I can add level 2 spells to my spellbook (using the Multiclassing spellcasters table, I have 2 level 2 spell slots, which DnDBeyond also shows).
PHB Says:
Learning spells
Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.
Preparing spells
You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Actual Behaviour:
DnD Beyond doesn't show Level 2 spells under the Add Spells section.
You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
So a Level 3 Arcane Trickster and a Level 2 Wizard can't prepare level 2 spells, that is why the character sheet does not show level 2 spells. The sheet is working as intended.
From what I can tell, I can only see your available spell slots determining what your wizard can or can not learn. As Spell slots are decided by Character level, you class level doesn't matter and is irrelevant for the idea. Can't find a rule for wizard that says your Wizard level decides your spell slots. Can someone help?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Ass with a past. I'm not here to make friends, I'm here to play D&D and get killed.
From what I can tell, I can only see your available spell slots determining what your wizard can or can not learn. As Spell slots are decided by Character level, you class level doesn't matter and is irrelevant for the idea. Can't find a rule for wizard that says your Wizard level decides your spell slots. Can someone help?
Spell slots are determined by class level. There are 3 (not counting warlock) different spell slot progressions depending on class, and a multiclass progression that depends on how many levels of each progression type you have.
I realize you wouldn't "start" with Level 2 spells, but I see nothing preventing finding or copying level 2 spells ino the spell book and then having access to prepare those spells with the 2nd level slot.
Copying a spell is based off of preparing a spell, and preparing a spell only restriction is "available slots" and "Wizard spells list." The gaining of spells per level is, yes, based on the single level so it would not "start" with 2nd level spells, but there is no language preventing preparing if they were in their book. Can anyone find language to the contrary?
"Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
"You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots."
The Three restricting factors for preparing a spell are 1)Wizard Spell list 2) In spellbook 3) A level which you have slots. It does not say a "Wizard Level" which you have spell slots. So inherent in the last condition the leveling of the Wizard class does not restrict itself by Wizard levels. So if one is preparing as per individual class levels, built into the Wizard class itself it does not restrict to only preparing per Wizard levels. Its built into the class itself. So following its own inherent leveling system the class is open and restriction free to using "Level for which you have spell slots."
Finally, clearly 2) does not apply because obviously to copy something into a spell book precludes that it is not already there.
I realize you wouldn't "start" with Level 2 spells, but I see nothing preventing finding or copying level 2 spells ino the spell book and then having access to prepare those spells with the 2nd level slot.
You must not have read the multiclassing rules filcat and I linked then.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
This means when learning/preparing spells, you ignore the spell slots gained by multiclassing and can only learn prepare spells based on that 1 class's level. So a level 2 Wizard cannot learn or prepare level 2 wizard spells.
Mulit Class states the spells you "KNOW" and HOW MANY" you can prepare based on level. Not, what can be prepared. Some classes have limits on what is Known or Prepared by class level such as Paladin, Ranger, Bard etc. Probably why Ranger is used it has limitations on Known And Prepared. Ranger is ultimate restrictive spell casting class. The Wizard does not have a limitation like Paladin where spells have to equal total Paladin levels. When DnD states "You" that is a reference to Character not Class. If it States what "You" have Available I.e. Your Hit Dice etc. it is referencing Character level and not Class level.
In multi class Known is based on level, and How many is Based on Level+Attributes Bonus. That is what that section describes accurately. It then goes on to state quite clearly that the Slots available to the character are determined separately. They are determined by cumulative levels. So it clearly states "KNOWN" and "HOW MANY" are Prepared by single class. It goes on to state "Slots Available" are based on total levels.
Normally its not an issue because a character cannot learn spells outside of what their level in the class can provide. I.e. A Cleric can never learn what is not on THEIR OWN tabe. So Cleric level DOES determine what they can know. Wizard is the one class thay can go beyond what they know from their Individual class table.
Wizards can copy regardless of thier own table of knowledge. That is built into the class. Multi class states what is Known, which is stated first, and then How Many, which is stated second. Clearly this is not meant to limit the Wizard to ONLY knowing what is from their level table because then they could never copy even an additional Level 1 spell. It would be beyond the numbers in their table. A Wizard inherently can go beyond their table provided in their class already. Its built into the class.
There is a definite Difference between what is Known/Prepared and Slots. Multi Class then goes on to make a clear distinction that Spell slots are determined separately by total Character Level on Multiclass casting. It makes a clear distinction between: Known granted by level, How Many can be prepared based on level.
