The phrasing on the item only says "melee attack" in the reaction part, which is a fairly rare phrase that I sometimes see on spellcasters and is usually an additional effect on top of the weapon or spell attack (with a roll) provided that its range is melee. However, there are also fairly few "melee spell attacks" and 2 of them are somewhat on theme with Blood Fury Tattoo in that their damage is necrotic. Part of me is saying that the effects are pretty strong, but also, part of me says that this is similar to War Caster, but with a different condition for the reaction. It is a lot of action economy, but it does not have any conditions other than "melee attack"
You can use this on your turn, spending 1 of it's 10 charges to do 4d6 necrotic damage. And then again on a creature's turn when that creature damages you, spending another charge and doing another 4d6 necrotic damage, and that's on top of another attack.
If an Assassin Rogue ever got this then both his sneak attack and blood fury tattoo would be doubled due to the crit from the Assassinate ability.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
Wait - I'm confused. When did this item change? Most forum posts I see about it, it used to give a 19/20 crit range and deal 4d6 extra damage on a crit (which is weird because you'd just double the crit dice on that anyhow). Now it just adds 4d6 on any weapon hit in the dndbeyond builder. And presumably, a level 20 fighter would be able to chew through almost all of the charges in their first turn of combat...?
Wait - I'm confused. When did this item change? Most forum posts I see about it, it used to give a 19/20 crit range and deal 4d6 extra damage on a crit (which is weird because you'd just double the crit dice on that anyhow). Now it just adds 4d6 on any weapon hit in the dndbeyond builder. And presumably, a level 20 fighter would be able to chew through almost all of the charges in their first turn of combat...?
That was the playtest version. They changed it when it was officially released.
Wait - I'm confused. When did this item change? Most forum posts I see about it, it used to give a 19/20 crit range and deal 4d6 extra damage on a crit (which is weird because you'd just double the crit dice on that anyhow). Now it just adds 4d6 on any weapon hit in the dndbeyond builder. And presumably, a level 20 fighter would be able to chew through almost all of the charges in their first turn of combat...?
That was the playtest version. They changed it when it was officially released.
Makes sense - I am correct in that there's not a limit on uses per turn? Or am I missing something...
Wait - I'm confused. When did this item change? Most forum posts I see about it, it used to give a 19/20 crit range and deal 4d6 extra damage on a crit (which is weird because you'd just double the crit dice on that anyhow). Now it just adds 4d6 on any weapon hit in the dndbeyond builder. And presumably, a level 20 fighter would be able to chew through almost all of the charges in their first turn of combat...?
That was the playtest version. They changed it when it was officially released.
Makes sense - I am correct in that there's not a limit on uses per turn? Or am I missing something...
Lately the text seems to say "weapon attack" in the first half of the text and simply "mellee attack" in the reaction part. Not sure if this is an updated ruling or a misprint from the source text. Can anyone help?
Lately the text seems to say "weapon attack" in the first half of the text and simply "mellee attack" in the reaction part. Not sure if this is an updated ruling or a misprint from the source text. Can anyone help?
That is what it says. The first effect doesn't need to be a melee attack and the second effect doesn't need to be a weapon attack (it probably will though, since it doesn't let you cast a spell).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The phrasing on the item only says "melee attack" in the reaction part, which is a fairly rare phrase that I sometimes see on spellcasters and is usually an additional effect on top of the weapon or spell attack (with a roll) provided that its range is melee. However, there are also fairly few "melee spell attacks" and 2 of them are somewhat on theme with Blood Fury Tattoo in that their damage is necrotic. Part of me is saying that the effects are pretty strong, but also, part of me says that this is similar to War Caster, but with a different condition for the reaction. It is a lot of action economy, but it does not have any conditions other than "melee attack"
Am I correct in this interpretation?
You can use this on your turn, spending 1 of it's 10 charges to do 4d6 necrotic damage. And then again on a creature's turn when that creature damages you, spending another charge and doing another 4d6 necrotic damage, and that's on top of another attack.
If an Assassin Rogue ever got this then both his sneak attack and blood fury tattoo would be doubled due to the crit from the Assassinate ability.
A melee spell attack is a melee attack. You are good to go.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Wait - I'm confused. When did this item change? Most forum posts I see about it, it used to give a 19/20 crit range and deal 4d6 extra damage on a crit (which is weird because you'd just double the crit dice on that anyhow). Now it just adds 4d6 on any weapon hit in the dndbeyond builder. And presumably, a level 20 fighter would be able to chew through almost all of the charges in their first turn of combat...?
That was the playtest version. They changed it when it was officially released.
Makes sense - I am correct in that there's not a limit on uses per turn? Or am I missing something...
Correct. Only limited by charges.
Lately the text seems to say "weapon attack" in the first half of the text and simply "mellee attack" in the reaction part. Not sure if this is an updated ruling or a misprint from the source text. Can anyone help?
That is what it says. The first effect doesn't need to be a melee attack and the second effect doesn't need to be a weapon attack (it probably will though, since it doesn't let you cast a spell).