That you're coming out intentionally, 10ft ain't a big thing. You lower yourself down, and it's only really 5ft drop, which is nothing. If you fell, then that would be different. That would be my call. Depending on how strict I am, I might call for an athletics check to ensure.you held onto something, but you could easily lower yourself below ten feet, then you don't qualify for damage anyway.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
So, with Rope Trick... you're only at risk of dropping out of it if someone dispels the Rope Trick or if you willingly stay inside for its full duration. Otherwise you would have the option to just climb out down the length of the rope until you come safely back to solid ground.
However, if you're the full 60 feet up and the spell ends... you better have Feather Fall handy because you and everyone/everything in the rope trick is going to drop out of the empty space that it no longer occupies and then fall 60 feet to hit whatever's below you. Although if you want to get tricky with it, you could probably use this to set up some pretty elaborate traps.
I tend to agree with you all... though whether coming out of the space intentionally or a 10ft wall intentionally should probably be treated the same provided the distance of decent is the same.
Drop/fall is the same thing, but as you've all said, you can always lower yourself down and minus your height from the distance from space to floor.
Plus... there's a rope that can be used, reducing the fall/drop more or completely.
The Bag of Holding says that if you put it in an extradimensional space created by an item, it destroys both items and rips open a gate to the Astral Plane. Rope Trick isn't an item. If it were treated as such, characters with bags of holding would never be able to teleport, or travel in and out of demiplanes or other planes.
Intentional movement would be like a jump without the need of a running start. If you can jump 10 ft, then you can drop 10 ft without damage.
Falling is a mostly unintentional consequence of something. The spell was dispelled, for example. In this case, it'd be a fall: 1d6 dmg.
While the latter is RAW the former might be a houserule. Unfortunately the mechanics of "jump" in relation to movement is rather incomplete, leaving "drop" a complete ambiguity. Check with DM.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Am I right in saying I can't have a bag of Holding and then enter into the space that rope trick makes?
Otherwise my campaign is over?
Wording of bag of holding: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane.
Highlighted the key word. Item. The extra dimensional space of Rope Trick (and other spells) is created by a spell not an item. So, there's no conflict here. All fine.
Also: even if this event happened it's not an end to the campaign. It doesn't do any damage, just sends you to the Astral Plane. Pick a plane, float in a direction for 1d4 × 10 hours and you find the portal to that plane.
The astral plane is specifically detailed as a means of safer travel between planes - it's not a prison and is actually easier and safer to traverse than the material plane your campaign is probably on. It is, at worst, a minor inconvenience.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Am I right in saying I can't have a bag of Holding and then enter into the space that rope trick makes?
Otherwise my campaign is over?
Wording of bag of holding: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane.
Highlighted the key word. Item. The extra dimensional space of Rope Trick (and other spells) is created by a spell not an item. So, there's no conflict here. All fine.
Also: even if this event happened it's not an end to the campaign. It doesn't do any damage, just sends you to the Astral Plane. Pick a plane, float in a direction for 1d4 × 10 hours and you find the portal to that plane.
The astral plane is specifically detailed as a means of safer travel between planes - it's not a prison and is actually easier and safer to traverse than the material plane your campaign is probably on. It is, at worst, a minor inconvenience.
Oh, that's pretty cool then!
So if I got sucked in and my party did not, how would I get back to them? I do what you said above, and then what? If I float towards the material plane, where my campaign is, where do I pop out?
Am I right in saying I can't have a bag of Holding and then enter into the space that rope trick makes?
Otherwise my campaign is over?
Wording of bag of holding: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane.
Highlighted the key word. Item. The extra dimensional space of Rope Trick (and other spells) is created by a spell not an item. So, there's no conflict here. All fine.
Also: even if this event happened it's not an end to the campaign. It doesn't do any damage, just sends you to the Astral Plane. Pick a plane, float in a direction for 1d4 × 10 hours and you find the portal to that plane.
The astral plane is specifically detailed as a means of safer travel between planes - it's not a prison and is actually easier and safer to traverse than the material plane your campaign is probably on. It is, at worst, a minor inconvenience.
Oh, that's pretty cool then!
So if I got sucked in and my party did not, how would I get back to them? I do what you said above, and then what? If I float towards the material plane, where my campaign is, where do I pop out?
Am I right in saying I can't have a bag of Holding and then enter into the space that rope trick makes?
