I got in a situations in my last session, where I am not sure if I resolved it correctly.
I got a Rouge hiding behind a door in a corner using his Bonus Action. After his successful Stealth check, he Hold his attack. The trigger was when the Enemy comes through the door within Weapon range.
There were also two other PCs standing in the room about 15 feet away from the door.
My Monsters were not able to see any PCs at this point. On my turn I moved one Creature in the door way and it would be now able to see the PCs except the hidden Rouge. Then I let the Rouge take his Reaction to resolve his Attack he was holding. As the rules state, the trigger has to be completed, my question would be, if my Monster could have attacked another PC before the Rouge gets his attack, cause my Monster was able to see some of the PCs.
At that point, I just went with the Initiative order and let the Rouge go first, but I think I also could have let my Monster attack the other PCs before the Rouge gets this reaction.
I got in a situations in my last session, where I am not sure if I resolved it correctly.
I got a Rouge hiding behind a door in a corner using his Bonus Action. After his successful Stealth check, he Hold his attack. The trigger was when the Enemy comes through the door within Weapon range.
There were also two other PCs standing in the room about 15 feet away from the door.
My Monsters were not able to see any PCs at this point. On my turn I moved one Creature in the door way and it would be now able to see the PCs except the hidden Rouge. Then I let the Rouge take his Reaction to resolve his Attack he was holding. As the rules state, the trigger has to be completed, my question would be, if my Monster could have attacked another PC before the Rouge gets his attack, cause my Monster was able to see some of the PCs.
At that point, I just went with the Initiative order and let the Rouge go first, but I think I also could have let my Monster attack the other PCs before the Rouge gets this reaction.
Any thoughts on that ?
Recapping:
You have a Rogue that used Cunning Action to hide behind a door, then used the Ready action to Ready "attack any enemy that both comes through the door and is within weapon range".
That means the Rogue interrupts the triggering enemy before the enemy can do anything else - as soon as the enemy comes through the door and is within the weapon range, the Rogue's trigger has occurred, and the Rogue acts now, spending their reaction. The enemy can't take any actions prior the Rogue's reaction, in that context. It has nothing to do with initiative order per se - the enemy could have a higher initiative number than the Rogue and the rules interaction would be the same.
The monster came through the door before it could attack, the trigger should happen first. Even if it could and would attack the moment it could see the PCs, reactions occur when triggered (at which point they can be immediately used).
Also, initiative or whose turn it is, is irrelevant (unless specified in the reaction) to resolving reactions, the last reaction is resolved first (this only comes up if there are multiple reactions, since reactions always come first). Think of it like a stack of cards, you play them on top of each other, after no one else is playing any more, you resolve the results starting from the top of the stack (the last card played) to the bottom of the stack (the first card played).
That should cover reactions. If there's something I missed, don't be afraid to ask specifics.
The trigger fully resolve before the Ready attack goes off, so after the enemy comes through the door within Weapon range, the rogue immedietly attack as a reaction, before the enemy does anythign else.
Also, initiative or whose turn it is, is irrelevant (unless specified in the reaction) to resolving reactions, the last reaction is resolved first (this only comes up if there are multiple reactions, since reactions always come first). Think of it like a stack of cards, you play them on top of each other, after no one else is playing any more, you resolve the results starting from the top of the stack (the last card played) to the bottom of the stack (the first card played).
That should cover reactions. If there's something I missed, don't be afraid to ask specifics.
You mean like for a stack of Counterspells? (player 1 casts Fireball, enemy A Counterspells the Fireball, player 2 Counterspells the counterspell an so on). Yes in that case the last counterspell to trigger gets resolved, then if it fails to counter the counterspell it targeted then that counterspell rolls and so on down the line.
In other cases there might be reaction triggers that occur at the exact same time - like if there were two hidden rogues on either side of the doorframe and the monster entered both their reach at the same time, or a player moved simultaneously out of two goblins' reach triggering OAs from both. In those cases, I believe the governing principle is that the owner of the current turn chooses the order of resolution of any simultaneous events - so the monster would select which rogue ambushes first, or the player would choose which goblin gets the OA strike first.
And yes, all those things happen as soon as the trigger occurs, with no time for anything except another simultaneously triggered reaction to happen first.
No that's not true. If the monster has enough movement to walk past and out of the rogues melee range, your rule would prevent the held action from occurring. The held action stops everything as soon as the trigger condition is met.
1) You said the rogue stated his trigger as "when the Enemy comes through the door within Weapon range" But then you allowed the trigger to occur when the creature was in the doorway. By in the doorway do you mean like standing in the doorway, on the far side (prior to coming in) or on the near side (already having come in). By rights, the trigger should only have occurred if the creature was standing in the doorway or already through it. If that's what you did then that's fine, but if the creature was still on the far side of the door then you shouldn't have allowed the rogue's attack since the trigger of coming through the door hadn't happened. But that leads me to my second point:
2) Was there something that was keeping the creature from seeing the other PCs until it actually entered the room? If not, then was there reason the creature couldn't have attacked from the far side of the doorway, before crossing through the door. that would have allowed the attack to happen before the rogue could trigger their readied attack.
