Few questions that came up in my last session around being swallowed.
From what I understand if a creature is swallowed they have the following conditions: "A swallowed creature is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the" said creature. (in general).
Meaning that a swallowed player/creature would not take damage from a ranged attack as it has has total cover.
Does this mean a Fireball and Lightning bolt would affect the swallowed player?
Does this also mean that a paladin aura or a spell like Aura of Life gives no benefit to the player/non hostile creature that was swallowed?
No, Fireball and Lightning Bolt cannot affect a swallowed character. This is true for most spells, including Aura of Life, unless they specifically ignore line of sight and cover in their description.
Typically spells need a clear line to the target and this includes AoEs. The Spell rules have a run-down of how the different AoEs work for targeting purposes, but it basically boils down to the caster needing a clear line to a point of origin, and the point of origin needing clear lines to the affected area. Cover can stop some AoEs from reaching you, unless the caster is clever enough to cast over or around the obstacle.
Paladin auras are not spells so don't have the same restrictions. They also make no mention of sight or cover, only range, so they should affect swallowed characters.
So Aura of Life says "Life-preserving energy radiates from you in an aura with a 30-foot radius. Until the spell ends, the aura moves with you, centered on you. Each nonhostile creature in the aura (including you) has resistance to necrotic damage, and its hit point maximum can’t be reduced. In addition, a nonhostile, living creature regains 1 hit point when it starts its turn in the aura with 0 hit points.' "
So you are saying that if a character was in a box within that 30-foot radius it would not benefit for the spell, even though line of sight is not required?
Also, is not Lightning bolt technically go through a creature? in a straight line?
The spells states: "A stroke of lightning forming a line 100 feet long and 5 feet wide blasts out from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw."
So you are saying that if a character was in a box within that 30-foot radius it would not benefit for the spell, even though line of sight is not required?
Yes, that's what I'm saying. By default, spells cannot go through total cover, unless there is an exception written in the spell description. The Aura of Life radiates from you, so if there is a solid wall between you and an ally, then your aura will not affect them.
Fireball does have an exception, in that it spreads around corners, but that doesn't allow it to penetrate a sealed box or a creature's gullet.
Also, is not Lightning bolt technically go through a creature? in a straight line?
The spells states: "A stroke of lightning forming a line 100 feet long and 5 feet wide blasts out from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw."
The bit about each creature in the line is common to AoE spells, and is not saying it goes through total cover. You cannot cast a Lightning Bolt through a wall for example, and in the case of a swallowed creature, it would not be affected since it has total cover.
A spell's effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location within the area of effect, that location isn't included in the spell's area. To block one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total cover.
That is RAW. However, I wouldn't complain if a DM wanted to carry over half damage to a swallowed character if the monster got hit by the spell.
Thanks Gruntler, your explanations are great help to understanding this situations.
But one more question (hopefully). You said that Paladin Auras are not treated the same, thus they would work. Little confused why these auras would work but not Aura of Life. Is it just the fact they are not quote "spells". Should they all not work? Though Paladin auras are not spells, they are magic and an aura right?
The spellcasting rules only apply to spells whereas the Paladin's auras are class features. While it may seem odd that they use different rules, I think it fair since the Paladin auras only have a radius of 10 feet until they reach level 18.
If you want examples of auras that behave differently, check out the Aura of Bloodthirst and Aura of Death traits in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, under Demonic Boons. The Aura of Bloodthirst functions within 10 feet just like the Paladin, while the Aura of Death states that it emanates from you and is blocked by total cover like AoE spells. It all comes down to the wording of each ability.
Are the Paladin's auras magical? Surprisingly, I have to say no. Here's the guidance from Sage Advice on magical effects so you can decide for yourself:
Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature:
Is it a magic item?
Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its description?
Is it a spell attack?
Is it fueled by the use of spell slots?
Does its description say it’s magical?
If your answer to any of those questions is yes, the feature is magical.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Few questions that came up in my last session around being swallowed.
From what I understand if a creature is swallowed they have the following conditions: "A swallowed creature is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the" said creature. (in general).
Meaning that a swallowed player/creature would not take damage from a ranged attack as it has has total cover.
Does this mean a Fireball and Lightning bolt would affect the swallowed player?
Does this also mean that a paladin aura or a spell like Aura of Life gives no benefit to the player/non hostile creature that was swallowed?
No, Fireball and Lightning Bolt cannot affect a swallowed character. This is true for most spells, including Aura of Life, unless they specifically ignore line of sight and cover in their description.
Typically spells need a clear line to the target and this includes AoEs. The Spell rules have a run-down of how the different AoEs work for targeting purposes, but it basically boils down to the caster needing a clear line to a point of origin, and the point of origin needing clear lines to the affected area. Cover can stop some AoEs from reaching you, unless the caster is clever enough to cast over or around the obstacle.
Paladin auras are not spells so don't have the same restrictions. They also make no mention of sight or cover, only range, so they should affect swallowed characters.
So Aura of Life says "Life-preserving energy radiates from you in an aura with a 30-foot radius. Until the spell ends, the aura moves with you, centered on you. Each nonhostile creature in the aura (including you) has resistance to necrotic damage, and its hit point maximum can’t be reduced. In addition, a nonhostile, living creature regains 1 hit point when it starts its turn in the aura with 0 hit points.' "
So you are saying that if a character was in a box within that 30-foot radius it would not benefit for the spell, even though line of sight is not required?
Also, is not Lightning bolt technically go through a creature? in a straight line?
The spells states: "A stroke of lightning forming a line 100 feet long and 5 feet wide blasts out from you in a direction you choose. Each creature in the line must make a Dexterity saving throw."
Yes, that's what I'm saying. By default, spells cannot go through total cover, unless there is an exception written in the spell description. The Aura of Life radiates from you, so if there is a solid wall between you and an ally, then your aura will not affect them.
Fireball does have an exception, in that it spreads around corners, but that doesn't allow it to penetrate a sealed box or a creature's gullet.
The bit about each creature in the line is common to AoE spells, and is not saying it goes through total cover. You cannot cast a Lightning Bolt through a wall for example, and in the case of a swallowed creature, it would not be affected since it has total cover.
That is RAW. However, I wouldn't complain if a DM wanted to carry over half damage to a swallowed character if the monster got hit by the spell.
Thanks Gruntler, your explanations are great help to understanding this situations.
But one more question (hopefully). You said that Paladin Auras are not treated the same, thus they would work. Little confused why these auras would work but not Aura of Life. Is it just the fact they are not quote "spells". Should they all not work? Though Paladin auras are not spells, they are magic and an aura right?
No worries, how else will we learn. :-)
The spellcasting rules only apply to spells whereas the Paladin's auras are class features. While it may seem odd that they use different rules, I think it fair since the Paladin auras only have a radius of 10 feet until they reach level 18.
If you want examples of auras that behave differently, check out the Aura of Bloodthirst and Aura of Death traits in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, under Demonic Boons. The Aura of Bloodthirst functions within 10 feet just like the Paladin, while the Aura of Death states that it emanates from you and is blocked by total cover like AoE spells. It all comes down to the wording of each ability.
Are the Paladin's auras magical? Surprisingly, I have to say no. Here's the guidance from Sage Advice on magical effects so you can decide for yourself: