Reading the description of skeletons, I'd say yes but only if the necromancer commands them to do it. The necromancer wouldn't have to use his action to order the skeleton to cast the spell, but would have to issue a verbal command.
It'd be up to the DM. Once could argue that since skeletons don't sleep, they can't rest (which is when attunement takes place). Also, under attunement it says that the DM decides what happens when a nonhumanoid tries to attune to a magic item. In the hypothetical situation where the necromancer wants to have his undead army attune to magic items, as a DM I wouldn't allow it.
It'd be up to the DM. Once could argue that since skeletons don't sleep, they can't rest (which is when attunement takes place). Also, under attunement it says that the DM decides what happens when a nonhumanoid tries to attune to a magic item. In the hypothetical situation where the necromancer wants to have his undead army attune to magic items, as a DM I wouldn't allow it.
Where does it say Skeletons don't sleep? They don't need to sleep, being immune to exhaustion, but they certainly can rest, and gain HPs while doing so. =)
A long rest does not require sleeping. Elves don't sleep either, remember. And all creatures, every single one, can take a rest and spend hit dice (it's why they have hit dice). Any creature can attune to a magic item if they meet any requisites the item may have.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Keep in mind that a skeleton cannot use any device that requires a command word as it cannot speak. Remember the -2 Int for those rolls that require a spell attack roll for Int based spells. Personally, I think it is a bad precedent to set - as a GM I would forcibly remind my players by having NPC's pull the same trick once they know it can be done.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a skeleton attune to a magic item?
Could a necromancer’s skeleton attune to say a ring of spell storing, and then be able to cast spells with it?
Reading the description of skeletons, I'd say yes but only if the necromancer commands them to do it. The necromancer wouldn't have to use his action to order the skeleton to cast the spell, but would have to issue a verbal command.
Professional computer geek
It'd be up to the DM. Once could argue that since skeletons don't sleep, they can't rest (which is when attunement takes place). Also, under attunement it says that the DM decides what happens when a nonhumanoid tries to attune to a magic item. In the hypothetical situation where the necromancer wants to have his undead army attune to magic items, as a DM I wouldn't allow it.
Where does it say Skeletons don't sleep? They don't need to sleep, being immune to exhaustion, but they certainly can rest, and gain HPs while doing so. =)
A long rest does not require sleeping. Elves don't sleep either, remember. And all creatures, every single one, can take a rest and spend hit dice (it's why they have hit dice). Any creature can attune to a magic item if they meet any requisites the item may have.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Keep in mind that a skeleton cannot use any device that requires a command word as it cannot speak. Remember the -2 Int for those rolls that require a spell attack roll for Int based spells. Personally, I think it is a bad precedent to set - as a GM I would forcibly remind my players by having NPC's pull the same trick once they know it can be done.