Otherwise my campaign is over?
Wording of bag of holding: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane.
Highlighted the key word. Item. The extra dimensional space of Rope Trick (and other spells) is created by a spell not an item. So, there's no conflict here. All fine.
Also: even if this event happened it's not an end to the campaign. It doesn't do any damage, just sends you to the Astral Plane. Pick a plane, float in a direction for 1d4 × 10 hours and you find the portal to that plane.
The astral plane is specifically detailed as a means of safer travel between planes - it's not a prison and is actually easier and safer to traverse than the material plane your campaign is probably on. It is, at worst, a minor inconvenience.
Oh, that's pretty cool then!
So if I got sucked in and my party did not, how would I get back to them? I do what you said above, and then what? If I float towards the material plane, where my campaign is, where do I pop out?
Is there any way of knowing?
It would be random and determined by the DM. Who, really, would enable you to find a way back to your friends.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Hi all,
How does fall damage work with rope trick?
From my understanding, fall damage starts from 10ft. But is this still the case if I used rope trick and DROP out?
Does the use of the word drop instead of fall mean I can land from higher, or no?
"Drop" is not a game specific term, which means it should be interpreted according to common English usage.
Ergo, dropping is mechanically no different than falling.
It would be your DM's judgement.
That you're coming out intentionally, 10ft ain't a big thing. You lower yourself down, and it's only really 5ft drop, which is nothing. If you fell, then that would be different. That would be my call. Depending on how strict I am, I might call for an athletics check to ensure.you held onto something, but you could easily lower yourself below ten feet, then you don't qualify for damage anyway.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
So, with Rope Trick... you're only at risk of dropping out of it if someone dispels the Rope Trick or if you willingly stay inside for its full duration. Otherwise you would have the option to just climb out down the length of the rope until you come safely back to solid ground.
However, if you're the full 60 feet up and the spell ends... you better have Feather Fall handy because you and everyone/everything in the rope trick is going to drop out of the empty space that it no longer occupies and then fall 60 feet to hit whatever's below you. Although if you want to get tricky with it, you could probably use this to set up some pretty elaborate traps.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Thanks for the replies everyone!
I tend to agree with you all... though whether coming out of the space intentionally or a 10ft wall intentionally should probably be treated the same provided the distance of decent is the same.
Drop/fall is the same thing, but as you've all said, you can always lower yourself down and minus your height from the distance from space to floor.
Plus... there's a rope that can be used, reducing the fall/drop more or completely.
I appreciate the replies folks!
On the topic of Rope Trick.
Am I right in saying I can't have a bag of Holding and then enter into the space that rope trick makes?
Otherwise my campaign is over?
The Bag of Holding says that if you put it in an extradimensional space created by an item, it destroys both items and rips open a gate to the Astral Plane. Rope Trick isn't an item. If it were treated as such, characters with bags of holding would never be able to teleport, or travel in and out of demiplanes or other planes.
Intentional movement would be like a jump without the need of a running start. If you can jump 10 ft, then you can drop 10 ft without damage.
Falling is a mostly unintentional consequence of something. The spell was dispelled, for example. In this case, it'd be a fall: 1d6 dmg.
While the latter is RAW the former might be a houserule. Unfortunately the mechanics of "jump" in relation to movement is rather incomplete, leaving "drop" a complete ambiguity. Check with DM.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Cheers folks
Wording of bag of holding: Placing a bag of holding inside an extradimensional space created by a handy haversack, portable hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane.
Highlighted the key word. Item. The extra dimensional space of Rope Trick (and other spells) is created by a spell not an item. So, there's no conflict here. All fine.
Also: even if this event happened it's not an end to the campaign. It doesn't do any damage, just sends you to the Astral Plane. Pick a plane, float in a direction for 1d4 × 10 hours and you find the portal to that plane.
The astral plane is specifically detailed as a means of safer travel between planes - it's not a prison and is actually easier and safer to traverse than the material plane your campaign is probably on. It is, at worst, a minor inconvenience.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Oh, that's pretty cool then!
So if I got sucked in and my party did not, how would I get back to them?
I do what you said above, and then what?
If I float towards the material plane, where my campaign is, where do I pop out?
Is there any way of knowing?
It would be random and determined by the DM. Who, really, would enable you to find a way back to your friends.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Gotcha