If a Druid Wild Shape into a creature of larger size and end up occupying the same space as other creatures in a room, , they would simply share spaces. They rules for Moving Around Other Creatures can't willingly end your move in its space, which isn't the case here, otherwise shared occupation is possible. But the DM could always rule such creatures are considered to Squeezing into a Smaller Space in this way.
In addition to the previous commenter who provided some great information, I would like to also add:
If there is literally no space for the creature and whatever else is in the room, and they are crushed against the walls, floors and ceilings along with whatever is expanding in size, then some damage will probably be dealt out, maybe with some saving throws to give creatures a chance to escape the room if there is a way out. I'd probably look at the Improvising Damage rules from the DMG for how to handle that, the example being "Crushed by compacting walls..." since in a way whatever is in the room is being compacted against the walls by whatever creature is expanding in size to fill it.
If the creature was expanding to a size that exceeds the size of the room, I'd use the improvised damage table to figure out the damage being dealt to the room itself, and then decide how strong the walls are using Statistics for Objects... until the room starts to cave in, at which point I'm back to calculating damage from the Improvising Damage rules, this time using the "Hit by falling rubble in a collapsing tunnel..." as an example.
We can even start adding in suffocation rules if the room isn't destroyed, and the creatures trapped within are alive, but are still crushed against the walls, thus impacting their ability to breathe, along with whatever wildshaped since their would be no room for them to breathe either.
Then, to add in more complication, what if the creature that wildshaped drops to 0 HP from being compacted against the walls, and reverts back to its original size? Unless the room is collapsing, everything should be fine except for all of the damage they may have caused to the other creatures in the room from being crushed in that moment. I think we'd have to be careful there, because it could become a tactic to send in the druid, who then expands to fill the entire room, killing or damaging everything inside except for itself since it would just revert back to normal when hitting zero HP. But those would probably be edge cases where the room would actually have to be small enough to do that.
However, I could also lean on rulings for Enlarge/Reduce, specifically where it states, "...If there isn't enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available." So as the DM I'd rule that someone could only wildshape into a size that would fit the area given.
You could also look at another spell like Dimension Door as well, specifically where it states, "If you would arrive in a place already occupied by an object or a creature, you and any creature traveling with you each take (4d6) force damage, and the spell fails to teleport you." While I'd be less likely to rule that if you wildshaped into something larger than the area given that it would fail, causing you (4d6) force damage in the process, at least this is another point of reference when figuring out how something like this might work. I might just say that the wildshape fails since there is no room to accommodate the creature.
In the end, if I wanted to keep it easy, I'd probably let the player know that if they wildshape into something larger than the room itself while it's also being occupied by other creatures, it could potentially cause everybody to die, just from being crushed against the walls, ceiling, and floors, while they will just revert back into their original form. Their character would know this is very deadly thing to do, but I'd still let the player decide how they would want to handle it with the option of it working out like Enlarge/Reduce; so the wildshape will still work, but they won't become the actual size of whatever they are wildshaping into, just large enough to fill the space given. For example, if they are trying to wildshape into a huge sized creature, but there is only room for a large, then the size of the creature they become is only large, but everything else would work the same way (given that there will be some edge cases that would need an on the spot ruling). If the player still chooses to wildshape into something larger than the room itself while putting everybody in danger, and if none of the other party members talk them out of it, then I'd let the dice finish their stories from there.
The important thing to keep in mind is that a creature's space is the area in feet that it effectively controls in combat, not an expression of its physical dimensions. A typical Medium creature isn't 5 feet wide, for example, but it does control a space that wide.
In general, if there's not enough room for a shapeshifter to fit into a space, it either breaks through that space (if possible) or can't transformer (if not).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So...
What would happen if you wild shaped or polymorphed into a creature roughly the same size as the room your in?
What would happen to others in that room?
Would armour class affect things?
What if the creature was bigger than the room?
If a Druid Wild Shape into a creature of larger size and end up occupying the same space as other creatures in a room, , they would simply share spaces. They rules for Moving Around Other Creatures can't willingly end your move in its space, which isn't the case here, otherwise shared occupation is possible. But the DM could always rule such creatures are considered to Squeezing into a Smaller Space in this way.
If the creature was expanding to a size that exceeds the size of the room, I'd use the improvised damage table to figure out the damage being dealt to the room itself, and then decide how strong the walls are using Statistics for Objects... until the room starts to cave in, at which point I'm back to calculating damage from the Improvising Damage rules, this time using the "Hit by falling rubble in a collapsing tunnel..." as an example.
We can even start adding in suffocation rules if the room isn't destroyed, and the creatures trapped within are alive, but are still crushed against the walls, thus impacting their ability to breathe, along with whatever wildshaped since their would be no room for them to breathe either.
Then, to add in more complication, what if the creature that wildshaped drops to 0 HP from being compacted against the walls, and reverts back to its original size? Unless the room is collapsing, everything should be fine except for all of the damage they may have caused to the other creatures in the room from being crushed in that moment. I think we'd have to be careful there, because it could become a tactic to send in the druid, who then expands to fill the entire room, killing or damaging everything inside except for itself since it would just revert back to normal when hitting zero HP. But those would probably be edge cases where the room would actually have to be small enough to do that.
However, I could also lean on rulings for Enlarge/Reduce, specifically where it states, "...If there isn't enough room for the target to double its size, the creature or object attains the maximum possible size in the space available." So as the DM I'd rule that someone could only wildshape into a size that would fit the area given.
You could also look at another spell like Dimension Door as well, specifically where it states, "If you would arrive in a place already occupied by an object or a creature, you and any creature traveling with you each take (4d6) force damage, and the spell fails to teleport you." While I'd be less likely to rule that if you wildshaped into something larger than the area given that it would fail, causing you (4d6) force damage in the process, at least this is another point of reference when figuring out how something like this might work. I might just say that the wildshape fails since there is no room to accommodate the creature.
In the end, if I wanted to keep it easy, I'd probably let the player know that if they wildshape into something larger than the room itself while it's also being occupied by other creatures, it could potentially cause everybody to die, just from being crushed against the walls, ceiling, and floors, while they will just revert back into their original form. Their character would know this is very deadly thing to do, but I'd still let the player decide how they would want to handle it with the option of it working out like Enlarge/Reduce; so the wildshape will still work, but they won't become the actual size of whatever they are wildshaping into, just large enough to fill the space given. For example, if they are trying to wildshape into a huge sized creature, but there is only room for a large, then the size of the creature they become is only large, but everything else would work the same way (given that there will be some edge cases that would need an on the spot ruling). If the player still chooses to wildshape into something larger than the room itself while putting everybody in danger, and if none of the other party members talk them out of it, then I'd let the dice finish their stories from there.
The important thing to keep in mind is that a creature's space is the area in feet that it effectively controls in combat, not an expression of its physical dimensions. A typical Medium creature isn't 5 feet wide, for example, but it does control a space that wide.
In general, if there's not enough room for a shapeshifter to fit into a space, it either breaks through that space (if possible) or can't transformer (if not).
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.