I recently got a moonblade for my Padlock Elf and was wondering if Hex Warrior will work with the moonblade? I know pact of the blade won’t but that’s not an issue for me. If there is an official ruling I would love to know the link for that. Thank you for the help.
The only limitation Hex Warrior mentions is being proficient with the weapon, and it lacking the two-handed property. Since Moonblade doesn't have the two-handed property, it works with it as long as you're proficient with it (and you are proficient with longswords due to the same ability).
I don't think there's an official ruling for this, mainly because it sounds straightforward.
You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way.
This is the relevant text for Blade Pact. I understand it that you can bond with all weapons including artifacts and sentient weapons but cant dismiss and summon them.
EDIT: found a ruling on sage Advice stating you cannot even make artifacts a pact weapon. This seems like a relevant bit of oversight regarding Hexblades. Blackrazor is mentioned as one Patron-Weapon. Imagine the Warlock dancing in joy after finally uncovering Blackrazor deep in the mountain. Just seconds before he realizes he cannot really use it. No Charisma, no smites, ... This really makes no sense to me.
However, Pact of the Blade disallows both Artifacts and Sentient weapons. This is not the case with the Hexblade's abilities. Admittedly, there's a bit of disconnect between the that particular patron and that particular pact boon, but nothing prevents a Hexblade with Pact of the Blade from having more options, even though he can't use some invocations with his Hexblade-chosen weapon.
This is not true entirely. Prerequisite of Hexwarrior is that it is a one handed weapon you performed a ritual on or your pact weapon. Thusly a Hexblade is not allowed to use his (imho by far best) Feat on Artifacts or Sentient Weapon with the two handed property. So a hexblade based on using Cha as attack and damage ability will have to use Str instead.
Next to that he is - by the rules - not able to use it with Lifedrinker, Thirsting Blade and Eldritch Smite. So one attack with the wrong ability it is without the posibility to burst. So: no option.
As a reason for that rule, JC wrote that on sageadvice:
"We prevent it because those items have powers and story weight beyond regular magic items. As always, a DM can override our design."
This is surprising as all fluff rules were removed in later Invocations (Cursebringer etc.) and even by now a Bladelock is really not the most powerful Melee Character. It was even less so when the rule was introduced lacking smites and the possibility to use Cha as relevant attribute. For example Paladins and Fighters may use all their Feats with Artifacts and Sentient Weapons, the Eldritch Knight - in contrast to the Bladelock - even being allowed to bond with them. There really is no balancing issue with allowing Bladelocks to bond with the restricted Weapons, so in the end it is a rule that is only good to frustrate Bladelock Players. The potential to find the perfect weapon for your character and in fact be excluded from using it because of a rule does not make much sense to me. If this happens with your patron weapon as a Hexblade this becomes even more strange.
I may be reading this wrong, but the trait "Hex Warrior" mentions "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property." It doesn't make any reference (at this point) of sentient or artifact weapons. You can wield the affected weapon with your Charisma modifier, whatever kind of weapon it may be, as long as it's not two-handed and you're proficient with it. Obviously, you can't use Pact of the Blade invocations with it.
As far as I understand, the flavor, and the reason Blackrazor is mentioned, is that Hexblades usually emulate those weapons with their Pact of the Blade.
Yupp. The Hexblade is - as far as I know - the only subclass tied to magic items of which one is mentioned. And it is - as far as I know - the only subclass that by the rules must not really use it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I recently got a moonblade for my Padlock Elf and was wondering if Hex Warrior will work with the moonblade? I know pact of the blade won’t but that’s not an issue for me. If there is an official ruling I would love to know the link for that. Thank you for the help.
The only limitation Hex Warrior mentions is being proficient with the weapon, and it lacking the two-handed property. Since Moonblade doesn't have the two-handed property, it works with it as long as you're proficient with it (and you are proficient with longswords due to the same ability).
I don't think there's an official ruling for this, mainly because it sounds straightforward.
Edit: Well, there's kind of a ruling for the feature, but not really about what you ask for. It's about the second bit of the ability, about pact weapons: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/11/17/does-this-mean-that-if-you-have-pact-of-the-blade-you-can-use-the-hex-warrior-feature-with-a-two-handed-weapon/
You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. You can’t affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way.
This is the relevant text for Blade Pact. I understand it that you can bond with all weapons including artifacts and sentient weapons but cant dismiss and summon them.
EDIT: found a ruling on sage Advice stating you cannot even make artifacts a pact weapon. This seems like a relevant bit of oversight regarding Hexblades. Blackrazor is mentioned as one Patron-Weapon. Imagine the Warlock dancing in joy after finally uncovering Blackrazor deep in the mountain. Just seconds before he realizes he cannot really use it. No Charisma, no smites, ... This really makes no sense to me.
Sentience doesn't make a weapon an Artifact. Moonblade and Blackrazor are of "Legendary" rarity. Examples of Artifacts are Axe of the Dwarvish Lords and the Sword of Kas.
However, Pact of the Blade disallows both Artifacts and Sentient weapons. This is not the case with the Hexblade's abilities. Admittedly, there's a bit of disconnect between the that particular patron and that particular pact boon, but nothing prevents a Hexblade with Pact of the Blade from having more options, even though he can't use some invocations with his Hexblade-chosen weapon.
This is not true entirely. Prerequisite of Hexwarrior is that it is a one handed weapon you performed a ritual on or your pact weapon. Thusly a Hexblade is not allowed to use his (imho by far best) Feat on Artifacts or Sentient Weapon with the two handed property. So a hexblade based on using Cha as attack and damage ability will have to use Str instead.
Next to that he is - by the rules - not able to use it with Lifedrinker, Thirsting Blade and Eldritch Smite. So one attack with the wrong ability it is without the posibility to burst. So: no option.
As a reason for that rule, JC wrote that on sageadvice:
"We prevent it because those items have powers and story weight beyond regular magic items. As always, a DM can override our design."
This is surprising as all fluff rules were removed in later Invocations (Cursebringer etc.) and even by now a Bladelock is really not the most powerful Melee Character. It was even less so when the rule was introduced lacking smites and the possibility to use Cha as relevant attribute. For example Paladins and Fighters may use all their Feats with Artifacts and Sentient Weapons, the Eldritch Knight - in contrast to the Bladelock - even being allowed to bond with them. There really is no balancing issue with allowing Bladelocks to bond with the restricted Weapons, so in the end it is a rule that is only good to frustrate Bladelock Players. The potential to find the perfect weapon for your character and in fact be excluded from using it because of a rule does not make much sense to me. If this happens with your patron weapon as a Hexblade this becomes even more strange.
I may be reading this wrong, but the trait "Hex Warrior" mentions "Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property." It doesn't make any reference (at this point) of sentient or artifact weapons. You can wield the affected weapon with your Charisma modifier, whatever kind of weapon it may be, as long as it's not two-handed and you're proficient with it. Obviously, you can't use Pact of the Blade invocations with it.
As far as I understand, the flavor, and the reason Blackrazor is mentioned, is that Hexblades usually emulate those weapons with their Pact of the Blade.
Yupp. The Hexblade is - as far as I know - the only subclass tied to magic items of which one is mentioned. And it is - as far as I know - the only subclass that by the rules must not really use it.