1) You said the rogue stated his trigger as "when the Enemy comes through the door within Weapon range" But then you allowed the trigger to occur when the creature was in the doorway. By in the doorway do you mean like standing in the doorway, on the far side (prior to coming in) or on the near side (already having come in). By rights, the trigger should only have occurred if the creature was standing in the doorway or already through it. If that's what you did then that's fine, but if the creature was still on the far side of the door then you shouldn't have allowed the rogue's attack since the trigger of coming through the door hadn't happened. But that leads me to my second point:
2) Was there something that was keeping the creature from seeing the other PCs until it actually entered the room? If not, then was there reason the creature couldn't have attacked from the far side of the doorway, before crossing through the door. that would have allowed the attack to happen before the rogue could trigger their readied attack.
The door way was within the Rouges weapon reach, 5-feet diagonal, that is why I let him resolve his readied action first. The other PCs were standing slightly shifted in the room so the Monster was only able to see them when standing in the door way, not before.
Thanks for the all the input. Its my first time DMing, so I just wanted to double check that I am not unfair to my players.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I got in a situations in my last session, where I am not sure if I resolved it correctly.
I got a Rouge hiding behind a door in a corner using his Bonus Action. After his successful Stealth check, he Hold his attack. The trigger was
when the Enemy comes through the door within Weapon range.
There were also two other PCs standing in the room about 15 feet away from the door.
My Monsters were not able to see any PCs at this point. On my turn I moved one Creature in the door way and it would be now able to see the PCs except the hidden Rouge.
Then I let the Rouge take his Reaction to resolve his Attack he was holding.
As the rules state, the trigger has to be completed, my question would be, if my Monster could have attacked another PC before the Rouge gets his attack, cause my Monster was
able to see some of the PCs.
At that point, I just went with the Initiative order and let the Rouge go first, but I think I also could have let my Monster attack the other PCs before the Rouge gets this
reaction.
Any thoughts on that ?
Recapping:
You have a Rogue that used Cunning Action to hide behind a door, then used the Ready action to Ready "attack any enemy that both comes through the door and is within weapon range".
That means the Rogue interrupts the triggering enemy before the enemy can do anything else - as soon as the enemy comes through the door and is within the weapon range, the Rogue's trigger has occurred, and the Rogue acts now, spending their reaction. The enemy can't take any actions prior the Rogue's reaction, in that context. It has nothing to do with initiative order per se - the enemy could have a higher initiative number than the Rogue and the rules interaction would be the same.
The monster came through the door before it could attack, the trigger should happen first. Even if it could and would attack the moment it could see the PCs, reactions occur when triggered (at which point they can be immediately used).
Also, initiative or whose turn it is, is irrelevant (unless specified in the reaction) to resolving reactions, the last reaction is resolved first (this only comes up if there are multiple reactions, since reactions always come first). Think of it like a stack of cards, you play them on top of each other, after no one else is playing any more, you resolve the results starting from the top of the stack (the last card played) to the bottom of the stack (the first card played).
That should cover reactions. If there's something I missed, don't be afraid to ask specifics.
The trigger fully resolve before the Ready attack goes off, so after the enemy comes through the door within Weapon range, the rogue immedietly attack as a reaction, before the enemy does anythign else.
You mean like for a stack of Counterspells? (player 1 casts Fireball, enemy A Counterspells the Fireball, player 2 Counterspells the counterspell an so on). Yes in that case the last counterspell to trigger gets resolved, then if it fails to counter the counterspell it targeted then that counterspell rolls and so on down the line.
In other cases there might be reaction triggers that occur at the exact same time - like if there were two hidden rogues on either side of the doorframe and the monster entered both their reach at the same time, or a player moved simultaneously out of two goblins' reach triggering OAs from both. In those cases, I believe the governing principle is that the owner of the current turn chooses the order of resolution of any simultaneous events - so the monster would select which rogue ambushes first, or the player would choose which goblin gets the OA strike first.
And yes, all those things happen as soon as the trigger occurs, with no time for anything except another simultaneously triggered reaction to happen first.
To echo those above me, the Rogue's Ready action triggers at the end of the monster's move, before the monster attacks.
No that's not true. If the monster has enough movement to walk past and out of the rogues melee range, your rule would prevent the held action from occurring. The held action stops everything as soon as the trigger condition is met.
I see a few things that are odd here:
1) You said the rogue stated his trigger as "when the Enemy comes through the door within Weapon range" But then you allowed the trigger to occur when the creature was in the doorway. By in the doorway do you mean like standing in the doorway, on the far side (prior to coming in) or on the near side (already having come in). By rights, the trigger should only have occurred if the creature was standing in the doorway or already through it. If that's what you did then that's fine, but if the creature was still on the far side of the door then you shouldn't have allowed the rogue's attack since the trigger of coming through the door hadn't happened. But that leads me to my second point:
2) Was there something that was keeping the creature from seeing the other PCs until it actually entered the room? If not, then was there reason the creature couldn't have attacked from the far side of the doorway, before crossing through the door. that would have allowed the attack to happen before the rogue could trigger their readied attack.
Ignore this.
What others said: the reaction occurs when it is triggered, not sometime after the trigger allowing other things to happen first.
It should also be noted, that you can choose not to perform your readied action. Not particularly useful in this case, but good to know.
The door way was within the Rouges weapon reach, 5-feet diagonal, that is why I let him resolve his readied action first. The other PCs were standing slightly shifted in the room so the Monster was only able to see them when standing in the door way, not before.
Thanks for the all the input. Its my first time DMing, so I just wanted to double check that I am not unfair to my players.