Scenario: Artificer uses catapult on its homunculus... Does the homunculus get a savings throw on impact to avoid its own damage (Evasion. If the homunculus is subjected to an effect that allows it to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, it instead takes no damage if it succeeds on the saving throw, and only half damage if it fails. It can't use this trait if it's incapacitated.) and when does a homunculus die? Same rules that apply to players or does it cease to exist once it hits 0 hp?
The Homunculus is a creature, not an object, so it can't be launched by Catapult.
If it were an object and launched, only the target gets to make a DEX save, so the theoretical Homunculus object would just take 1d8.
I think a Homunculus can make death saving throws like any other creature.
So i would have to put it is a box first... got it. ty!! However, the Eldritch Cannon could be catapulted as is, correct?
Probably. It's impossible to say for certain because, like most of TCOE's content, Eldritch Cannons are missing information any prior sourcebook would have contained - to whit, it's absolutely impossible for us to predict how much your DM will declare your Eldritch Cannon weighs, and catapult only works on targets in the 1-5 pound range. We know its minimum and maximum length and width, and with some educated guesswork on its implied minimum and maximum height that means we can guess its likely minimum and maximum volume. That's when we run out of ability to reason, because how on earth are we going to guess the density of pure magic? Eldritch Cannons aren't described as being made out of any particular material - the Artificer manifests them magically, and the class emphasizes over and over again that the tool they use to accomplish something means absolutely nothing about the accomplished something, so it's specious to assume the cannon is made out of wood or metal - although either assumption would give us a wide range of potential densities to work with, including unknowable densities, like mithral.
The cannon is an object. If it weighs 1-5 pounds, it can be catapulted. You would have to ask your DM how much your cannon weighs.
The Homunculus is a creature, not an object, so it can't be launched by Catapult.
If it were an object and launched, only the target gets to make a DEX save, so the theoretical Homunculus object would just take 1d8.
I think a Homunculus can make death saving throws like any other creature.
So i would have to put it is a box first... got it. ty!! However, the Eldritch Cannon could be catapulted as is, correct?
Probably. It's impossible to say for certain because, like most of TCOE's content, Eldritch Cannons are missing information any prior sourcebook would have contained - to whit, it's absolutely impossible for us to predict how much your DM will declare your Eldritch Cannon weighs, and catapult only works on targets in the 1-5 pound range. We know its minimum and maximum length and width, and with some educated guesswork on its implied minimum and maximum height that means we can guess its likely minimum and maximum volume. That's when we run out of ability to reason, because how on earth are we going to guess the density of pure magic? Eldritch Cannons aren't described as being made out of any particular material - the Artificer manifests them magically, and the class emphasizes over and over again that the tool they use to accomplish something means absolutely nothing about the accomplished something, so it's specious to assume the cannon is made out of wood or metal - although either assumption would give us a wide range of potential densities to work with, including unknowable densities, like mithral.
The cannon is an object. If it weighs 1-5 pounds, it can be catapulted. You would have to ask your DM how much your cannon weighs.
Knowing my DM (has the mind that D&D is a battle simulator) I'm better off just tossing my little guy while he is in an object. Which still makes me wonder... I know catapult says the object takes damage if it connects, would its contents take damage too? I know it is up to my DM to decide such things but having other peoples opinions helps to make an unwritten rule more concreate.
Knowing my DM (has the mind that D&D is a battle simulator) I'm better off just tossing my little guy while he is in an object. Which still makes me wonder... I know catapult says the object takes damage if it connects, would its contents take damage too? I know it is up to my DM to decide such things but having other peoples opinions helps to make an unwritten rule more concreate.
If I were your DM, I'd have the spell do what it says it does, so it would move the box without moving the haemonculus inside; the rear wall of the box would hit the haemonculus, and the spell would resolve. The haemonculus would have to re-roll its save until it failed, as it would always be the next available target in the line.
If your DM instead goes along with this, assuming your haemonculus's weight plus the weight of the box is no more than 5 pounds and no less than 1 pound, the precedent set by Tasha's falling rules is that the haemonculus is entitled to a dex save; on a success the box takes all of the damage, on a failure the damage is split in half between the box and the haemonculus. Note that said falling rules do not actually apply here, they're just the least dissimilar rules available.
Anything inside a box that gets damaged also tends to take damage without proper padding. You could toss padding inside the box, I doubt that it weighs much, but it made me wonder what your Tiny Homunculus weighs. There's no way to tell. It could easily be a five pound chunk of stone, or weigh even more.
Once it gets killed, it goes away, leaving it's ultra tiny heart in the space it formerly occupied. As a Construct, it was never alive in the first place, and it never becomes alive. There's no mention of any of life's processes, it needs not eat, sleep, breathe, bleed, or any of the other things that happen in life. It can't be healed with a healing spell, you have to use the Mending spell for that. No death saves for your Homunculus.
The Catapult spell won't throw it outside of a box, inside of a box the real world kind could break the things they were loaded with in the process of firing them, but that's not all that useful since those were huge things that threw Great Big Rocks, so all that does is set a precedent. If you're going to throw it yourself, there's little point in using a box at all. I would guess this is an Improvised Weapon, it would do 1d4, and is unlikely to break given that it has 4 hit points at the minimum, +3d4 hit dice a least, so 7 to 16 for an average of 12 At least you won't destroy your Tiny Homunculus.