It then goes on to state Slots are determined separately by total level. It makes a clear distinction that Slots in Multi Class are determined Differently than Known and Prepared. In Multi Class a characters slots are determined by total level not individual level. The unique property of Wizards to copy spells is based on Slots Available. Which Multi Class does say how to determine for a Multi Class character.
The Difference with the Wizard is it can go beyond spells provided by its individual table per level. Copying spells is built into the class. Specifically Wizard known spells are not limited by their own table. And the mechanics of copying the spell is based on "SLOTS AVAILABLE." Which the mutli class does show is determined separately from how to determine known and prepared. It is based off total level.
So Wizard is unique in that, within its class what can be known is not determined by its class level table. The only determining factor of what can be copied is Wizard spell list and Slots Available, which the multi class does tell us to determine by total Character level. So for any other class yes. But Wizard uniquely is not limited to Known spells based in its table. What can be Known is based on what can be copied, and what can be copied is based on slots available, which Multi Class slots available are determined by total levels.
I'm not even going to try to argue against that. There is too much going in circles that it is impossible to pick out the 2 or 3 correct statements out of those 8 paragraphs.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
This means when learning/preparing spells, you ignore the spell slots gained by multiclassing and can only learn prepare spells based on that 1 class's level. So a level 2 Wizard cannot learn or prepare level 2 wizard spells.
And from Wizard it says:
Your spellbook is the repository of the wizard spells you know
This means that what spells you can copy into your spellbook must follow the rules for what spells you can know. And what spells you can know is based as if you were not multiclassed.
That means a Wizard 2/cleric 18 can only know the same spells as a level 2 Wizard and can't copy the wish spell into their spellbook. See how clear it is? All you need to do is read both rules and find the words that match.
Also just to add to what DxJxC is saying - here is the rule for copying spells into your spellbook. (emphasis mine)
When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.
Therefore if you can't prepare it due to the multiclassing rules - you can't add it to your spellbook.
As a Level 7 Arcane Trickster, I am able to cast 2nd level spells. I cannot copy Shadow Blade into my arsenal because it does not show up on the list of spells I can learn, even though it is a 2nd level Wizard spell. Is there a problem with DnD Beyond, or am I missing something?
As a Level 7 Arcane Trickster, I am able to cast 2nd level spells. I cannot copy Shadow Blade into my arsenal because it does not show up on the list of spells I can learn, even though it is a 2nd level Wizard spell. Is there a problem with DnD Beyond, or am I missing something?
Shadow Blade is a spell from Xanathar's Guide to Everything. To use it in the character builder, you need to own that book (or have access to it through content sharing) and you need to have "Expanded Rules" checked on the Home tab of the character builder.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Reproduction:
Level 3 Arcane Trickster, Level 2 Wizard.
Expected behaviour:
I can add level 2 spells to my spellbook (using the Multiclassing spellcasters table, I have 2 level 2 spell slots, which DnDBeyond also shows).
PHB Says:
Learning spells
Preparing spells
Actual Behaviour:
DnD Beyond doesn't show Level 2 spells under the Add Spells section.
Supporting images (hosted on https://imgbb.com/):
Manage Spells
Add Spells
Spell List
The Multiclassing Prepared Spells follows the following rule:
So a Level 3 Arcane Trickster and a Level 2 Wizard can't prepare level 2 spells, that is why the character sheet does not show level 2 spells. The sheet is working as intended.
Well Pooh.
Thanks for the quick reply :)
From what I can tell, I can only see your available spell slots determining what your wizard can or can not learn. As Spell slots are decided by Character level, you class level doesn't matter and is irrelevant for the idea. Can't find a rule for wizard that says your Wizard level decides your spell slots. Can someone help?
Ass with a past. I'm not here to make friends, I'm here to play D&D and get killed.
Spell slots are determined by class level. There are 3 (not counting warlock) different spell slot progressions depending on class, and a multiclass progression that depends on how many levels of each progression type you have.
The Spell slot progression of the wizard can be found on the table here: https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/wizard#TheWizardTable
The spellcaster multiclass rules can be found here: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/customization-options#Spellcasting
I realize you wouldn't "start" with Level 2 spells, but I see nothing preventing finding or copying level 2 spells ino the spell book and then having access to prepare those spells with the 2nd level slot.
Copying a spell is based off of preparing a spell, and preparing a spell only restriction is "available slots" and "Wizard spells list." The gaining of spells per level is, yes, based on the single level so it would not "start" with 2nd level spells, but there is no language preventing preparing if they were in their book. Can anyone find language to the contrary?
"Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
"You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots."
