I have a player in my current campaign that is a level 8 Eldritch blood hunter. We have argued during the session on the use of Eldritch blast having 2 beams currently, costing one action and having 2 action per turn. Does this mean she can cast 4 beam at 4d10 with her 2 eb blast. Or is it a spell negating her second action and only getting 2 blast at 2d10 with a bonus action.
EDIT: Just saw the 7th level Mystic Frenzy feature, which is what I assume you're talking about. If they cast Eldritch Blast (using the Cast a Spell action), they can then use their bonus action to attack once (and only once) with a weapon. So two beams from the Eldritch Blast, then one weapon attack.
For starters, Blood Hunter does not get two actions per turn. At level 5, they get the Extra Attack feature which lets them make two attacks when they take the Attack action on their turn. They only get one action, just if they choose to Attack they can make two attack rolls.
Spells do not count as attacks, they are their own thing. Some spells call for attack rolls, but when you cast a spell (including cantrips), you are using the Cast a Spell action, not the Attack action. Since the character is 8th level, if they use their action to Cast the Spell Eldritch Blast, they get two beams each with their own attack roll.
None of this affects their Bonus Action, it's still free to use with whatever other features they wish. I hope that helps, if you have any more questions please feel free to ask!
Also, this may be better off in the Rules subforum.
I have a player in my current campaign that is a level 8 Eldritch blood hunter. We have argued during the session on the use of Eldritch blast having 2 beams currently, costing one action and having 2 action per turn. Does this mean she can cast 4 beam at 4d10 with her 2 eb blast. Or is it a spell negating her second action and only getting 2 blast at 2d10 with a bonus action.
EDIT: Just saw the 7th level Mystic Frenzy feature, which is what I assume you're talking about. If they cast Eldritch Blast (using the Cast a Spell action), they can then use their bonus action to attack once (and only once) with a weapon. So two beams from the Eldritch Blast, then one weapon attack.
For starters, Blood Hunter does not get two actions per turn. At level 5, they get the Extra Attack feature which lets them make two attacks when they take the Attack action on their turn. They only get one action, just if they choose to Attack they can make two attack rolls.
Spells do not count as attacks, they are their own thing. Some spells call for attack rolls, but when you cast a spell (including cantrips), you are using the Cast a Spell action, not the Attack action. Since the character is 8th level, if they use their action to Cast the Spell Eldritch Blast, they get two beams each with their own attack roll.
None of this affects their Bonus Action, it's still free to use with whatever other features they wish.I hope that helps, if you have any more questions please feel free to ask!Also, this may be better off in the Rules subforum.