My character is level 11, multiclassed from Artificer (6) to Wizard (5). As such I have two 4th level spell slots. However, the character creation tool on dndbeyond only lets me choose spells up to level 3.
I imagine it is because of this phrase:
Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher
Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. (Emphasis mine)
The Artificer allows you to add half your Artificer levels to the levels of your other classes to determine your available spell slots (not to determine your spells known)
Spell Slots. Add half your levels (rounded up) in the artificer class to the appropriate levels from other classes to determine your available spell slots.
So even though I add half my Artificer levels to my Wizard levels, I still need to refer to the original, unmodified Wizard table when learning new spells.
Am I understanding this correct? It seems like a complicated mechanic that ends up giving the player an unsatisfactory result: spellslots that can only be used for upcasting :/
The multi-classing rules state that you select the spells known or prepared based on your levels in the specific classes but you receive spell slots based on the combination of classes.
A 6th level artificer is a 3rd level spell caster and can choose spells from the artificer list up to level 2 spells.
A 5th level wizard is a 5th level spell caster and can choose spells from the wizard list up to level 3 spells.
A level 6 artificer/5 wizard is a 3+5 = 8th level spell caster with 2 x 4th level spell slots but they don't know any 4th level spells.
It is a consequence of multiclassing and is not "unsatisfactory" at all except when a player hopes that it works another way.
---
Consider - if you are an 8th level caster should you be able to pick 4th level artificer or 4th level wizard spells? Or what about a character that is 5 cleric/ 5 wizard / 5 bard / 5 sorcerer - would they get to pick 9th level spells from whichever of cleric/wizard/bard or sorcerer list that they like? By the multiclassing rules such a character has 9th level spell slots but can only knows up to 3rd level spells.
Basically, multiclassing imposes constraints on spells known or prepared to prevent characters like a 1 cleric/19 wizard from choosing any wizard or cleric spells from levels 1-9 which would be unfair and unbalanced - so instead they prepare spells as a 1 cleric and 19 wizard separately but have spell slots of a 20th level caster.
A level 6 artificer/14 wizard at level 20 will have 8th and 9th level spell slots but won't know any 8th or 9th level spells. Knowing level 9 spells requires at least 17 levels in a specific full casting class.
Am I understanding this correct? It seems like a complicated mechanic that ends up giving the player an unsatisfactory result: spellslots that can only be used for upcasting :/
Yes, that's correct. You can multiclass full casters and Artificers together, and your slots combine in full while your spells known are tabulated individually. You have it right.
Non-Artificer half and third casters suffer slower slot progression, so if you mix in Ranger or Paladin at an odd level above 2 or Eldritch Knight or Arcane Trickster at non-multiples of 3 above 3, your slots will progress slower. Warlock slots don't stack at all, they just work across caster classes, so you'll always have full Warlock progression, you just track their 2 slots separately.
How useful up-casting slots are varies wildly by spell choice, as Warlocks are no stranger to. If you're dissatisfied with that, sorcerers have a way to consume higher level slots to either make lower level slots or fuel other upgrades to the lower level spells.
Am I understanding this correct? It seems like a complicated mechanic that ends up giving the player an unsatisfactory result: spellslots that can only be used for upcasting :/
The possible alternatives are more untenable:
a single level dip to any class gets you access to the entire spell list? Why should a 3nd level wizard get access to 9th level wizard spells? Nah. You have to select spells for each class based on your level in that class.
Multiclassing gives you extra slots somehow? Nah. That would be the game telling you to never not multiclass.
Multiclassing gives only slots for which you can prepare spells? That could be possible, but it would be more complicated and result in casters with the same number of total spellcasting class levels having various different numbers of slots.
The other way they could have done it was to get spell slots from each class so a cleric(5)/druid (5) would have 8 first level slots, 6 second level and 4 third level, so more spell slots than a single level caster but no high level slots. Would probably make them OP on a dungeaon crawl wirth the recommended 6-8 encounters per day but underpowered for the more common 1-3 encounters per day.
