Planning an encounter in which my bad guy (aberrant mind sorcerer) is going to fly 40 feet above the ground using the class’s Revelation in Flesh feature and cast Globe of Invulnerability.
I’m wondering if the pc wizard casts flight on the paladin so he can get in melee range, would the flight spell stop working when he hits the perimeter?
In addition, Globe of Invulnerability is actually pretty useless in many situations.
Why? Globe of Invulnerability doesn't move. It is fixed in place where it is cast. In addition, MANY casters are exceptionally vulnerable to grappling since they often don't have athletics or acrobatics skill combined with low strength and not an exceptional dex. I've seen Globe of Invulnerability used in two games (different DMs). One was a red wizard and the other a lich. In both cases, the caster was grappled and dragged out of the spell area before their next turn came around, which made their action spent to cast the spell relatively useless.
I am planning on having the globe on a bad guy that can fly without concentration, thus removing him from melee range from non-flying characters. Basically hover in the air raining spells down on the party.
my players are level 12 (Bard/cleric, hexblade/paladin, wizard and a rogue). I anticipate that they will throw a spell, see that it doesn’t work and then have the rogue with sharpshooter shoot him and cast fly on the paladin. If the paladin enters an already existing globe, does the fly cancel?
I am planning on having the globe on a bad guy that can fly without concentration, thus removing him from melee range from non-flying characters. Basically hover in the air raining spells down on the party.
my players are level 12 (Bard/cleric, hexblade/paladin, wizard and a rogue). I anticipate that they will throw a spell, see that it doesn’t work and then have the rogue with sharpshooter shoot him and cast fly on the paladin. If the paladin enters an already existing globe, does the fly cancel?
If the globe can move and doesn't require concentration, then it isn't a standard globe of invulnerability - so as a DM you can decide what that globe does.
You could decide it is more of an antimagic field, which stops all magic except for the person who cast it.
Yes, globe of invulnerability does not work like you want. Unless you use a special version this bad guy knows that works similar to an antimagic field.
If you want the flying player to fall, dispel or counter the fly spell as others have suggested or make that the special "puzzle schtik" of this guy.
If the spell does what it says it does, my interpretation is that it does.
“Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”
Is the target of the spell inside the sphere?
- yes, he has flown in
Was the spell cast outside the sphere?
- yes, fly spell was cast by the wizard
Is the spell cast 5th level or less?
- yes, fly spell is level 3
Creature flies in, starts to fall as the globe blocks fly spell, after 10 feet spell effects returns to power
If the spell does what it says it does, my interpretation is that it does.
“Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”
Is the target of the spell inside the sphere?
- yes, he has flown in
Was the spell cast outside the sphere?
- yes, fly spell was cast by the wizard
Is the spell cast 5th level or less?
- yes, fly spell is level 3
Creature flies in, starts to fall as the globe blocks fly spell, after 10 feet spell effects returns to power
That is a slightly wrong interpretation.
The spell has already been cast - so the rules of the Globe of invulnerability no longer apply to a Fly spell already present on a creature.
If you check the wording of the Antimagic Field then you will see the difference between the two spells, in particular:
Spells. Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it.
If the spell does what it says it does, my interpretation is that it does.
“Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”
Is the target of the spell inside the sphere?
- yes, he has flown in
Was the spell cast outside the sphere?
- yes, fly spell was cast by the wizard
Is the spell cast 5th level or less?
- yes, fly spell is level 3
Creature flies in, starts to fall as the globe blocks fly spell, after 10 feet spell effects returns to power
You're looking for something to say that the ongoing spell effects are "suppressed" while in the area. Globe of Invulnerability says no such thing. It only stops spells from initially affecting creatures inside of it. Unfortunately, for your villian, in the example the paladin was already affected by fly outside the barrier, so nothing prevents the fly spell from affecting him. He can fly on up and smite the villian to his heart's content.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The shorthand for Globe of Invulnerability is thus,
Is the "target" of the opposing spell A) a creature or object within the sphere of effect at the time of casting, or B) an area of effect that overlaps with the sphere of effect.
If the answer is "No" it will bypass the Globe.
Conjured creatures are the effect of a spell, and their subsequent actions are indirect consequences. This is equivalent to using telekinesis to push a boulder off a ledge. Even though subsequent damage was initiated by a spell, it is not an effect of the spell in a mechanical sense.
