Counterspell is pretty evil. Especially when it is used on a healing spell...
Counterspelling my revivify spell, has killed 4 characters in campaigns I’ve been a part of…
Meh. That's why you should just drop an ongoing damage effect on downed PCs. Hunger of Hadar is excellent for that purpose -- block vision so no healing word, tics damage twice per turn so failed death checks scroll by really fast.
the most evil spell in the whole list isn'T int he whole list...
Counterspell is the most evil spell in existence. everything else can be avoided in some ways, but counterspell just shuts off any chances at doing a good turn unless you are backed up by other counterspell'er to protect you. its literally the most evil spell in existence for a DM who is now forced to make bad guys able to cast 2 spells in a row just to get that satisfaction.
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip. so you just stood there doing nothing for your turn as a bad guy. the same is true for players which are forced to have the same effect on them meaning they lose entire turns just doing nothing. big 9th level spell going off... nope countered... bad guys doing 9th level spell, nope countered as well... just the most jerk spell in existence and anyone who actually played that game knows what im talking about. if you want an exemple... just look at the bbeg fight at the end of critical role campaign one where vecna couldn'T even cast a single spell the entirety of the fight because the bard was literally only countering his every moves.
up to this point i was thinking, yeah just counter his counter, but the truth is, you can only cast a cantrip after casting a spell of 1st level and higher, so there is no way that can work.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM of two gaming groups. Likes to create stuff. Check out my homebrew --> Monsters --> Magical Items --> Races --> Subclasses If you like --> Upvote, If you wanna comment --> Comment
Play by Post Games --> One Shot Adventure - House of Artwood (DM) (Completed)
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip.
There is no such rule. You can absolutely cast 2 or even more spells on your turn. Even leveled spells. The only restriction happens when and only when you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action. But you can absolutely counterspell the counterspell targeting you while you cast a different spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip.
There is no such rule. You can absolutely cast 2 or even more spells on your turn. Even leveled spells. The only restriction happens when and only when you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action. But you can absolutely counterspell the counterspell targeting you while you cast a different spell.
so, say i cast fireball as an action and then cast fireball as a bonus action... i'm fine doing so ? after all, i casted as an action first so the rule on bonus action doesn't apply right ? there is a consensus by people that the rules was meant for sorcerers being the only ones who can cast two spells in a turn thanks to meta magic, but the consensus is that RAI you just cannot cast two leveled spells ina row. the second spell is always a cantrip.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM of two gaming groups. Likes to create stuff. Check out my homebrew --> Monsters --> Magical Items --> Races --> Subclasses If you like --> Upvote, If you wanna comment --> Comment
Play by Post Games --> One Shot Adventure - House of Artwood (DM) (Completed)
I am afraid I need a definition of Evil for this purpose.
Same thing here. I agree that Cure Wounds, and pretty much any spell to be honest, can be used as a tool for murder, malevolence, or villainy. Whether it's due to certain groups of creatures or organizations using them malevolently, their innate nature being a thousand times more useful for certain purposes rather than others, or both, some spells are typically used for harmful purposes.
That being said. I'm not sure if this makes the spell evil. As you said, it depends on the definition we're using and naturally varies a ton from source to source, person to person, and website to website. This is the good old fashioned moral conundrum of "Is a sword evil or is it the wielder instead?" And ultimately, spells are another type of tool, just like a sword, an axe, or even a dead fish, rake, or hose. Whether or not some of these equipment are typically used for more nefarious purposes then others, literally everything - once again - depends on the definition we use.
However, my guess is that the OP was either referring to which spells are usually used in the most cruel manners possible, or which spells have the potential to be used in the most evil ways (such as Heat Metal, which is one of the spells that basically tortures people in Heavy Armor for up to 5 or 10 minutes as they die a slow and excruciating pain, unless the caster's concentration is disrupted).
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip.
There is no such rule. You can absolutely cast 2 or even more spells on your turn. Even leveled spells. The only restriction happens when and only when you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action. But you can absolutely counterspell the counterspell targeting you while you cast a different spell.
so, say i cast fireball as an action and then cast fireball as a bonus action... i'm fine doing so ? after all, i casted as an action first so the rule on bonus action doesn't apply right ?
No, if you use your action to cast a leveled spell it means you can't cast a spell using your bonus action that round.
there is a consensus by people that the rules was meant for sorcerers being the only ones who can cast two spells in a turn thanks to meta magic, but the consensus is that RAI you just cannot cast two leveled spells ina row. the second spell is always a cantrip.
Citation needed. There are many spells that already have a casting time of a bonus action: Misty Step, Healing Word, the various Smite spells... The rule was definitely not meant just for sorcerers.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Ohhh I forgot the duration. Well I am rule zero on this one. The BBEG gets to make it permanent. It is also on self and I was using it on a player or target. Lol DMs am I right! (Knee slap)
I know it needs the modify memory or detect thoughts to be modified. I was doing that too just didn't mention it here.