But the problem is that a wizard can copy a spell that he has spellslots for. So if you found a spell scroll of 4th lvl, you should actually have an option to learn it.
That is actually wrong. You can only copy spells that you can prepare.
This is true as far as the end result of the rule is concerned, but I think a more helpful way to look at it in terms of understanding the rules in play would be to say “you can copy a spell you have spell slots for when considering your wizard level as single-classed character” as the multiclassing rules direct.
But the problem is that a wizard can copy a spell that he has spellslots for. So if you found a spell scroll of 4th lvl, you should actually have an option to learn it.
It's actually much worse than that. As Wolf pointed out, you can't copy spells you can't prepare into your spellbook, but you can get a spellbook with spells in it you can't prepare - e.g. a level 1 wizard getting their hands on the Duplicitous Manuscript from Tasha's. The actual multiclass rules, RAW, are broken beyond belief and don't function, since they don't consistently handle the difference between know-casters and prepare-casters; worse, wizards are both, so the rules are extra weird for them.
What you end up with is this: a multiclass wizard 1/ranger 12 in the above situation has, say, major image in their spellbook - they can't prepare it, but they by definition know it, since a wizard's known spells are defined as the spells in their spellbook. They have 1 4th level spell slot. I can get into the utterly bizarre rules on how the L3 and down spell slots are handled, but by definition, they can use the L4 slot to cast major image without preparing it - it's a spell they know, and you can use multiclass slots above your highest known or preparable spell to cast any spell you know (I didn't actually check, so let's assume the highest level spell in that book is major image at spell level 3 - as soon as the wizard knows a level 4 spell, this rule will stop letting them pull this trick).
Absolutely no-one plays with the multiclass spellcasting rules RAW - instead, we all play as if it was competently written to match the clear RAI: you can use any slot you have to cast any spell you know if you're know-caster or prepare if you're a prepare-caster, and if you're a wizard (so you're both) you count as a prepare-caster for these rules (one of the explanations for why the RAW is so broken is that after the PHB was released, it was errataed to make wizards both kinds at once, and they failed to errata the multiclass rules to cover the change).
Absolutely no-one plays with the multiclass spellcasting rules RAW - instead, we all play as if it was competently written to match the clear RAI: you can use any slot you have to cast any spell you know if you're know-caster or prepare if you're a prepare-caster, and if you're a wizard (so you're both) you count as a prepare-caster for these rules (one of the explanations for why the RAW is so broken is that after the PHB was released, it was errataed to make wizards both kinds at once, and they failed to errata the multiclass rules to cover the change).
Some of us do (at least try to) follow the rules.
By the way, Wizard Spellcasting doesn't care what you know, only what you prepare. If you can't prepare a wizard spell, you can't cast it as a wizard. In your example, the ranger/wizard can only cast level 1 wizard spells, no matter what is in their book.
Nobody I know lets an Artificer 6/ Wizard 5 cast 4th or higher spells.
Multi-classing is EXTREMELY powerful, but not because you can cast the spells of all levels.
Instead it tremendously increases the # of spells PREPARED (Known for classes besides Wizard/Artificer).
An Artificer 11 can cast spells of up to 3rd level, and can prepare Int + level/2. For an Int of 18, that would be 9 spells. Plus 3 cantrips.
An Artificer 6/Wizard 5 can learn Artificers spells of only 2nd level, but Wizard spells of upto 3rd level. More importantly, he can prepare 7 Artificer spells and can prepare (int + wizard level) = 9 wizard spells, or a total of 16 spells. Plus six cantrips (2 Art + 4 Wiz).
Note, most of the time with multi-classing, one or two levels of the 'lower' class is sufficient. Usually the abilities of the higher level class are more desirable than that of the lower.
I understand the way this works, but I have a question regarding spells being added to my spells. Would I be able to cast it.
Here is an example:
Wizard 8/Cleric 2
If I take the Fey Touched feat I get Misty Step added and can cast them using appropriate level slots. So RAW I should be able to cast it using my Cleric slots?
