He probably wants to know if there is an indicator that lets him know if his character is Adventure League legal. OrcPub had/has this feature to notify you when you added something beyond the basic allotment or chose options from too many sources.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The mongoose blew out its candle and was asleep in bed before the room went dark." —Llanowar fable
I'm new to D&D so I'm sorry if my question doesn't make a lot of sense. I guess my thought was, why can I wield 3 weapon when I only have 2 hands. I expected it to say that I needed to drop a weapon first. Or for example, before I had 2 weapons wielded, but I never set "off hand" as one - I Hoped it would say "you can't wield 2 weapons in your main hand, set one to off hand" or the like. Mostly I'm new so I'm trying to make sure I've got everything setup correctly.
In that case, no, the feature you are describing is just an informational tool to help you when you use any of those weapons. You aren't actually wielding three weapons at once; it is just displaying the information about what it means when you wield any of those weapons.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The mongoose blew out its candle and was asleep in bed before the room went dark." —Llanowar fable
He probably wants to know if there is an indicator that lets him know if his character is Adventure League legal. OrcPub had/has this feature to notify you when you added something beyond the basic allotment or chose options from too many sources.
I first saw the illegal bit there, that's where the question spawned.
No worry. New players are welcome. No, theoretically, you can equip as many weapons as you want. It i "just" a sheet, then when you play, decide which weapons are you really wielding.
You select a weapon as off-hand you need to click on "Customize".
I'm new to D&D so I'm sorry if my question doesn't make a lot of sense. I guess my thought was, why can I wield 3 weapon when I only have 2 hands. I expected it to say that I needed to drop a weapon first. Or for example, before I had 2 weapons wielded, but I never set "off hand" as one - I Hoped it would say "you can't wield 2 weapons in your main hand, set one to off hand" or the like. Mostly I'm new so I'm trying to make sure I've got everything setup correctly.
Here's how it works in my head. My rogue has 2 daggers, a rapier, and a shortbow. Her rapier is to her side, hanging from her belt, the daggers are in her belt, and her shortbow is across her back. She can only use 2 weapons at a time, but everything is right there for her to switch between. I hope that clarifies things. If you're talking about AL, then no, it doesn't do that.
He probably wants to know if there is an indicator that lets him know if his character is Adventure League legal. OrcPub had/has this feature to notify you when you added something beyond the basic allotment or chose options from too many sources.
I first saw the illegal bit there, that's where the question spawned.
Yeah, that's just an Adventure League indicator. AL rules say you can only use the PHB plus one other (published) source to make a character, so that builder notifies you when you stray from that and go into AL illegal territory.
For example, when I have 3 weapons it doesn't tell me I'm doing something illegal. Is that a feature?
Not certain what you mean by "illegal."
A dwarf with a canoe on his back? What could go wrong?
Your character is always legal. The attack section just applies the proficiency and the other modifiers to calculate the attack bonus and damage roll.
He probably wants to know if there is an indicator that lets him know if his character is Adventure League legal. OrcPub had/has this feature to notify you when you added something beyond the basic allotment or chose options from too many sources.
Well, in that case, no.
I'm new to D&D so I'm sorry if my question doesn't make a lot of sense. I guess my thought was, why can I wield 3 weapon when I only have 2 hands. I expected it to say that I needed to drop a weapon first. Or for example, before I had 2 weapons wielded, but I never set "off hand" as one - I Hoped it would say "you can't wield 2 weapons in your main hand, set one to off hand" or the like. Mostly I'm new so I'm trying to make sure I've got everything setup correctly.
In that case, no, the feature you are describing is just an informational tool to help you when you use any of those weapons. You aren't actually wielding three weapons at once; it is just displaying the information about what it means when you wield any of those weapons.
No worry. New players are welcome. No, theoretically, you can equip as many weapons as you want. It i "just" a sheet, then when you play, decide which weapons are you really wielding.
You select a weapon as off-hand you need to click on "Customize".
A dwarf with a canoe on his back? What could go wrong?
thanks all!