Alright well it isn't as screwy as I thought. Thanks for modifying my memory. Ah-hahagaha
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip.
There is no such rule. You can absolutely cast 2 or even more spells on your turn. Even leveled spells. The only restriction happens when and only when you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action. But you can absolutely counterspell the counterspell targeting you while you cast a different spell.
so, say i cast fireball as an action and then cast fireball as a bonus action... i'm fine doing so ? after all, i casted as an action first so the rule on bonus action doesn't apply right ?
No, if you use your action to cast a leveled spell it means you can't cast a spell using your bonus action that round.
there is a consensus by people that the rules was meant for sorcerers being the only ones who can cast two spells in a turn thanks to meta magic, but the consensus is that RAI you just cannot cast two leveled spells ina row. the second spell is always a cantrip.
Citation needed. There are many spells that already have a casting time of a bonus action: Misty Step, Healing Word, the various Smite spells... The rule was definitely not meant just for sorcerers.
just saying, there is a whole debate on that ruling in another thread, prooves that not everyone understands what it is, even by the wording.
by the wording along, the rules only applies if you cast a bonus action spell first. but imnot gonna bring that topic here... just to tell you that in most games you just can't cast a second leveled spell in a turn. but its your game you do what you want.
as for the rest, i wouldn't count level 8 and 9 spells into the mix, they are pretty brutal and thats why nobody ever let them happen, they just counter them all. after all they are miracle spell level, like godl-like level spells.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM of two gaming groups. Likes to create stuff. Check out my homebrew --> Monsters --> Magical Items --> Races --> Subclasses If you like --> Upvote, If you wanna comment --> Comment
Play by Post Games --> One Shot Adventure - House of Artwood (DM) (Completed)
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip.
There is no such rule. You can absolutely cast 2 or even more spells on your turn. Even leveled spells. The only restriction happens when and only when you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action. But you can absolutely counterspell the counterspell targeting you while you cast a different spell.
so, say i cast fireball as an action and then cast fireball as a bonus action... i'm fine doing so ? after all, i casted as an action first so the rule on bonus action doesn't apply right ?
No, if you use your action to cast a leveled spell it means you can't cast a spell using your bonus action that round.
there is a consensus by people that the rules was meant for sorcerers being the only ones who can cast two spells in a turn thanks to meta magic, but the consensus is that RAI you just cannot cast two leveled spells ina row. the second spell is always a cantrip.
Citation needed. There are many spells that already have a casting time of a bonus action: Misty Step, Healing Word, the various Smite spells... The rule was definitely not meant just for sorcerers.
just saying, there is a whole debate on that ruling in another thread, prooves that not everyone understands what it is, even by the wording.
by the wording along, the rules only applies if you cast a bonus action spell first.
The fact that rules lawyers want something to be a certain way isn't proof that it's intended to be that way, and the book does not say that it only applies if the bonus action spell is cast first, that's just wishful thinking by people who are trying to argue that the answer to 1+2 is different from the answer to 2+1.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
by the wording along, the rules only applies if you cast a bonus action spell first.
The rule is "You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action". Nothing about that wording specifies order, so it comes down to whether you interpret the rule as a status effect that is applied when you cast the bonus action spell, or a general statement about what's possible in a turn.
Counterspelling my revivify spell, has killed 4 characters in campaigns I’ve been a part of…
Meh. That's why you should just drop an ongoing damage effect on downed PCs. Hunger of Hadar is excellent for that purpose -- block vision so no healing word, tics damage twice per turn so failed death checks scroll by really fast.
the most evil spell in the whole list isn'T int he whole list...
Counterspell is the most evil spell in existence. everything else can be avoided in some ways, but counterspell just shuts off any chances at doing a good turn unless you are backed up by other counterspell'er to protect you. its literally the most evil spell in existence for a DM who is now forced to make bad guys able to cast 2 spells in a row just to get that satisfaction.
your caster cast a spell, nope the players say no you dont as they cast counterspell, you try to counterspell it yourself and then they say, no your second spell of the turn can only be a cantrip. so you just stood there doing nothing for your turn as a bad guy. the same is true for players which are forced to have the same effect on them meaning they lose entire turns just doing nothing. big 9th level spell going off... nope countered... bad guys doing 9th level spell, nope countered as well... just the most jerk spell in existence and anyone who actually played that game knows what im talking about. if you want an exemple... just look at the bbeg fight at the end of critical role campaign one where vecna couldn'T even cast a single spell the entirety of the fight because the bard was literally only countering his every moves.
up to this point i was thinking, yeah just counter his counter, but the truth is, you can only cast a cantrip after casting a spell of 1st level and higher, so there is no way that can work.