I understand the way this works, but I have a question regarding spells being added to my spells. Would I be able to cast it.
Here is an example:
Wizard 8/Cleric 2
If I take the Fey Touched feat I get Misty Step added and can cast them using appropriate level slots. So RAW I should be able to cast it using my Cleric slots?
A wizard 8/cleric 2 doesn't have "cleric slots". It has spell slots as a level 10 caster, which it can use for Misty Step in this example.
Your spells known and prepared are determined by your individual classes but your available spell slots are determined by the combination of classes your character has.
So in your example of being an 8th level Wizard and a 2nd level Cleric you would have 2 5th level spell slots. However you would only be able to know and prepare Wizard spells up to 4th level and Cleric spells up to 1st level.
If you learned Bless with your Fey Touched feat you get to cast it once per long rest at 1st level without expending any spell slots. You can also use your spell slots to cast Bless and can even cast it at a higher level. Using the 8 Wizard/2 Cleric from before you could even use one of your 5th level slots to bless 7 creatures at once. Also regardless of how you cast a spell granted by Fey Touched you use the ability you increased with the feat as your spellcasting modifier. So if our 8 Wizard/2 Cleric took Fey Touched to increase their Charisma they would use Charisma as the spellcasting modifier for the spells granted by Fey Touched.
I understand the way this works, but I have a question regarding spells being added to my spells. Would I be able to cast it.
Here is an example:
Wizard 8/Cleric 2
If I take the Fey Touched feat I get Misty Step added and can cast them using appropriate level slots. So RAW I should be able to cast it using my Cleric slots?
You don't have Wizard slots vs Cleric slots. You can get spell slots from two sources - the Spellcasting class feature or the Pact Magic class feature. Warlocks(and Profane Soul Blood Hunters if your game allows them) get Pact Magic slots, everyone else gets Spellcasting slots. If you have levels in Warlock, you get Pact Magic slots according to your Warlock level. If you have levels in a single class/subclass that gets Spellcasting slots, you get Spellcasting slots according to your level in that class. If you have multiple classes/subclasses that get Spellcasting slots, you use the formula in Chapter 6 of the Players Handbook to determine your "spellcasting level" and you get Spellcasting slots appropriate to that level.
While Spellcasting slots and Pact Magic slots are determined separately, they are interchangeable for the purpose of casting spells, as well as most other abilities such as a Paladin's Divine Smite. The only abilities I'm aware of that specify a type of spell slot to be used are certain Warlock Invocations. Some let you cast a spell once a day but specify you have to use a Warlock spell slot. Eldritch Smite lets you use a spell slot for additional Force damage on a weapon similar to a Paladin's Divine Smite, but Eldritch Smite can only be used with Warlock spell slots.
You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. - wizard spellcasting feature.
Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. On your adventures, you might find other spells that you can add to your spellbook (see the “Your Spellbook” sidebar). - the learning 1st-level+ feature on wizard.
RAW here, since spell slots mix when multiclassing, when a wizard prepares spells, they're not limited to spells of their wizard level for either learning spells as part of the level up or as part of the copying spells in general. so for casters who don't have a book of spells that they can copy, this ruling makes sense, but wizard's can spontaneously learn spells when they have the time money and reference material, and at least 1 spell slot of the spell/s level,
What is clear is that there is a hole in the rules RAW. My version of RAI is as follows- when you acquire a spellbook (magical or otherwise) that is not your original or a copy you can copy any spells in it of a level you are able to cast as per RAW from either your own or the new spellbook. Spells of a higher level than you can cast RAW are typically incomprehensible to you or, at best/worse you can cast them, once, out of the new spellbook but doing so wipes them from the spellbooks pages as if it were functioning as a scroll - with all the penalties and potential consequences of casting a higher level spell off a scroll. Basically they are there but unavailable until you are able to scribe them into your original spellbook. This is why wizards keep a collection of spellbooks from other wizards they have defeated- to get spells they don’t know/can’t learn yet so they are available to learn as they progress.
otherwise the argument runs that the spellbook from the L11 Wizard bbeg your L7 party just killed is now your spellbook so why can’t you cast the L4/5 spells listed in it.
