Looking at some stuff to throw at players and I like the idea of a small pack of Gnoll Witherling for them to encounter randomly in an "overworld travel" section. The Gnoll Witherling has the reaction that if another gnoll dies within 30ft of it, it can make a weapon attack. I also have a Blood Hunter with Curse of the Fallen Puppet. If a gnoll dies and the Blood Hunter uses the Fallen Puppet ability, does it trigger before the the gnolls get their reaction attack or after? Both say the reaction happens once the enemy dies, so not sure which one should go first.
I would leave the timing up to the player who's turn the triggering event happens during. If the player doesn't feel comfortable with that ruling, you might use the appropriate initiative scores or DEX mods to adjudicate. After reading the two reactions a couple of times, thematically, I would lean towards the PC resolving first, then the Gnoll. It feels like it makes a smoother transition in my mind.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
They happen at the same time. This happens often with Feats like Sentinel.
I get that, but it also does say that the Sentinel attack happens before the enemy attack. I'm trying to figure out if the PC reaction occurs first or the gnoll reaction since they both occur on the same trigger.
I would resolve it in initiative order, so whether the blood hunter or witherling have higher initiative, and compare dex score in situation of an initiative tie.
The RAW ruling is: when things happen at the same time, whoever controls the creature whose turn it is decides what order they're handled in.
I'm guessing that link was supposed to be something else?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
While not being RAW in other game systems you can have things happen at the same moment, in this case I would rule it as such, so, Gnoll and Blooodhunter both in combat, both get to attack as a reaction, have both roll to hit and damage and then resolve the result after so it is possible the Gnoll dies and still hits the blood hunter (I actually rule this when 2 creatures have same initiative order and the same dex score)
Some reactions can interrupt their trigger. Sentinel's Opportunity Attack for:
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.
doesn't resolve before the triggering event completes and therefore doesn't interrupt. However the Opportunity Attack for:
When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature's speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.
Creatures provoke opportunity attacks from you even if they take the Disengage action before leaving your reach
does resolve before the end of the triggering action (movement away from melee range). The result of the second OA is that the triggering creature's movement ceases on a hit therefore interrupting the movement.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Looking at some stuff to throw at players and I like the idea of a small pack of Gnoll Witherling for them to encounter randomly in an "overworld travel" section. The Gnoll Witherling has the reaction that if another gnoll dies within 30ft of it, it can make a weapon attack. I also have a Blood Hunter with Curse of the Fallen Puppet. If a gnoll dies and the Blood Hunter uses the Fallen Puppet ability, does it trigger before the the gnolls get their reaction attack or after? Both say the reaction happens once the enemy dies, so not sure which one should go first.
I would leave the timing up to the player who's turn the triggering event happens during. If the player doesn't feel comfortable with that ruling, you might use the appropriate initiative scores or DEX mods to adjudicate. After reading the two reactions a couple of times, thematically, I would lean towards the PC resolving first, then the Gnoll. It feels like it makes a smoother transition in my mind.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
They happen at the same time. This happens often with Feats like Sentinel.
I get that, but it also does say that the Sentinel attack happens before the enemy attack. I'm trying to figure out if the PC reaction occurs first or the gnoll reaction since they both occur on the same trigger.
base it on either initiative order or dex modifier, the higher # wins. (usually the pc in the case of dex mod)
I would resolve it in initiative order, so whether the blood hunter or witherling have higher initiative, and compare dex score in situation of an initiative tie.
The RAW ruling is: when things happen at the same time, whoever controls the creature whose turn it is decides what order they're handled in.
I'm guessing that link was supposed to be something else?
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
What, you don't accept the rules primacy of Singin' in the Rain???!!! (But actually yes)
While not being RAW in other game systems you can have things happen at the same moment, in this case I would rule it as such, so, Gnoll and Blooodhunter both in combat, both get to attack as a reaction, have both roll to hit and damage and then resolve the result after so it is possible the Gnoll dies and still hits the blood hunter (I actually rule this when 2 creatures have same initiative order and the same dex score)
I'm confused where it says that Sentinel happens 'before' : https://www.dndbeyond.com/feats/sentinel
If anything it happens after. Sentinel triggers on someone ATTACKING, so they're already attacking when you're activating sentinel.
Some reactions can interrupt their trigger. Sentinel's Opportunity Attack for:
doesn't resolve before the triggering event completes and therefore doesn't interrupt. However the Opportunity Attack for:
does resolve before the end of the triggering action (movement away from melee range). The result of the second OA is that the triggering creature's movement ceases on a hit therefore interrupting the movement.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
I misread it in the Sage Compendium. My mistake. https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#Feats