Nope. Alter Memories works on spells that (try to) charm a target, Friends is not one of those.
OP, there is two different schools of thought here. RAW, I do agree with Pangurjan, Rules as Fun, I do not.
So the Enchantment Wizard ability in question reads as:
At 14th level, you gain the ability to make a creature unaware of your magical influence on it. When you cast an enchantment spell to charm one or more creatures, you can alter one creature's understanding so that it remains unaware of being charmed.
Friends reads as:
For the duration, you have advantage on all Charisma checks directed at one creature of your choice that isn’t hostile toward you. When the spell ends, the creature realizes that you used magic to influence its mood and becomes hostile toward you. A creature prone to violence might attack you. Another creature might seek retribution in other ways (at the DM’s discretion), depending on the nature of your interaction with it.
In 5th edition, charmed is a condition. The main point of contention is that part of the charmed condition is "The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature", and Friends doesn't give that. Friends specifically does not mention a full charmed effect and only gives bonuses to Charisma checks.
If I were the DM, and a campaign got to 14th level? I'd let this work in social situations. If it were used to abuse? I'd reel it back to RAW.
I agree with Spidey. I'm unsure of why Friends seems to avoid being described as charming the target. The flavour and even much of the mechanics very much seem to describe it as being a charm, but falls short of explicitly saying so. Either it's an oversight and RAI it should be counted as a charm, or they specifically wanted to avoid it, perhaps, being a cantrip, it would be OP when combined with spells and abilities like Alter Memories?
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
OP, there is two different schools of thought here. RAW, I do agree with Pangurjan, Rules as Fun, I do not.
Well, yes - it's a rules question, so I answered by the rules. That said, in the past I've mentioned it when there appears to be a common willingness to houserule something and I could have done so here too, I think. In practice I'd suggest Enchantment wizards might not rely too much on Friends anymore once past 14th level - just go for Charm Person or the like when it matters - but it's obviously an option regardless and probably not problematic in conjunction with Alter Memory. And in any case, rule zero applies. If you want to change something, go for it; if it doesn't work out you can always reverse the houserule, it's hardly going to be catastrophic if you try something like this and find out it's not quite what you thought it would.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
I agree with Spidey. I'm unsure of why Friends seems to avoid being described as charming the target. The flavour and even much of the mechanics very much seem to describe it as being a charm, but falls short of explicitly saying so. Either it's an oversight and RAI it should be counted as a charm, or they specifically wanted to avoid it, perhaps, being a cantrip, it would be OP when combined with spells and abilities like Alter Memories?
I think it's because it's charm-lite. It's a cantrip so you have forever access to it and as a cantrip that affects other people, it has zero saving throw. So it's going to work, it's just going to have pretty instant consequences. Honestly, RAI, I think it's also intended to be this way. Saying the creature is charmed prevents other things from a mechanical standpoint as well so I understand why as a cantrip they specifically didn't say it imposes the charm condition.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Say I have a LVL 14 enchantment wizard with the friends cantrip. Will Alter Memories (the subclass feature) work with the friends cantrip?
Nope. Alter Memories works on spells that (try to) charm a target, Friends is not one of those.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
OP, there is two different schools of thought here. RAW, I do agree with Pangurjan, Rules as Fun, I do not.
So the Enchantment Wizard ability in question reads as:
Friends reads as:
In 5th edition, charmed is a condition. The main point of contention is that part of the charmed condition is "The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature", and Friends doesn't give that. Friends specifically does not mention a full charmed effect and only gives bonuses to Charisma checks.
If I were the DM, and a campaign got to 14th level? I'd let this work in social situations. If it were used to abuse? I'd reel it back to RAW.
I agree with Spidey. I'm unsure of why Friends seems to avoid being described as charming the target. The flavour and even much of the mechanics very much seem to describe it as being a charm, but falls short of explicitly saying so. Either it's an oversight and RAI it should be counted as a charm, or they specifically wanted to avoid it, perhaps, being a cantrip, it would be OP when combined with spells and abilities like Alter Memories?
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Well, yes - it's a rules question, so I answered by the rules. That said, in the past I've mentioned it when there appears to be a common willingness to houserule something and I could have done so here too, I think. In practice I'd suggest Enchantment wizards might not rely too much on Friends anymore once past 14th level - just go for Charm Person or the like when it matters - but it's obviously an option regardless and probably not problematic in conjunction with Alter Memory. And in any case, rule zero applies. If you want to change something, go for it; if it doesn't work out you can always reverse the houserule, it's hardly going to be catastrophic if you try something like this and find out it's not quite what you thought it would.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
I think it's because it's charm-lite. It's a cantrip so you have forever access to it and as a cantrip that affects other people, it has zero saving throw. So it's going to work, it's just going to have pretty instant consequences. Honestly, RAI, I think it's also intended to be this way. Saying the creature is charmed prevents other things from a mechanical standpoint as well so I understand why as a cantrip they specifically didn't say it imposes the charm condition.