There were some changes to the spells you can cast on your turn in combat. This seems to be to close some loop-holes and combos like taking a few levels of fighter for action surge to cast say 2 fireballs in one turn, or to limit using quickened spell to only casting a cantrip plus one other leveled spell per turn.
The new rules say you can only cast one spell using a spell slot per turn.
The question that is coming up in our group is what does this mean for spells as reactions like shield and counterspell.
If I cast a spell using a spell slot on my characters turn and then in the next player, NPC, or monsters turn they cast a spell, or I get attacked, can I use my reaction to cast shield or counterspell? I think the confusion is coming down to what a turn is vs what a round is. I can only cast one spell using a spell slot on MY turn, but I can still use a reaction on someone elses turn to cast a spell using a spell slot if I have my reaction and the spell being cast has a casting time of 1 reaciton correct?
Otherwise the only way to ever effectively use shield or counterspell would be to never cast spells that require slots during your turn.
Thank you for any feedback on what you can and cannot do as far as casting spells on your turn and on other's turns using spell slots and reactions.
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Linklite is correct. On the caster’s turn they can cast one spell with a slot. If it is a bonus action cast they can also use their action for casting a cantrip (not sure if there are any BA cantrips that would allow a spell slot spell cast as an action). And spells that don’t use slots work as well so if you can cast Misty Step or other leveled spell as a BA without a slot (like through species or class feature) you can still cast a spell with a slot as your action (or vice versa). So you can cast two leveled spells this way.
On other creatures turns you can also cast a spell with a slot, like shield or counterspell, like you mentioned.
A creature’s turn ends when the next creature in initiative order begins their turn. (A round consists of each creature taking their turn before the initiative order returns to a creature.) So, once you’ve completed your turn and the combat has moved on to another creature’s turn, you’re free to use your reaction to cast any spells using a spell slot, regardless of whether you cast a spell with a spell slot during your turn.
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
Per turn is per round and unless it states differently in the description it's always your turn.
As with everything else that is not specifically addressed to the letter, people just come up with their own definitions. If for some reason people think once per turn doesn't just mean your turn it can mean your comrades, I'd like to you copy and paste where it specifically says that in the PHB. Barring that, then a tweet from Crawford will do.
The game organizes combat into a cycle of rounds and turns. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a round, each participant in a battle takes a turn. The order of turns is determined at the beginning of combat when everyone rolls Initiative. Once everyone has taken a turn, the fight continues to the next round if neither side is defeated.
...
Take Turns. Each participant in the battle takes a turn in Initiative order. When everyone involved in the combat has had a turn, the round ends.
A typical combat encounter is a clash between two sides, a flurry of weapon swings, feints, parries, footwork, and spellcasting. The game organizes the chaos of combat into a cycle of rounds and turns. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a round, each participant in a battle takes a turn. The order of turns is determined at the beginning of a combat encounter, when everyone rolls initiative. Once everyone has taken a turn, the fight continues to the next round if neither side has defeated the other.
Yes the Order of Combat each person gets their turn to act per round and it starts over once everyone has taken their turn, if they survived. Are you confused with the term, "Turn"?
You do understand there are two definitions, right? Turn #1: means your action(s) in a round. Turn #2: 1 minute or ten rounds.
Where exactly is this supposed to contradict what I said?
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
Per turn is per round and unless it states differently in the description it's always your turn.
As with everything else that is not specifically addressed to the letter, people just come up with their own definitions. If for some reason people think once per turn doesn't just mean your turn it can mean your comrades, I'd like to you copy and paste where it specifically says that in the PHB. Barring that, then a tweet from Crawford will do.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Yes the Order of Combat each person gets their turn to act per round and it starts over once everyone has taken their turn, if they survived. Are you confused with the term, "Turn"?
You do understand there are two definitions, right? Turn #1: means your action(s) in a round. Turn #2: 1 minute or ten rounds.
Where exactly is this supposed to contradict what I said?
Where are you getting that second definition from? Last time I recall seeing "turn" used anything like that was 2e.
Also, even if it does exist in some context, perhaps overland travel, it's clearly not relevant to the combat rules. If that were the operative definition of turn, then you'd get one leveled spell every ten rounds. That is not the case.
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
Per turn is per round and unless it states differently in the description it's always your turn.
As with everything else that is not specifically addressed to the letter, people just come up with their own definitions. If for some reason people think once per turn doesn't just mean your turn it can mean your comrades, I'd like to you copy and paste where it specifically says that in the PHB. Barring that, then a tweet from Crawford will do.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
Per turn is per round and unless it states differently in the description it's always your turn.