You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. - wizard spellcasting feature.
Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. On your adventures, you might find other spells that you can add to your spellbook (see the “Your Spellbook” sidebar). - the learning 1st-level+ feature on wizard.
RAW here, since spell slots mix when multiclassing, when a wizard prepares spells, they're not limited to spells of their wizard level for either learning spells as part of the level up or as part of the copying spells in general. so for casters who don't have a book of spells that they can copy, this ruling makes sense, but wizard's can spontaneously learn spells when they have the time money and reference material, and at least 1 spell slot of the spell/s level,
You neglected to read the rest of the multiclassing rules:
"Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.
Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus."
You know and prepare spells for each class individually as if you were a single classed member of that class. So a wizard 3/cleric 3 has the spell slots of a 6th level caster but KNOWS and PREPARES spells as if there were a 3 wizard and a 3 cleric. So although they would have 3rd level spell slots they don't know any 3rd level spells, since neither class is high enough to know or prepare 3rd level spells.
My character is level 11, multiclassed from Artificer (6) to Wizard (5). As such I have two 4th level spell slots. However, the character creation tool on dndbeyond only lets me choose spells up to level 3.
I imagine it is because of this phrase:
The Artificer allows you to add half your Artificer levels to the levels of your other classes to determine your available spell slots (not to determine your spells known)
So even though I add half my Artificer levels to my Wizard levels, I still need to refer to the original, unmodified Wizard table when learning new spells.
Am I understanding this correct? It seems like a complicated mechanic that ends up giving the player an unsatisfactory result: spellslots that can only be used for upcasting :/
That is correct.
The multi-classing rules state that you select the spells known or prepared based on your levels in the specific classes but you receive spell slots based on the combination of classes.
A 6th level artificer is a 3rd level spell caster and can choose spells from the artificer list up to level 2 spells.
A 5th level wizard is a 5th level spell caster and can choose spells from the wizard list up to level 3 spells.
A level 6 artificer/5 wizard is a 3+5 = 8th level spell caster with 2 x 4th level spell slots but they don't know any 4th level spells.
It is a consequence of multiclassing and is not "unsatisfactory" at all except when a player hopes that it works another way.
---
Consider - if you are an 8th level caster should you be able to pick 4th level artificer or 4th level wizard spells? Or what about a character that is 5 cleric/ 5 wizard / 5 bard / 5 sorcerer - would they get to pick 9th level spells from whichever of cleric/wizard/bard or sorcerer list that they like? By the multiclassing rules such a character has 9th level spell slots but can only knows up to 3rd level spells.
Basically, multiclassing imposes constraints on spells known or prepared to prevent characters like a 1 cleric/19 wizard from choosing any wizard or cleric spells from levels 1-9 which would be unfair and unbalanced - so instead they prepare spells as a 1 cleric and 19 wizard separately but have spell slots of a 20th level caster.
A level 6 artificer/14 wizard at level 20 will have 8th and 9th level spell slots but won't know any 8th or 9th level spells. Knowing level 9 spells requires at least 17 levels in a specific full casting class.
Yes, that's correct. You can multiclass full casters and Artificers together, and your slots combine in full while your spells known are tabulated individually. You have it right.
Non-Artificer half and third casters suffer slower slot progression, so if you mix in Ranger or Paladin at an odd level above 2 or Eldritch Knight or Arcane Trickster at non-multiples of 3 above 3, your slots will progress slower. Warlock slots don't stack at all, they just work across caster classes, so you'll always have full Warlock progression, you just track their 2 slots separately.
How useful up-casting slots are varies wildly by spell choice, as Warlocks are no stranger to. If you're dissatisfied with that, sorcerers have a way to consume higher level slots to either make lower level slots or fuel other upgrades to the lower level spells.
The possible alternatives are more untenable:
Yeah, it is balanced the way it is.
If you could learn/prepare spells based on combined spellcaster levels, bard 17/druid 1/ cleric 1/ wizard 1 would have access to every notable spell.
