So this came up in the Icewinddale game I’m currently running. Graviturgist wizard cast Magnify gravity near the crag cat. Rolled the save (not at advantage) and succeeded. So since spell turning says the spell now targets the caster, does that mean the AOE is now centered on the caster? Or just that the caster is effected by the spell (and, I’m assuming, can roll their own save against the effect)?
During the game i ruled that the AOE didn’t transfer, it just had no effect on the crag cat.
In the power's description, it specifically says it works only on spells that target only the cat. It specifically explains it does not apply to area spells. "The cat has advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only the cat (not an area)."
The cat should not have had advantage on the save. But you were right that it would not have been reflected back.
Yeah I knew it wouldn’t be rolling at advantage. The confusion came in the second sentence about reflecting. Since they were two separate statements, I read it as the spell being AOE only effected whether the he roll was at advantage or not. Not whether it was reflected upon a successful save. We were happy with the result but wanted to make sure I was ruling it correctly for the future since I’m sure it will come up again lol.
From my reading of that ability - none of it applies to AoE spells - neither advantage on saves nor the reflection. The spell turning ability only applies to spells that directly target the crag cat. We had a bard cast dissonant whispers on one and was disappointed to find themselves hurting and running away :) ... but the ability does nothing to AoE spells as far as I can tell.
They're two separate sentences to avoid having one overly-long run-on sentence, but the second is definitely referring back to the first. "If the cat's saving throw succeeds" can only be referring to "saving throws against any spell that targets only the cat" since no other saving throws have been mentioned up to that point.
So this came up in the Icewinddale game I’m currently running. Graviturgist wizard cast Magnify gravity near the crag cat. Rolled the save (not at advantage) and succeeded. So since spell turning says the spell now targets the caster, does that mean the AOE is now centered on the caster? Or just that the caster is effected by the spell (and, I’m assuming, can roll their own save against the effect)?
During the game i ruled that the AOE didn’t transfer, it just had no effect on the crag cat.
In the power's description, it specifically says it works only on spells that target only the cat. It specifically explains it does not apply to area spells. "The cat has advantage on saving throws against any spell that targets only the cat (not an area)."
The cat should not have had advantage on the save. But you were right that it would not have been reflected back.
Yeah I knew it wouldn’t be rolling at advantage. The confusion came in the second sentence about reflecting. Since they were two separate statements, I read it as the spell being AOE only effected whether the he roll was at advantage or not. Not whether it was reflected upon a successful save. We were happy with the result but wanted to make sure I was ruling it correctly for the future since I’m sure it will come up again lol.
From my reading of that ability - none of it applies to AoE spells - neither advantage on saves nor the reflection. The spell turning ability only applies to spells that directly target the crag cat. We had a bard cast dissonant whispers on one and was disappointed to find themselves hurting and running away :) ... but the ability does nothing to AoE spells as far as I can tell.
They're two separate sentences to avoid having one overly-long run-on sentence, but the second is definitely referring back to the first. "If the cat's saving throw succeeds" can only be referring to "saving throws against any spell that targets only the cat" since no other saving throws have been mentioned up to that point.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
If the two sentences were unrelated, then they would be in separate paragraphs.