As with everything else that is not specifically addressed to the letter, people just come up with their own definitions. If for some reason people think once per turn doesn't just mean your turn it can mean your comrades, I'd like to you copy and paste where it specifically says that in the PHB. Barring that, then a tweet from Crawford will do.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
Per turn is per round and unless it states differently in the description it's always your turn.
As with everything else that is not specifically addressed to the letter, people just come up with their own definitions. If for some reason people think once per turn doesn't just mean your turn it can mean your comrades, I'd like to you copy and paste where it specifically says that in the PHB. Barring that, then a tweet from Crawford will do.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
1 Round is 6 seconds, 10 rounds is 60 seconds It doesnt matter how many turns are in the round.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
The game term for “10 rounds” is “1 minute”. I’ve not heard of it being also called “a turn”.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
The game term for “10 rounds” is “1 minute”. I’ve not heard of it being also called “a turn”.
That dates back to 1e and maybe 2e but it's not a thing in 5e, which may be why MPA is confused and giving out misleading information.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
The game term for “10 rounds” is “1 minute”. I’ve not heard of it being also called “a turn”.
It was like that in AD&D. A round was one minute and a turn was ten rounds.
Yes the Order of Combat each person gets their turn to act per round and it starts over once everyone has taken their turn, if they survived. Are you confused with the term, "Turn"?
You do understand there are two definitions, right? Turn #1: means your action(s) in a round. Turn #2: 1 minute or ten rounds.
Where exactly is this supposed to contradict what I said?
I was confused by this and your initial post. It sounded like you were saying turn and round were the same thing. Then you said there were two definitions of turn. Which I don’t think there are, unless you can cite a source from one of the books.
The only definition of turn, as quoted by Vladimir, is what every creature in the initiative order gets to take during a round. And at each of those creature’s turn, including the casters, is an opportunity for a caster to cast a spell. Or a rogue to make a sneak attack, for example. As long as their action economy allows (reactions, opportunity attacks, etc)
You do understand there are two definitions, right? [Definition] #2: 1 minute or ten rounds.
Cite your source. That concept.does not appear in any of the core rule books currently released for 5e.
A Turn is the time slotted to you at the table in order to use your Action, Bonus Action and Speed (Reactions are possible but unlike the others are not constrained to being used on your Turn). You take turns taking your Turns according to the Initiative Order. The 2024PHB explains it here (and shortly after breaks down what you can do on your Turn):
If it's the Goblin's Turn, then I cannot use my Action. Why not? Because it's not my Turn yet. Or it's already been my Turn and it's ended. This distinction of Turns not being concurrent at the table is evidenced in the discussion of Reactions:
You can take Reactions "on your [T]urn or on someone else’s" - notice the "or". It's not always your Turn, it's your Turn, or it's someone else's. If it's always your Turn, then there would be no concept of "or someone else's".
I'm not sure where you're getting your second definition of "Turn" (that it means 1 minute or ten Rounds) from, but it's not in D&D5e. That's not even a meaningful unit in the game (as opposed to Rounds or Turns as defined by the game), and is certainly not the context for the limit of only spending one spell slot - that would be absurd that you could only spend one spell slot in the vast majority of combats.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Greetings,
There were some changes to the spells you can cast on your turn in combat. This seems to be to close some loop-holes and combos like taking a few levels of fighter for action surge to cast say 2 fireballs in one turn, or to limit using quickened spell to only casting a cantrip plus one other leveled spell per turn.
The new rules say you can only cast one spell using a spell slot per turn.
The question that is coming up in our group is what does this mean for spells as reactions like shield and counterspell.
If I cast a spell using a spell slot on my characters turn and then in the next player, NPC, or monsters turn they cast a spell, or I get attacked, can I use my reaction to cast shield or counterspell? I think the confusion is coming down to what a turn is vs what a round is. I can only cast one spell using a spell slot on MY turn, but I can still use a reaction on someone elses turn to cast a spell using a spell slot if I have my reaction and the spell being cast has a casting time of 1 reaciton correct?
Otherwise the only way to ever effectively use shield or counterspell would be to never cast spells that require slots during your turn.
Thank you for any feedback on what you can and cannot do as far as casting spells on your turn and on other's turns using spell slots and reactions.
It's per turn, not per round. You can cast one levelled spell on your turn, then the limit resets for the next person's turn, then the next person's...etc.