DM of two gaming groups.
Likes to create stuff.
Check out my homebrew --> Monsters --> Magical Items --> Races --> Subclasses
If you like --> Upvote, If you wanna comment --> Comment
Play by Post Games
--> One Shot Adventure - House of Artwood (DM) (Completed)
There is no such rule. You can absolutely cast 2 or even more spells on your turn. Even leveled spells. The only restriction happens when and only when you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action. But you can absolutely counterspell the counterspell targeting you while you cast a different spell.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
so, say i cast fireball as an action and then cast fireball as a bonus action... i'm fine doing so ? after all, i casted as an action first so the rule on bonus action doesn't apply right ?
there is a consensus by people that the rules was meant for sorcerers being the only ones who can cast two spells in a turn thanks to meta magic, but the consensus is that RAI you just cannot cast two leveled spells ina row. the second spell is always a cantrip.
DM of two gaming groups.
Likes to create stuff.
Check out my homebrew --> Monsters --> Magical Items --> Races --> Subclasses
If you like --> Upvote, If you wanna comment --> Comment
Play by Post Games
--> One Shot Adventure - House of Artwood (DM) (Completed)
Same thing here. I agree that Cure Wounds, and pretty much any spell to be honest, can be used as a tool for murder, malevolence, or villainy. Whether it's due to certain groups of creatures or organizations using them malevolently, their innate nature being a thousand times more useful for certain purposes rather than others, or both, some spells are typically used for harmful purposes.
That being said. I'm not sure if this makes the spell evil. As you said, it depends on the definition we're using and naturally varies a ton from source to source, person to person, and website to website. This is the good old fashioned moral conundrum of "Is a sword evil or is it the wielder instead?" And ultimately, spells are another type of tool, just like a sword, an axe, or even a dead fish, rake, or hose. Whether or not some of these equipment are typically used for more nefarious purposes then others, literally everything - once again - depends on the definition we use.
However, my guess is that the OP was either referring to which spells are usually used in the most cruel manners possible, or which spells have the potential to be used in the most evil ways (such as Heat Metal, which is one of the spells that basically tortures people in Heavy Armor for up to 5 or 10 minutes as they die a slow and excruciating pain, unless the caster's concentration is disrupted).
BoringBard's long and tedious posts somehow manage to enrapture audiences. How? Because he used Charm Person, the #1 bard spell!
He/him pronouns. Call me Bard. PROUD NERD!
Ever wanted to talk about your parties' worst mistakes? Do so HERE. What's your favorite class, why? Share & explain
HERE.No, if you use your action to cast a leveled spell it means you can't cast a spell using your bonus action that round.
Citation needed. There are many spells that already have a casting time of a bonus action: Misty Step, Healing Word, the various Smite spells... The rule was definitely not meant just for sorcerers.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Feeblemind can be pretty evil. It suffers a bit from the int being so low that they don't understand how bad things are. But still quite nasty. 😅
Also, true polymorphing someone into an object can be really wicked.
Finland GMT/UTC +2
Ohhh I forgot the duration. Well I am rule zero on this one. The BBEG gets to make it permanent. It is also on self and I was using it on a player or target. Lol DMs am I right! (Knee slap)
I know it needs the modify memory or detect thoughts to be modified. I was doing that too just didn't mention it here.
Alright well it isn't as screwy as I thought. Thanks for modifying my memory. Ah-hahagaha
"Life is Cast by Random Dice"
Burn my candle twice.
I have done my life justice
Against random dice.
just saying, there is a whole debate on that ruling in another thread, prooves that not everyone understands what it is, even by the wording.
by the wording along, the rules only applies if you cast a bonus action spell first.
but imnot gonna bring that topic here... just to tell you that in most games you just can't cast a second leveled spell in a turn.
but its your game you do what you want.
as for the rest, i wouldn't count level 8 and 9 spells into the mix, they are pretty brutal and thats why nobody ever let them happen, they just counter them all.
after all they are miracle spell level, like godl-like level spells.
DM of two gaming groups.
Likes to create stuff.
Check out my homebrew --> Monsters --> Magical Items --> Races --> Subclasses
If you like --> Upvote, If you wanna comment --> Comment
Play by Post Games
--> One Shot Adventure - House of Artwood (DM) (Completed)
The fact that rules lawyers want something to be a certain way isn't proof that it's intended to be that way, and the book does not say that it only applies if the bonus action spell is cast first, that's just wishful thinking by people who are trying to argue that the answer to 1+2 is different from the answer to 2+1.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
The rule is "You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action". Nothing about that wording specifies order, so it comes down to whether you interpret the rule as a status effect that is applied when you cast the bonus action spell, or a general statement about what's possible in a turn.
Feeblemind. I had a whole discussion with my brother about this last night.
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature