Thank you everyone for the input. My group has come to a consensus on the topic and we have agreed with the majority of people posting here that you can cast a spell using a spell slot on your turn, and then also use a spell slot as a reaction on someone elses turn.
This post is confusing and I think this is leading to the issue. Can you clarify what you are trying to say? This reads as though per turn and per round are the same thing.
Per turn, meaning whatever actions you take on YOUR TURN in the round. Not turn as in 1 minute or 10 rounds.
Is that what you mean?
Yes
I have never heard the idea of 10 rounds being a turn. Is that somewhere in the PHB?
The game term for “10 rounds” is “1 minute”. I’ve not heard of it being also called “a turn”.
That dates back to 1e and maybe 2e but it's not a thing in 5e, which may be why MPA is confused and giving out misleading information.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
There very much is a difference. A turn is an individuals 6 seconds within a given round.
If an ability can be used once per Turn, then it can potentually be use multiple times within a Round. If an ability is limited to once per Round then it can only be used once reguardless of the number of turns. In the current thread we are looking at casting leveled spells. You can only cast One Leveled Spell per Turn doesn't not equate to One Leveled Spell per Round. Reactions allow you to do something on a Turn that is not your own such as taking advantage of a Reaction Spell or the Warcaster Feat to cast a Spell as part of an Attack of Opportunity.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing.
Yes, we are. And that is correct. During the round, everyone gets a turn. Your turn is only a small part of the round.
The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument.
You're the one who brought it up.
The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
Please cite your source for saying that Rounds and Turns are the same thing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Ok, so here's a parallel ruling that deals with does with the question of does "per turn" mean it resets each Turn taken or does it mean once per Round:
Sneak Attack is once per Turn, just like spending a spell slot in 2024e. The answer is...you can do so on each Turn, so multiple times per Round. You can Sneak Attack on your Turn as per usual, but because it's once per Turn (not per Round), if someone provokes an Attack of Opportunity, later on in the Round, then you can use Sneak Attack on that because it's a new Turn (even though it's not a new Round). This is also true of features like Commander's Strike that allow you to act on another person's Turn. Like I said in my first post, in practice this means you can do it twice per Round because you normally only get one Reaction (plus on your actual Turn).
So, no, per Turn is not synonymous with per Round. Yes, you can cast a levelled spell on your Turn, then cast another one as a Reaction (assuming you meet the requirements to do so).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
There very much is a difference. A turn is an individuals 6 seconds within a given round.
It's a distinction without a difference. It's all about what you do, on your turn, during the combat round. I don't understand how this is two pages of discussions.🤷🏿♂️
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
There very much is a difference. A turn is an individuals 6 seconds within a given round.
It's a distinction without a difference. It's all about what you do, on your turn, during the combat round. I don't understand how this is two pages of discussions.🤷🏿♂️
That part that you snipped explained it.
If an ability can be used once per Turn, then it can potentually be use multiple times within a Round. If an ability is limited to once per Round then it can only be used once reguardless of the number of turns. In the current thread we are looking at casting leveled spells. You can only cast One Leveled Spell per Turn doesn't not equate to One Leveled Spell per Round. Reactions allow you to do something on a Turn that is not your own such as taking advantage of a Reaction Spell or the Warcaster Feat to cast a Spell as part of an Attack of Opportunity.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
There very much is a difference. A turn is an individuals 6 seconds within a given round.
It's a distinction without a difference. It's all about what you do, on your turn, during the combat round.
No, it's a distinction with a difference. The difference is that you can act during somebody else's turn.
I don't understand how this is two pages of discussions.🤷🏿♂️
That's entirely on you, since you gave a bad answer and kept trying to defend it.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
There very much is a difference. A turn is an individuals 6 seconds within a given round.
It's a distinction without a difference. It's all about what you do, on your turn, during the combat round. I don't understand how this is two pages of discussions.🤷🏿♂️
That part that you snipped explained it.
If an ability can be used once per Turn, then it can potentually be use multiple times within a Round. If an ability is limited to once per Round then it can only be used once reguardless of the number of turns. In the current thread we are looking at casting leveled spells. You can only cast One Leveled Spell per Turn doesn't not equate to One Leveled Spell per Round. Reactions allow you to do something on a Turn that is not your own such as taking advantage of a Reaction Spell or the Warcaster Feat to cast a Spell as part of an Attack of Opportunity.
I clipped it because you are trying to muddy the waters. Just let it go and everyone move on.
If an ability can be used once per Turn, then it can potentually be use multiple times within a Round. If an ability is limited to once per Round then it can only be used once reguardless of the number of turns. In the current thread we are looking at casting leveled spells. You can only cast One Leveled Spell per Turn doesn't not equate to One Leveled Spell per Round. Reactions allow you to do something on a Turn that is not your own such as taking advantage of a Reaction Spell or the Warcaster Feat to cast a Spell as part of an Attack of Opportunity.
I clipped it because you are trying to muddy the waters. Just let it go and everyone move on.
The consensus of pretty much everyone, including the designers, is that "once per turn" does not mean the same as "once per round". This thread would've ended in like four posts if you hadn't kept insisting otherwise.
