even if you are a Bladesinger. Regrettably I would say this also disallows the changing of the hasted attack into a grapple or a shove.
But does a blade cantrip count as a weapon attack? I would say no, even though it allows and calls for a weapon attack as part of the resolution of the spell, it is still a spellcasting action.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Changing the word to "any" would allow you to replace ALL of the attacks granted by Extra Attack if you wanted.
The wording of Extra Attack already allows you to replace either of the two attacks with a cantrip - it doesn't specify that only the second attack can be replaced.
A Swords Bard's Blade Flourish triggers on an Attack action, but not Cast a Spell.
I didn't change a word, I added a word. It was mostly a minor point as part of the counter to the idea that a Bladesinger using the Attack action only to cast a cantrip was somehow retroactively using the Cast a Spell action instead.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Why do consider the word "one" to be a restriction but don't consider the words "weapon attack" a restriction in the same way?
I generally consider spell rules to be more specific than class feature abilities. Do you not? Because remember ...
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
I disagree with this and think you are wrong about your grammar point. The Attack action granted by Haste allows one weapon attack only, meaning it is only one and only a weapon attack.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!