The Catapult spell is effectively a gun that uses magic instead of gunpowder. The target is the ammunition, and the victim just happens to be in the way.
I'm less confident about Bigby's Hand, but in principle it should still overcome the Globe.
Planning an encounter in which my bad guy (aberrant mind sorcerer) is going to fly 40 feet above the ground using the class’s Revelation in Flesh feature and cast Globe of Invulnerability.
I’m wondering if the pc wizard casts flight on the paladin so he can get in melee range, would the flight spell stop working when he hits the perimeter?
Glove of Invulnerability doesn't end ongoing spell effects, it just prevents those within from being affected by new spell effects.
So no, the Paladin would still be able to get into melee range.
In addition, Globe of Invulnerability is actually pretty useless in many situations.
Why? Globe of Invulnerability doesn't move. It is fixed in place where it is cast. In addition, MANY casters are exceptionally vulnerable to grappling since they often don't have athletics or acrobatics skill combined with low strength and not an exceptional dex. I've seen Globe of Invulnerability used in two games (different DMs). One was a red wizard and the other a lich. In both cases, the caster was grappled and dragged out of the spell area before their next turn came around, which made their action spent to cast the spell relatively useless.
I am planning on having the globe on a bad guy that can fly without concentration, thus removing him from melee range from non-flying characters. Basically hover in the air raining spells down on the party.
my players are level 12 (Bard/cleric, hexblade/paladin, wizard and a rogue). I anticipate that they will throw a spell, see that it doesn’t work and then have the rogue with sharpshooter shoot him and cast fly on the paladin. If the paladin enters an already existing globe, does the fly cancel?
If the globe can move and doesn't require concentration, then it isn't a standard globe of invulnerability - so as a DM you can decide what that globe does.
You could decide it is more of an antimagic field, which stops all magic except for the person who cast it.
Globe can’t move. Bad guy will fly up with class feature and then cast globe of invulnerability. He would be immobile while in the air.
I just want the fun of telling the flying character as he enters the bad guy’s dome that the spell stops working and he is now falling.
You can have the villain hold an action to target the Paladin with Dispel Magic.
Yes, globe of invulnerability does not work like you want. Unless you use a special version this bad guy knows that works similar to an antimagic field.
If you want the flying player to fall, dispel or counter the fly spell as others have suggested or make that the special "puzzle schtik" of this guy.
If the spell does what it says it does, my interpretation is that it does.
“Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”
Is the target of the spell inside the sphere?
- yes, he has flown in
Was the spell cast outside the sphere?
- yes, fly spell was cast by the wizard
Is the spell cast 5th level or less?
- yes, fly spell is level 3
Creature flies in, starts to fall as the globe blocks fly spell, after 10 feet spell effects returns to power
Now if the Hexblade/paladin changes his pact weapon to a glaive or bow, then all bets are off
That works too
That is a slightly wrong interpretation.
The spell has already been cast - so the rules of the Globe of invulnerability no longer apply to a Fly spell already present on a creature.
If you check the wording of the Antimagic Field then you will see the difference between the two spells, in particular:
You're looking for something to say that the ongoing spell effects are "suppressed" while in the area. Globe of Invulnerability says no such thing. It only stops spells from initially affecting creatures inside of it. Unfortunately, for your villian, in the example the paladin was already affected by fly outside the barrier, so nothing prevents the fly spell from affecting him. He can fly on up and smite the villian to his heart's content.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Just reminded myself that the party has a flying carpet. Whole scenario is not going to come up
what about conjured creatures, bigby’s hand or animate objects? Objects targeted by the catapult spell?
The shorthand for Globe of Invulnerability is thus,
Is the "target" of the opposing spell A) a creature or object within the sphere of effect at the time of casting, or B) an area of effect that overlaps with the sphere of effect.
If the answer is "No" it will bypass the Globe.
Conjured creatures are the effect of a spell, and their subsequent actions are indirect consequences. This is equivalent to using telekinesis to push a boulder off a ledge. Even though subsequent damage was initiated by a spell, it is not an effect of the spell in a mechanical sense.
The Catapult spell is effectively a gun that uses magic instead of gunpowder. The target is the ammunition, and the victim just happens to be in the way.
I'm less confident about Bigby's Hand, but in principle it should still overcome the Globe.