There's an understandable desire to not let the thread end with a bad answer, as it could trip up the next person with the question to come along.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
Well, I know it isn't much, but the poll at the top of the thread shows that most people seem to understand the rule at least.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
Well, I know it isn't much, but the poll at the top of the thread shows that most people seem to understand the rule at least.
what people think and what is actually true are different things quite a bit of the time. This argument has been going on since 5e released and it has never been clarified.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
Or it just means there's a small segment of people who don't follow the concepts as laid out in the books and also just turn around and make a new thread rather than search and see if the question has already been answered.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
The ruling has been made, per Turn means yes, you can use a feature on both your Turn and additionally using your Reaction. That's an official ruling, not just a Crawford-Tweet, and uses the plain reading of the principles set out in the rules. I guess they could organise it better so it's in the general section rather than tucked away under the explanation of a particular feature? But it's there, at least - and in official statement as well as in a much easier place to find than Twitter.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
The ruling has been made, per Turn means yes, you can use a feature on both your Turn and additionally using your Reaction. That's an official ruling, not just a Crawford-Tweet, and uses the plain reading of the principles set out in the rules. I guess they could organise it better so it's in the general section rather than tucked away under the explanation of a particular feature? But it's there, at least - and in official statement as well as in a much easier place to find than Twitter.
And, I believe it was in the UA videos where originally rogue sneak attack was changed to once a round but the feedback was against this and they changed it back to “per turn” so rogues, like spell slots per turn, could sneak attack on their turn and another creature’s turn, for things like OAs, in the same round.
Morollan and ThriKreenWarrior: thanks for the history lesson! That makes sense.
Thank you everyone for the input. My group has come to a consensus on the topic and we have agreed with the majority of people posting here that you can cast a spell using a spell slot on your turn, and then also use a spell slot as a reaction on someone elses turn.
I'm not giving out misinformation, you guys are the ones saying a per turn and per round is not the same thing. The side distraction of 10 rounds as a minute or called a turn in OSR, is irrelevant and wasn't my argument. The discussion is about something happening on your turn, meaning your actions in a round. There is no difference between saying "you can do blah blah once per turn" or "once per round". It's the same thing.
There very much is a difference. A turn is an individuals 6 seconds within a given round.
If an ability can be used once per Turn, then it can potentually be use multiple times within a Round. If an ability is limited to once per Round then it can only be used once reguardless of the number of turns. In the current thread we are looking at casting leveled spells. You can only cast One Leveled Spell per Turn doesn't not equate to One Leveled Spell per Round. Reactions allow you to do something on a Turn that is not your own such as taking advantage of a Reaction Spell or the Warcaster Feat to cast a Spell as part of an Attack of Opportunity.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
Yes, we are. And that is correct. During the round, everyone gets a turn. Your turn is only a small part of the round.
You're the one who brought it up.
As has already been quoted from the rulebook, this is not so.
Please cite your source for saying that Rounds and Turns are the same thing.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Ok, so here's a parallel ruling that deals with does with the question of does "per turn" mean it resets each Turn taken or does it mean once per Round:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA043
Sneak Attack is once per Turn, just like spending a spell slot in 2024e. The answer is...you can do so on each Turn, so multiple times per Round. You can Sneak Attack on your Turn as per usual, but because it's once per Turn (not per Round), if someone provokes an Attack of Opportunity, later on in the Round, then you can use Sneak Attack on that because it's a new Turn (even though it's not a new Round). This is also true of features like Commander's Strike that allow you to act on another person's Turn. Like I said in my first post, in practice this means you can do it twice per Round because you normally only get one Reaction (plus on your actual Turn).
So, no, per Turn is not synonymous with per Round. Yes, you can cast a levelled spell on your Turn, then cast another one as a Reaction (assuming you meet the requirements to do so).
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
It's a distinction without a difference. It's all about what you do, on your turn, during the combat round. I don't understand how this is two pages of discussions.🤷🏿♂️
That part that you snipped explained it.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
No, it's a distinction with a difference. The difference is that you can act during somebody else's turn.
That's entirely on you, since you gave a bad answer and kept trying to defend it.
I clipped it because you are trying to muddy the waters. Just let it go and everyone move on.
The consensus of pretty much everyone, including the designers, is that "once per turn" does not mean the same as "once per round". This thread would've ended in like four posts if you hadn't kept insisting otherwise.
There's an understandable desire to not let the thread end with a bad answer, as it could trip up the next person with the question to come along.
this is one things that crawford needs to come out and make a ruling with reactions. it has been asked multiple times and he has always jsut refered people to the rulebook. If people keep asking the quesiton then that means the rule isnt clear.
Well, I know it isn't much, but the poll at the top of the thread shows that most people seem to understand the rule at least.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
what people think and what is actually true are different things quite a bit of the time. This argument has been going on since 5e released and it has never been clarified.
Or it just means there's a small segment of people who don't follow the concepts as laid out in the books and also just turn around and make a new thread rather than search and see if the question has already been answered.
The ruling has been made, per Turn means yes, you can use a feature on both your Turn and additionally using your Reaction. That's an official ruling, not just a Crawford-Tweet, and uses the plain reading of the principles set out in the rules. I guess they could organise it better so it's in the general section rather than tucked away under the explanation of a particular feature? But it's there, at least - and in official statement as well as in a much easier place to find than Twitter.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
And, I believe it was in the UA videos where originally rogue sneak attack was changed to once a round but the feedback was against this and they changed it back to “per turn” so rogues, like spell slots per turn, could sneak attack on their turn and another creature’s turn, for things like OAs, in the same round.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?