Yeah, if it worked that way, there would be some BROKEN AF multiclass caster combos.
The other way they could have done it was to get spell slots from each class so a cleric(5)/druid (5) would have 8 first level slots, 6 second level and 4 third level, so more spell slots than a single level caster but no high level slots. Would probably make them OP on a dungeaon crawl wirth the recommended 6-8 encounters per day but underpowered for the more common 1-3 encounters per day.
But the problem is that a wizard can copy a spell that he has spellslots for. So if you found a spell scroll of 4th lvl, you should actually have an option to learn it.
That is actually wrong. You can only copy spells that you can prepare.
This is true as far as the end result of the rule is concerned, but I think a more helpful way to look at it in terms of understanding the rules in play would be to say “you can copy a spell you have spell slots for when considering your wizard level as single-classed character” as the multiclassing rules direct.
It's actually much worse than that. As Wolf pointed out, you can't copy spells you can't prepare into your spellbook, but you can get a spellbook with spells in it you can't prepare - e.g. a level 1 wizard getting their hands on the Duplicitous Manuscript from Tasha's. The actual multiclass rules, RAW, are broken beyond belief and don't function, since they don't consistently handle the difference between know-casters and prepare-casters; worse, wizards are both, so the rules are extra weird for them.
What you end up with is this: a multiclass wizard 1/ranger 12 in the above situation has, say, major image in their spellbook - they can't prepare it, but they by definition know it, since a wizard's known spells are defined as the spells in their spellbook. They have 1 4th level spell slot. I can get into the utterly bizarre rules on how the L3 and down spell slots are handled, but by definition, they can use the L4 slot to cast major image without preparing it - it's a spell they know, and you can use multiclass slots above your highest known or preparable spell to cast any spell you know (I didn't actually check, so let's assume the highest level spell in that book is major image at spell level 3 - as soon as the wizard knows a level 4 spell, this rule will stop letting them pull this trick).
Absolutely no-one plays with the multiclass spellcasting rules RAW - instead, we all play as if it was competently written to match the clear RAI: you can use any slot you have to cast any spell you know if you're know-caster or prepare if you're a prepare-caster, and if you're a wizard (so you're both) you count as a prepare-caster for these rules (one of the explanations for why the RAW is so broken is that after the PHB was released, it was errataed to make wizards both kinds at once, and they failed to errata the multiclass rules to cover the change).
Some of us do (at least try to) follow the rules.
By the way, Wizard Spellcasting doesn't care what you know, only what you prepare. If you can't prepare a wizard spell, you can't cast it as a wizard. In your example, the ranger/wizard can only cast level 1 wizard spells, no matter what is in their book.
Nobody I know lets an Artificer 6/ Wizard 5 cast 4th or higher spells.
Multi-classing is EXTREMELY powerful, but not because you can cast the spells of all levels.
Instead it tremendously increases the # of spells PREPARED (Known for classes besides Wizard/Artificer).
An Artificer 11 can cast spells of up to 3rd level, and can prepare Int + level/2. For an Int of 18, that would be 9 spells. Plus 3 cantrips.
An Artificer 6/Wizard 5 can learn Artificers spells of only 2nd level, but Wizard spells of upto 3rd level. More importantly, he can prepare 7 Artificer spells and can prepare (int + wizard level) = 9 wizard spells, or a total of 16 spells. Plus six cantrips (2 Art + 4 Wiz).
Note, most of the time with multi-classing, one or two levels of the 'lower' class is sufficient. Usually the abilities of the higher level class are more desirable than that of the lower.
I understand the way this works, but I have a question regarding spells being added to my spells. Would I be able to cast it.
Here is an example:
Wizard 8/Cleric 2
If I take the Fey Touched feat I get Misty Step added and can cast them using appropriate level slots. So RAW I should be able to cast it using my Cleric slots?
A wizard 8/cleric 2 doesn't have "cleric slots". It has spell slots as a level 10 caster, which it can use for Misty Step in this example.
