I know ultimately this will come down to my DM, but I'm curious about what others think.
I have a Dhampir Psi Warrior already with the Telekinetic feat using Intelligence.
At 6 (maybe 8) I plan to grab the Aberrant Dragonmark Feat for Mage Hand and Shield.
How are the 2 feats going to interact? Will Mage Hand be increased to a 60ft range or will I probably have 2 separate versions of a 30ft Mage Hand with a choice of Con or Int for my casting stat?
Does the order I'm taking these feats really matter?
You should end up with 60 foot invisible mage hand castable with either stat. Feats apply simultaneously, which means you choose their order - there's no rule saying you have to apply their rules in the order you took them.
This is the complete opposite of what I got from the place I asked lol They told me I can't double learn Mage Hand if Aberrant Dragonmark gives me the option to learn something different I have to choose something else (I don't think they'd actually read either feat).
Telekinetic gives you Mage hand based on Intelligence. Your Aberrant Dragonmark Mage Hand is cast with Constitution. Since Mage Hand doesn’t really interact with casting modifier, that isn’t really important... but it does demonstrate you’ve learned two meaningfully distinct versions of the spell, and both are on your sheet. But, Telekinetic’s range bonus doesn’t require you know a Mage Hand that matches its casting modifier, just cares if you know it from any other source. You do, so any version of the spell you cast will benefit from bonus range.
You can't learn a spell multiple times from the same source, but nothing stops you from learning it from multiple sources. And in this case, you even have a benefit for knowing it from multiple sources (extended range).
The way Telekinetic is worded, "if you already know this spell..." it implies you have to previously know the spell for it to be the 60ft. It doesn't explicitly say if you learn this spell another way it's range is increased to 60ft
I hadn't thought about how retroactive a lot of things are without saying they are; like +2 con is +1 hp per level past and future.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I know ultimately this will come down to my DM, but I'm curious about what others think.
I have a Dhampir Psi Warrior already with the Telekinetic feat using Intelligence.
At 6 (maybe 8) I plan to grab the Aberrant Dragonmark Feat for Mage Hand and Shield.
How are the 2 feats going to interact? Will Mage Hand be increased to a 60ft range or will I probably have 2 separate versions of a 30ft Mage Hand with a choice of Con or Int for my casting stat?
Does the order I'm taking these feats really matter?
Thanks
You should end up with 60 foot invisible mage hand castable with either stat. Feats apply simultaneously, which means you choose their order - there's no rule saying you have to apply their rules in the order you took them.
This is the complete opposite of what I got from the place I asked lol They told me I can't double learn Mage Hand if Aberrant Dragonmark gives me the option to learn something different I have to choose something else (I don't think they'd actually read either feat).
I didn't realize I'd get such polarized feedback
Thanks
Agree with Quinn.
Telekinetic gives you Mage hand based on Intelligence. Your Aberrant Dragonmark Mage Hand is cast with Constitution. Since Mage Hand doesn’t really interact with casting modifier, that isn’t really important... but it does demonstrate you’ve learned two meaningfully distinct versions of the spell, and both are on your sheet. But, Telekinetic’s range bonus doesn’t require you know a Mage Hand that matches its casting modifier, just cares if you know it from any other source. You do, so any version of the spell you cast will benefit from bonus range.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I also agree with quindraco and CC.
You can't learn a spell multiple times from the same source, but nothing stops you from learning it from multiple sources. And in this case, you even have a benefit for knowing it from multiple sources (extended range).
The Telekinetic Feat just out right tells you what happens if you have Mage Hand from another source.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
The way Telekinetic is worded, "if you already know this spell..." it implies you have to previously know the spell for it to be the 60ft. It doesn't explicitly say if you learn this spell another way it's range is increased to 60ft
I hadn't thought about how retroactive a lot of things are without saying they are; like +2 con is +1 hp per level past and future.