The Three restricting factors for preparing a spell are 1)Wizard Spell list 2) In spellbook 3) A level which you have slots. It does not say a "Wizard Level" which you have spell slots. So inherent in the last condition the leveling of the Wizard class does not restrict itself by Wizard levels. So if one is preparing as per individual class levels, built into the Wizard class itself it does not restrict to only preparing per Wizard levels. Its built into the class itself. So following its own inherent leveling system the class is open and restriction free to using "Level for which you have spell slots."
Finally, clearly 2) does not apply because obviously to copy something into a spell book precludes that it is not already there.
You must not have read the multiclassing rules filcat and I linked then.
This means when learning/preparing spells, you ignore the spell slots gained by multiclassing and can only learn prepare spells based on that 1 class's level. So a level 2 Wizard cannot learn or prepare level 2 wizard spells.
Mulit Class states the spells you "KNOW" and HOW MANY" you can prepare based on level. Not, what can be prepared. Some classes have limits on what is Known or Prepared by class level such as Paladin, Ranger, Bard etc. Probably why Ranger is used it has limitations on Known And Prepared. Ranger is ultimate restrictive spell casting class. The Wizard does not have a limitation like Paladin where spells have to equal total Paladin levels. When DnD states "You" that is a reference to Character not Class. If it States what "You" have Available I.e. Your Hit Dice etc. it is referencing Character level and not Class level.
In multi class Known is based on level, and How many is Based on Level+Attributes Bonus. That is what that section describes accurately. It then goes on to state quite clearly that the Slots available to the character are determined separately. They are determined by cumulative levels. So it clearly states "KNOWN" and "HOW MANY" are Prepared by single class. It goes on to state "Slots Available" are based on total levels.
Normally its not an issue because a character cannot learn spells outside of what their level in the class can provide. I.e. A Cleric can never learn what is not on THEIR OWN tabe. So Cleric level DOES determine what they can know. Wizard is the one class thay can go beyond what they know from their Individual class table.
Wizards can copy regardless of thier own table of knowledge. That is built into the class. Multi class states what is Known, which is stated first, and then How Many, which is stated second. Clearly this is not meant to limit the Wizard to ONLY knowing what is from their level table because then they could never copy even an additional Level 1 spell. It would be beyond the numbers in their table. A Wizard inherently can go beyond their table provided in their class already. Its built into the class.
There is a definite Difference between what is Known/Prepared and Slots. Multi Class then goes on to make a clear distinction that Spell slots are determined separately by total Character Level on Multiclass casting. It makes a clear distinction between: Known granted by level, How Many can be prepared based on level.
It then goes on to state Slots are determined separately by total level. It makes a clear distinction that Slots in Multi Class are determined Differently than Known and Prepared. In Multi Class a characters slots are determined by total level not individual level. The unique property of Wizards to copy spells is based on Slots Available. Which Multi Class does say how to determine for a Multi Class character.
The Difference with the Wizard is it can go beyond spells provided by its individual table per level. Copying spells is built into the class. Specifically Wizard known spells are not limited by their own table. And the mechanics of copying the spell is based on "SLOTS AVAILABLE." Which the mutli class does show is determined separately from how to determine known and prepared. It is based off total level.
So Wizard is unique in that, within its class what can be known is not determined by its class level table. The only determining factor of what can be copied is Wizard spell list and Slots Available, which the multi class does tell us to determine by total Character level. So for any other class yes. But Wizard uniquely is not limited to Known spells based in its table. What can be Known is based on what can be copied, and what can be copied is based on slots available, which Multi Class slots available are determined by total levels.
I'm not even going to try to argue against that. There is too much going in circles that it is impossible to pick out the 2 or 3 correct statements out of those 8 paragraphs.
The rules are clear:
And from Wizard it says:
This means that what spells you can copy into your spellbook must follow the rules for what spells you can know. And what spells you can know is based as if you were not multiclassed.
That means a Wizard 2/cleric 18 can only know the same spells as a level 2 Wizard and can't copy the wish spell into their spellbook. See how clear it is? All you need to do is read both rules and find the words that match.
Also just to add to what DxJxC is saying - here is the rule for copying spells into your spellbook. (emphasis mine)
Therefore if you can't prepare it due to the multiclassing rules - you can't add it to your spellbook.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
As a Level 7 Arcane Trickster, I am able to cast 2nd level spells. I cannot copy Shadow Blade into my arsenal because it does not show up on the list of spells I can learn, even though it is a 2nd level Wizard spell. Is there a problem with DnD Beyond, or am I missing something?
Shadow Blade is a spell from Xanathar's Guide to Everything. To use it in the character builder, you need to own that book (or have access to it through content sharing) and you need to have "Expanded Rules" checked on the Home tab of the character builder.
pronouns: he/she/they