Your spells known and prepared are determined by your individual classes but your available spell slots are determined by the combination of classes your character has.
So in your example of being an 8th level Wizard and a 2nd level Cleric you would have 2 5th level spell slots. However you would only be able to know and prepare Wizard spells up to 4th level and Cleric spells up to 1st level.
If you learned Bless with your Fey Touched feat you get to cast it once per long rest at 1st level without expending any spell slots. You can also use your spell slots to cast Bless and can even cast it at a higher level. Using the 8 Wizard/2 Cleric from before you could even use one of your 5th level slots to bless 7 creatures at once. Also regardless of how you cast a spell granted by Fey Touched you use the ability you increased with the feat as your spellcasting modifier. So if our 8 Wizard/2 Cleric took Fey Touched to increase their Charisma they would use Charisma as the spellcasting modifier for the spells granted by Fey Touched.
You don't have Wizard slots vs Cleric slots. You can get spell slots from two sources - the Spellcasting class feature or the Pact Magic class feature. Warlocks(and Profane Soul Blood Hunters if your game allows them) get Pact Magic slots, everyone else gets Spellcasting slots. If you have levels in Warlock, you get Pact Magic slots according to your Warlock level. If you have levels in a single class/subclass that gets Spellcasting slots, you get Spellcasting slots according to your level in that class. If you have multiple classes/subclasses that get Spellcasting slots, you use the formula in Chapter 6 of the Players Handbook to determine your "spellcasting level" and you get Spellcasting slots appropriate to that level.
While Spellcasting slots and Pact Magic slots are determined separately, they are interchangeable for the purpose of casting spells, as well as most other abilities such as a Paladin's Divine Smite. The only abilities I'm aware of that specify a type of spell slot to be used are certain Warlock Invocations. Some let you cast a spell once a day but specify you have to use a Warlock spell slot. Eldritch Smite lets you use a spell slot for additional Force damage on a weapon similar to a Paladin's Divine Smite, but Eldritch Smite can only be used with Warlock spell slots.
You prepare the list of wizard spells that are available for you to cast. To do so, choose a number of wizard spells from your spellbook equal to your Intelligence modifier + your wizard level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. - wizard spellcasting feature.
Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table. On your adventures, you might find other spells that you can add to your spellbook (see the “Your Spellbook” sidebar). - the learning 1st-level+ feature on wizard.
RAW here, since spell slots mix when multiclassing, when a wizard prepares spells, they're not limited to spells of their wizard level for either learning spells as part of the level up or as part of the copying spells in general. so for casters who don't have a book of spells that they can copy, this ruling makes sense, but wizard's can spontaneously learn spells when they have the time money and reference material, and at least 1 spell slot of the spell/s level,
What is clear is that there is a hole in the rules RAW. My version of RAI is as follows- when you acquire a spellbook (magical or otherwise) that is not your original or a copy you can copy any spells in it of a level you are able to cast as per RAW from either your own or the new spellbook. Spells of a higher level than you can cast RAW are typically incomprehensible to you or, at best/worse you can cast them, once, out of the new spellbook but doing so wipes them from the spellbooks pages as if it were functioning as a scroll - with all the penalties and potential consequences of casting a higher level spell off a scroll.
Basically they are there but unavailable until you are able to scribe them into your original spellbook. This is why wizards keep a collection of spellbooks from other wizards they have defeated- to get spells they don’t know/can’t learn yet so they are available to learn as they progress.
otherwise the argument runs that the spellbook from the L11 Wizard bbeg your L7 party just killed is now your spellbook so why can’t you cast the L4/5 spells listed in it.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
You neglected to read the rest of the multiclassing rules:
"Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.
Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated with that focus."
You know and prepare spells for each class individually as if you were a single classed member of that class. So a wizard 3/cleric 3 has the spell slots of a 6th level caster but KNOWS and PREPARES spells as if there were a 3 wizard and a 3 cleric. So although they would have 3rd level spell slots they don't know any 3rd level spells, since neither class is high enough to know or prepare 3rd level spells.