Question about the awaken spell book and the element switching.
*When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell's formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.*
If you have the spell chromatic orb, does this mean you have access to all of those damage types, when it comes to the substitution function? Same thing for spells that have multiple damage types.
Yes, that would work, because it says "...a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook...of the same level as the spell slot you expend." So you could substitute the damage type of any 1st level spell you cast with one listed in Chromatic Orb, as long as Chromatic Orb is in your spellbook.
It just goes by spell level and what you have in your spellbook. So you could cast Wall of Fire and have it do bludgeoning or lightning damage instead of fire damage, as long as you also have Storm Sphere in your spellbook, because they're both 4th level spells, and both bludgeoning and lightning damage appear in Storm Sphere's description. Both spells don't need to be prepared to do the substituting, both just need to be in your spellbook.
Yes, that would work, because it says "...a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook...of the same level as the spell slot you expend." So you could substitute the damage type of any 1st level spell you cast with one listed in Chromatic Orb, as long as Chromatic Orb is in your spellbook.
It just goes by spell level and what you have in your spellbook. So you could cast Wall of Fire and have it do bludgeoning or lightning damage instead of fire damage, as long as you also have Storm Sphere in your spellbook, because they're both 4th level spells, and both bludgeoning and lightning damage appear in Storm Sphere's description. Both spells don't need to be prepared to do the substituting, both just need to be in your spellbook.
Thank you. I figured that was the case but I wanted to double check.
Follow up question, when it says wizard spell does that mean a spell that you learned as a wizard or does that mean on the wizard spell list?
Say that you are multi-classing into alchemist articifer, can you cast a spell with your alchemist supplies with a spell that is on both The alchemist and wizard spell list and change the damage type with this feature? Therefore also gaining the feature alchemist savant.
Unfortunately, RAW, no. From the PHB, in regard to spellcasting and multiclassing: "...Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus."
If I were the DM, I would allow it, because multi-classing already somewhat hinders the true power of each class mixed, and Alchemist Savant isn't exactly a game-breaking class feature lol. But technically, no, you would not be allowed to do that.
Unfortunately, RAW, no. From the PHB, in regard to spellcasting and multiclassing: "...Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus."
If I were the DM, I would allow it, because multi-classing already somewhat hinders the true power of each class mixed, and Alchemist Savant isn't exactly a game-breaking class feature lol. But technically, no, you would not be allowed to do that.
Okay it has nothing to do with the focus.
Let's say I have the catapult spell known to me as a artificer spell.
I have chromatic orb spell known to me as a wizard spell.
The catapult spell is on the wizard spell list.
If I cast the catapult spell can I change the damage type with the scribe wizard feature?
The feature says "when you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot" that is the only prerequisite. So I am asking in this instance what is counted as a wizard spell.
Unfortunately, RAW, no. From the PHB, in regard to spellcasting and multiclassing: "...Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus."
If I were the DM, I would allow it, because multi-classing already somewhat hinders the true power of each class mixed, and Alchemist Savant isn't exactly a game-breaking class feature lol. But technically, no, you would not be allowed to do that.
Okay it has nothing to do with the focus.
Let's say I have the catapult spell known to me as a artificer spell.
I have chromatic orb spell known to me as a wizard spell.
The catapult spell is on the wizard spell list.
If I cast the catapult spell can I change the damage type with the scribe wizard feature?
Right, no I see what you're saying, but that same rule would apply to the OoS wizard's Awakened Spellbook. That ability to change the damage type would only apply to the wizard spells cast from that awakened spellbook, because that ability is only made possible via the awakened spellbook itself, which is the focus for those spells, and those spells only.
RAW you'd have to copy the Catapult spell into your awakened spellbook and only cast it as a wizard for it to be eligible to change the damage type. But, also RAW, it would then be ineligible for the Alchemist Savant damage bonus, because you'd be casting it as a wizard with your wizard focus, and not as an artificer with your artificer focus
So, RAW, it has everything to do with the focus. Even though that spell is available to both artificers and wizards, it's all about how you have it prepared and cast it.
But talk to your DM. Like I said, we're not dealing with earth-shattering damage amounts here, or changing rules that break the game, so they might be ok with it. Maybe barter if they're against, and say you can only cross-class these two abilities for cantrips through 2nd level spells. Or something like that.
It doesn't say that you have to use it as a spell focus in order to use the feature, you just have to hold it. "While holding the book you gained the following benefits" first one says it can be a focus. The second one is the damage type change.
But the more that I think about it I'm pretty sure the spell has to be known to you by The wizard class. Not that it is on the wizard spell list.
It doesn't say that you have to use it as a spell focus in order to use the feature, you just have to hold it. "While holding the book you gained the following benefits" first one says it can be a focus. The second one is the damage type change.
But the more that I think about it I'm pretty sure the spell has to be known to you by The wizard class. Not that it is on the wizard spell list.
You are correct about the holding it part though.....Technically, RAW, you could take that to mean literally just holding it in your hand lol. When I read it though, I read it as RAW is assuming you're holding it to use as your spellcasting focus.....
Follow up question, when it says wizard spell does that mean a spell that you learned as a wizard or does that mean on the wizard spell list?
Say that you are multi-classing into alchemist articifer, can you cast a spell with your alchemist supplies with a spell that is on both The alchemist and wizard spell list and change the damage type with this feature? Therefore also gaining the feature alchemist savant.
Pretty sure no, doesn't it say something like "with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook" (emphasis mine)?
