There isn't one defined by the rules that I have found. The only spells or spell effects that even begin to come close to the effects of the potion are both 2nd level. That said, the effects of these pales in comparison to the effect of the potion in question.
I would likely give it a DC 28, mainly because I wouldn't want to set a precedent for dispelling other Legendary items or their effects to become a trivial matter.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Legendary Actions seem to only appear in Tier 4, so it's reasonable to assume that it takes a minimum of a 17th level Bard, Trickery or Acana DomainCleric,Druid, Oath of DevotionPaladin,Sorcerer,Warlock,Wizard, orArtificer, and as there is no save, there is no DC involved, so the effect is gone forever. Cast it on the potion, poof, it's an odd colored non-magical liquid, cast it on the Fighter, he goes back to normal size and abilities.
Dispel Magic only ends spell effects. It doesn't do anything to magic items or to magical effects that aren't spells. There's no interaction with a Potion of Giant Size.
Dispel Magic only ends spell effects. It doesn't do anything to magic items or to magical effects that aren't spells. There's no interaction with a Potion of Giant Size.
That's what I thought as well. So only potions which deliberately state a particular spell can be Dispelled after it is ingested?
Why can I not, as the good wizard, cast Dispel Magic and use the 3rd targeting option, the magical effect one, and target the magical effect that is the slow spell... the very same that the evil wizard is concentrating on?
For the same reason that shoving the evil wizard into an antimagic field won't suppress the spell; its effects aren't on the caster, they're on your pals.
Whatever reasoning you apply to what counts as a magical effect you can target with dispel magic ought to be consistent whether the spell requires concentration or not if you ask me.
While I am aware that Dispel Magic by RAW only effects spells, both the Monster Manual and several published adventures provide specific, published, canon instances where it can be used on other magical effects. As such, if a player were to cast Dispel Magic on a magical effect, I would decide first whether I want that to be possible (usually it would be, as only a few spells are immune to being dispelled), whether that ends the entire effect, suppresses it for a short time or within a short space, and then if necessary create a reasonable caster check DC to see if they successfully dispel it.
Why can I not, as the good wizard, cast Dispel Magic and use the 3rd targeting option, the magical effect one, and target the magical effect that is the slow spell... the very same that the evil wizard is concentrating on?
If losing concentration on the slow spell would cause it to end on everyone, then casting Dispel Magic on that same spell should end it.
For the reasons clearly stated in this thread before you posted, the magical effects are on the targets of the Slow spell. The Evil Wizard does not have a spell effect on them. They are holding concentration on a spell that continues the magical effect on several other targets.
There is nothing about Dispel Magic that causes a caster to lose concentration on a spell. You cannot target the Spell itself: you target a creature, an object or a magical effect. The magical effects are the ones on the targets who were chosen when the spell was cast.
A spell that's being concentrated on is a magical effect.
And as such I can target it by RAW and the description of Dispel Magic also says I can choose the magical effect.
To be clear, not the 6 individual magical effects that are present and affecting each of the 6 targets... but the spell the wizard is concentrating on, that magical effect.
And I'm not trying to get him to lose concentration on the spell, I am Dispelling the Slow spell itself so that all the effects from it end.
When the Slow spell ends, it ends for all affected.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
A spell that's being concentrated on is a magical effect.
And as such I can target it by RAW and the description of Dispel Magic also says I can choose the magical effect.
To be clear, not the 6 individual magical effects that are present and affecting each of the 6 targets... but the spell the wizard is concentrating on, that magical effect.
And I'm not trying to get him to lose concentration on the spell, I am Dispelling the Slow spell itself so that all the effects from it end.
When the Slow spell ends, it ends for all affected.
The spell is not a discrete effect. The spell is also on the targets. Whether someone is concentrating on it or not, they do not have a magical effect in play on them.
The wording of the spell is clear on this. The lead designer has confirmed the intent behind it.
If you want to allow Dispel Magic to target a spellcaster and dispel magical effects on other targets by somehow removing concentration, then that is a homebrew rule. You're entirely within your rights to homebrew anything that you want to, but there is nothing in the rules that even suggests that you could dispel a spell that was being concentrated on that isn't affecting the caster by targeting the caster with Dispel Magic.
If you're not trying to break concentration, then the question to ask yourself is "Does this wizard have a Slow spell effect on him?" and the answer is no. He is not slowed, therefore he is not under any effect of the spell. You are talking about ending concentration by targeting a spell - but the spell has no target in the way you are thinking about it, because the spell is not on the caster.
A spell that's being concentrated on is a magical effect. And as such I can target it by RAW and the description of Dispel Magic also says I can choose the magical effect. To be clear, not the 6 individual magical effects that are present and affecting each of the 6 targets... but the spell the wizard is concentrating on, that magical effect.
The spell the wizard is concentrating on is the 6 magical effects affecting each of the 6 targets. There's no effect on the wizard for you to target.
And I'm not trying to get him to lose concentration on the spell, I am Dispelling the Slow spell itself so that all the effects from it end. When the Slow spell ends, it ends for all affected.
Yes, because that's what happens when a spell's duration expires. The fact that the caster has control over it via concentration doesn't imply there's a spell effect on the caster. There are non-concentration spells that the caster can exert control over (e.g. Spiritual Weapon) and even dismiss early (e.g. Control Flames), but unless the spell targets the caster, there's nothing on the caster for you to target.
The spell is worded vaguely enough that you can potentially argue for targeting the spell as a whole, but not through the caster. And that opens a different can of worms, because now you have to decide what happens when only some of the targets of the spell are within Dispel's Magic range.
A spell that's being concentrated on is a magical effect.