In practice, you only get one Reaction, so you can cast one levelled spell on your turn (including Reactions), then, if your Reaction is still available and provoked, you can cast a levelled spell with your Reaction as well after your turn ends.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Linklite is correct. On the caster’s turn they can cast one spell with a slot. If it is a bonus action cast they can also use their action for casting a cantrip (not sure if there are any BA cantrips that would allow a spell slot spell cast as an action). And spells that don’t use slots work as well so if you can cast Misty Step or other leveled spell as a BA without a slot (like through species or class feature) you can still cast a spell with a slot as your action (or vice versa). So you can cast two leveled spells this way.
On other creatures turns you can also cast a spell with a slot, like shield or counterspell, like you mentioned.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
A creature’s turn ends when the next creature in initiative order begins their turn. (A round consists of each creature taking their turn before the initiative order returns to a creature.) So, once you’ve completed your turn and the combat has moved on to another creature’s turn, you’re free to use your reaction to cast any spells using a spell slot, regardless of whether you cast a spell with a spell slot during your turn.
Per turn is per round and unless it states differently in the description it's always your turn.
As with everything else that is not specifically addressed to the letter, people just come up with their own definitions. If for some reason people think once per turn doesn't just mean your turn it can mean your comrades, I'd like to you copy and paste where it specifically says that in the PHB. Barring that, then a tweet from Crawford will do.
Per turn and per round are not the same thing. Linklite is correct.
Cite your source.
Chapter 1:
The Order of Combat
A typical combat encounter is a clash between two sides, a flurry of weapon swings, feints, parries, footwork, and spellcasting. The game organizes the chaos of combat into a cycle of rounds and turns. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a round, each participant in a battle takes a turn. The order of turns is determined at the beginning of a combat encounter, when everyone rolls initiative. Once everyone has taken a turn, the fight continues to the next round if neither side has defeated the other.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
Yes the Order of Combat each person gets their turn to act per round and it starts over once everyone has taken their turn, if they survived. Are you confused with the term, "Turn"?
You do understand there are two definitions, right? Turn #1: means your action(s) in a round. Turn #2: 1 minute or ten rounds.
Where exactly is this supposed to contradict what I said?
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
Where are you getting that second definition from? Last time I recall seeing "turn" used anything like that was 2e.
Also, even if it does exist in some context, perhaps overland travel, it's clearly not relevant to the combat rules. If that were the operative definition of turn, then you'd get one leveled spell every ten rounds. That is not the case.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
1 Round is 6 seconds, 10 rounds is 60 seconds It doesnt matter how many turns are in the round.
The game term for “10 rounds” is “1 minute”. I’ve not heard of it being also called “a turn”.
That dates back to 1e and maybe 2e but it's not a thing in 5e, which may be why MPA is confused and giving out misleading information.
It was like that in AD&D. A round was one minute and a turn was ten rounds.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I was confused by this and your initial post. It sounded like you were saying turn and round were the same thing. Then you said there were two definitions of turn. Which I don’t think there are, unless you can cite a source from one of the books.
The only definition of turn, as quoted by Vladimir, is what every creature in the initiative order gets to take during a round. And at each of those creature’s turn, including the casters, is an opportunity for a caster to cast a spell. Or a rogue to make a sneak attack, for example. As long as their action economy allows (reactions, opportunity attacks, etc)
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Cite your source. That concept.does not appear in any of the core rule books currently released for 5e.
A Turn is the time slotted to you at the table in order to use your Action, Bonus Action and Speed (Reactions are possible but unlike the others are not constrained to being used on your Turn). You take turns taking your Turns according to the Initiative Order. The 2024PHB explains it here (and shortly after breaks down what you can do on your Turn):
www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/phb-2024/playing-the-game#CombatStepbyStep
If it's the Goblin's Turn, then I cannot use my Action. Why not? Because it's not my Turn yet. Or it's already been my Turn and it's ended. This distinction of Turns not being concurrent at the table is evidenced in the discussion of Reactions:
www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/phb-2024/playing-the-game#Reactions
You can take Reactions "on your [T]urn or on someone else’s" - notice the "or". It's not always your Turn, it's your Turn, or it's someone else's. If it's always your Turn, then there would be no concept of "or someone else's".
I'm not sure where you're getting your second definition of "Turn" (that it means 1 minute or ten Rounds) from, but it's not in D&D5e. That's not even a meaningful unit in the game (as opposed to Rounds or Turns as defined by the game), and is certainly not the context for the limit of only spending one spell slot - that would be absurd that you could only spend one spell slot in the vast majority of combats.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.