It has Evasion, it gets +2 to the Dex save, and the most it could take is half damage if it fails the save. Two points isn't likely to do much of anything to a 12 hit point Construct. You can throw it a maximum of 60 feet, so it you toss it almost straight up in the air, it would take 6d6 damage and with a average damage of 18, that would be the end of poor Tiny Homunculus, but it can fly, so it's pretty much fine there unless it gets Incapacitated. It couldn't be petrified or stunned, but it could be paralyzed... It could be Restrained too, but that would be interesting unless you stuck it in something like a box... (hopefully this gives you enough information, numbers, and rules to satisfy your DM's desires for simulation)
If you have a mind to do damage with your Homunculus, it has a built in weapon that does 1d4 plus your Proficiency Bonus, and that's 2 at least, for 3 to 6 damage, if it needs the help you can throw it 60 feet and it can fly around at 30 feet to do the pew pew thing. You can have it deliver Touch spells at 120 feet but that risks it taking damage. On the whole I would say you should think outside of the box, and let it use Force Strike. That *is* one of the things it was built with, and for, when it comes to doing damage.
Scenario: Artificer uses catapult on its homunculus... Does the homunculus get a savings throw on impact to avoid its own damage (Evasion. If the homunculus is subjected to an effect that allows it to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, it instead takes no damage if it succeeds on the saving throw, and only half damage if it fails. It can't use this trait if it's incapacitated.) and when does a homunculus die? Same rules that apply to players or does it cease to exist once it hits 0 hp?
To the first question, you cannot catapult a homunculus. Catapult requires an object; homunculi are creatures.
To the second question, same rules as anyone else.
yes you, can throw guns.
Check out my homebrew subclasses spells magic items feats monsters races
i am a sauce priest
help create a world here
So i would have to put it is a box first... got it. ty!!
Probably. It's impossible to say for certain because, like most of TCOE's content, Eldritch Cannons are missing information any prior sourcebook would have contained - to whit, it's absolutely impossible for us to predict how much your DM will declare your Eldritch Cannon weighs, and catapult only works on targets in the 1-5 pound range. We know its minimum and maximum length and width, and with some educated guesswork on its implied minimum and maximum height that means we can guess its likely minimum and maximum volume. That's when we run out of ability to reason, because how on earth are we going to guess the density of pure magic? Eldritch Cannons aren't described as being made out of any particular material - the Artificer manifests them magically, and the class emphasizes over and over again that the tool they use to accomplish something means absolutely nothing about the accomplished something, so it's specious to assume the cannon is made out of wood or metal - although either assumption would give us a wide range of potential densities to work with, including unknowable densities, like mithral.
The cannon is an object. If it weighs 1-5 pounds, it can be catapulted. You would have to ask your DM how much your cannon weighs.
Knowing my DM (has the mind that D&D is a battle simulator) I'm better off just tossing my little guy while he is in an object. Which still makes me wonder... I know catapult says the object takes damage if it connects, would its contents take damage too? I know it is up to my DM to decide such things but having other peoples opinions helps to make an unwritten rule more concreate.
If I were your DM, I'd have the spell do what it says it does, so it would move the box without moving the haemonculus inside; the rear wall of the box would hit the haemonculus, and the spell would resolve. The haemonculus would have to re-roll its save until it failed, as it would always be the next available target in the line.
If your DM instead goes along with this, assuming your haemonculus's weight plus the weight of the box is no more than 5 pounds and no less than 1 pound, the precedent set by Tasha's falling rules is that the haemonculus is entitled to a dex save; on a success the box takes all of the damage, on a failure the damage is split in half between the box and the haemonculus. Note that said falling rules do not actually apply here, they're just the least dissimilar rules available.
Anything inside a box that gets damaged also tends to take damage without proper padding. You could toss padding inside the box, I doubt that it weighs much, but it made me wonder what your Tiny Homunculus weighs. There's no way to tell. It could easily be a five pound chunk of stone, or weigh even more.
Once it gets killed, it goes away, leaving it's ultra tiny heart in the space it formerly occupied. As a Construct, it was never alive in the first place, and it never becomes alive. There's no mention of any of life's processes, it needs not eat, sleep, breathe, bleed, or any of the other things that happen in life. It can't be healed with a healing spell, you have to use the Mending spell for that. No death saves for your Homunculus.
The Catapult spell won't throw it outside of a box, inside of a box the real world kind could break the things they were loaded with in the process of firing them, but that's not all that useful since those were huge things that threw Great Big Rocks, so all that does is set a precedent. If you're going to throw it yourself, there's little point in using a box at all. I would guess this is an Improvised Weapon, it would do 1d4, and is unlikely to break given that it has 4 hit points at the minimum, +3d4 hit dice a least, so 7 to 16 for an average of 12 At least you won't destroy your Tiny Homunculus.
It has Evasion, it gets +2 to the Dex save, and the most it could take is half damage if it fails the save. Two points isn't likely to do much of anything to a 12 hit point Construct. You can throw it a maximum of 60 feet, so it you toss it almost straight up in the air, it would take 6d6 damage and with a average damage of 18, that would be the end of poor Tiny Homunculus, but it can fly, so it's pretty much fine there unless it gets Incapacitated. It couldn't be petrified or stunned, but it could be paralyzed... It could be Restrained too, but that would be interesting unless you stuck it in something like a box... (hopefully this gives you enough information, numbers, and rules to satisfy your DM's desires for simulation)
If you have a mind to do damage with your Homunculus, it has a built in weapon that does 1d4 plus your Proficiency Bonus, and that's 2 at least, for 3 to 6 damage, if it needs the help you can throw it 60 feet and it can fly around at 30 feet to do the pew pew thing. You can have it deliver Touch spells at 120 feet but that risks it taking damage. On the whole I would say you should think outside of the box, and let it use Force Strike. That *is* one of the things it was built with, and for, when it comes to doing damage.
<Insert clever signature here>