Huh. That's an interesting question DragonhearthX.
I believe that once you know the spell it is only classified as a spell from the class you learned it from. So while catapult is found on multiple spell lists, once you have it prepared it only counts as a spell from the class that allowed you to prepare it.
If you have catapult in your spellbook and have it prepared as an artificer, then it would be considered an arificer or wizard spell based on how you cast it. If you use alchemist supplies as your focus then you're casting it as an artificer spell and not as a wizard spell and therefore it can't have its damage type changed.
At least I think that is how it works. Awakened Spellbook has a lot of little interactions that have no precedent. The rules just aren't well equipped to handle it.
All that being said, the Artificer Initiate feat allows this to work without question. It's key to take it before becoming an Alchemist so you can use it to get proficiency with alchemist supplies. The feat allows you to use the tool chosen as your focus for all intelligence based spells, not just artificer. This would allow you to cast a wizard spell while using the right focus to trigger Alchemical Savant.
Question about the awaken spell book and the element switching.
*When you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot, you can temporarily replace its damage type with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook, which magically alters the spell's formula for this casting only. The latter spell must be of the same level as the spell slot you expend.*
If you have the spell chromatic orb, does this mean you have access to all of those damage types, when it comes to the substitution function? Same thing for spells that have multiple damage types.
Yes, that would work, because it says "...a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook...of the same level as the spell slot you expend." So you could substitute the damage type of any 1st level spell you cast with one listed in Chromatic Orb, as long as Chromatic Orb is in your spellbook.
It just goes by spell level and what you have in your spellbook. So you could cast Wall of Fire and have it do bludgeoning or lightning damage instead of fire damage, as long as you also have Storm Sphere in your spellbook, because they're both 4th level spells, and both bludgeoning and lightning damage appear in Storm Sphere's description. Both spells don't need to be prepared to do the substituting, both just need to be in your spellbook.
Thank you. I figured that was the case but I wanted to double check.
Follow up question, when it says wizard spell does that mean a spell that you learned as a wizard or does that mean on the wizard spell list?
Say that you are multi-classing into alchemist articifer, can you cast a spell with your alchemist supplies with a spell that is on both The alchemist and wizard spell list and change the damage type with this feature? Therefore also gaining the feature alchemist savant.
Unfortunately, RAW, no. From the PHB, in regard to spellcasting and multiclassing: "...Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus."
If I were the DM, I would allow it, because multi-classing already somewhat hinders the true power of each class mixed, and Alchemist Savant isn't exactly a game-breaking class feature lol. But technically, no, you would not be allowed to do that.
Okay it has nothing to do with the focus.
Let's say I have the catapult spell known to me as a artificer spell.
I have chromatic orb spell known to me as a wizard spell.
The catapult spell is on the wizard spell list.
If I cast the catapult spell can I change the damage type with the scribe wizard feature?
The feature says "when you cast a wizard spell with a spell slot" that is the only prerequisite. So I am asking in this instance what is counted as a wizard spell.
Right, no I see what you're saying, but that same rule would apply to the OoS wizard's Awakened Spellbook. That ability to change the damage type would only apply to the wizard spells cast from that awakened spellbook, because that ability is only made possible via the awakened spellbook itself, which is the focus for those spells, and those spells only.
RAW you'd have to copy the Catapult spell into your awakened spellbook and only cast it as a wizard for it to be eligible to change the damage type. But, also RAW, it would then be ineligible for the Alchemist Savant damage bonus, because you'd be casting it as a wizard with your wizard focus, and not as an artificer with your artificer focus
So, RAW, it has everything to do with the focus. Even though that spell is available to both artificers and wizards, it's all about how you have it prepared and cast it.
But talk to your DM. Like I said, we're not dealing with earth-shattering damage amounts here, or changing rules that break the game, so they might be ok with it. Maybe barter if they're against, and say you can only cross-class these two abilities for cantrips through 2nd level spells. Or something like that.
It doesn't say that you have to use it as a spell focus in order to use the feature, you just have to hold it. "While holding the book you gained the following benefits" first one says it can be a focus. The second one is the damage type change.
But the more that I think about it I'm pretty sure the spell has to be known to you by The wizard class. Not that it is on the wizard spell list.
You are correct about the holding it part though.....Technically, RAW, you could take that to mean literally just holding it in your hand lol. When I read it though, I read it as RAW is assuming you're holding it to use as your spellcasting focus.....
Pretty sure no, doesn't it say something like "with a type that appears in another spell in your spellbook" (emphasis mine)?
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Huh. That's an interesting question DragonhearthX.
I believe that once you know the spell it is only classified as a spell from the class you learned it from. So while catapult is found on multiple spell lists, once you have it prepared it only counts as a spell from the class that allowed you to prepare it.
If you have catapult in your spellbook and have it prepared as an artificer, then it would be considered an arificer or wizard spell based on how you cast it. If you use alchemist supplies as your focus then you're casting it as an artificer spell and not as a wizard spell and therefore it can't have its damage type changed.
At least I think that is how it works. Awakened Spellbook has a lot of little interactions that have no precedent. The rules just aren't well equipped to handle it.
All that being said, the Artificer Initiate feat allows this to work without question. It's key to take it before becoming an Alchemist so you can use it to get proficiency with alchemist supplies. The feat allows you to use the tool chosen as your focus for all intelligence based spells, not just artificer. This would allow you to cast a wizard spell while using the right focus to trigger Alchemical Savant.