By my reading of the book, I would rule "no, it's not."
If a spellcaster casts slow on three targets then the spellcaster has no spell effect on them. A detect magic cast on the spellcaster would show nothing.
Here's what I want to know. If a tempest cleric, a druid, and a wizard, all cast fog cloud in the same area... does dispel magic dispel every single spell, or do you have to dispel each one individually?
This is exactly why I came into this thread except my scenario id darkness. I wish someone would answer it . I cant find anything on it . Because darkness is one magical effect and in an area so I have no idea if it would remove all "magical darkness" in the area or not.
So if a Fighter drinks the Legendary https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/potion-of-giant-size, and a Wizard casts dispel Magic on the Fighter who drank it, what is the DC for a Legendary potion like this? Thank you in advance
If you want sugar coating, go buy a dessert....
There isn't one defined by the rules that I have found. The only spells or spell effects that even begin to come close to the effects of the potion are both 2nd level. That said, the effects of these pales in comparison to the effect of the potion in question.
I would likely give it a DC 28, mainly because I wouldn't want to set a precedent for dispelling other Legendary items or their effects to become a trivial matter.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Legendary Actions seem to only appear in Tier 4, so it's reasonable to assume that it takes a minimum of a 17th level Bard, Trickery or Acana Domain Cleric, Druid, Oath of Devotion Paladin, Sorcerer, Warlock, Wizard, or Artificer, and as there is no save, there is no DC involved, so the effect is gone forever. Cast it on the potion, poof, it's an odd colored non-magical liquid, cast it on the Fighter, he goes back to normal size and abilities.
<Insert clever signature here>
Dispel Magic only ends spell effects. It doesn't do anything to magic items or to magical effects that aren't spells. There's no interaction with a Potion of Giant Size.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
That's what I thought as well. So only potions which deliberately state a particular spell can be Dispelled after it is ingested?
Thank you
If you want sugar coating, go buy a dessert....
For the same reason that shoving the evil wizard into an antimagic field won't suppress the spell; its effects aren't on the caster, they're on your pals.
Whatever reasoning you apply to what counts as a magical effect you can target with dispel magic ought to be consistent whether the spell requires concentration or not if you ask me.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
While I am aware that Dispel Magic by RAW only effects spells, both the Monster Manual and several published adventures provide specific, published, canon instances where it can be used on other magical effects. As such, if a player were to cast Dispel Magic on a magical effect, I would decide first whether I want that to be possible (usually it would be, as only a few spells are immune to being dispelled), whether that ends the entire effect, suppresses it for a short time or within a short space, and then if necessary create a reasonable caster check DC to see if they successfully dispel it.
For the reasons clearly stated in this thread before you posted, the magical effects are on the targets of the Slow spell. The Evil Wizard does not have a spell effect on them. They are holding concentration on a spell that continues the magical effect on several other targets.
There is nothing about Dispel Magic that causes a caster to lose concentration on a spell. You cannot target the Spell itself: you target a creature, an object or a magical effect. The magical effects are the ones on the targets who were chosen when the spell was cast.
A spell that's being concentrated on is a magical effect.
And as such I can target it by RAW and the description of Dispel Magic also says I can choose the magical effect.
To be clear, not the 6 individual magical effects that are present and affecting each of the 6 targets... but the spell the wizard is concentrating on, that magical effect.
And I'm not trying to get him to lose concentration on the spell, I am Dispelling the Slow spell itself so that all the effects from it end.
When the Slow spell ends, it ends for all affected.
The spell is not a discrete effect. The spell is also on the targets. Whether someone is concentrating on it or not, they do not have a magical effect in play on them.
The wording of the spell is clear on this. The lead designer has confirmed the intent behind it.
If you want to allow Dispel Magic to target a spellcaster and dispel magical effects on other targets by somehow removing concentration, then that is a homebrew rule. You're entirely within your rights to homebrew anything that you want to, but there is nothing in the rules that even suggests that you could dispel a spell that was being concentrated on that isn't affecting the caster by targeting the caster with Dispel Magic.
If you're not trying to break concentration, then the question to ask yourself is "Does this wizard have a Slow spell effect on him?" and the answer is no. He is not slowed, therefore he is not under any effect of the spell. You are talking about ending concentration by targeting a spell - but the spell has no target in the way you are thinking about it, because the spell is not on the caster.
The spell the wizard is concentrating on is the 6 magical effects affecting each of the 6 targets. There's no effect on the wizard for you to target.
Yes, because that's what happens when a spell's duration expires. The fact that the caster has control over it via concentration doesn't imply there's a spell effect on the caster. There are non-concentration spells that the caster can exert control over (e.g. Spiritual Weapon) and even dismiss early (e.g. Control Flames), but unless the spell targets the caster, there's nothing on the caster for you to target.
The spell is worded vaguely enough that you can potentially argue for targeting the spell as a whole, but not through the caster. And that opens a different can of worms, because now you have to decide what happens when only some of the targets of the spell are within Dispel's Magic range.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
By my reading of the book, I would rule "no, it's not."
If a spellcaster casts slow on three targets then the spellcaster has no spell effect on them. A detect magic cast on the spellcaster would show nothing.
Here's what I want to know. If a tempest cleric, a druid, and a wizard, all cast fog cloud in the same area... does dispel magic dispel every single spell, or do you have to dispel each one individually?
This is exactly why I came into this thread except my scenario id darkness. I wish someone would answer it . I cant find anything on it . Because darkness is one magical effect and in an area so I have no idea if it would remove all "magical darkness" in the area or not.
They should be considered 3 separate instances of the spell and have to be dispelled individually.