I think this reading of rules for reactions is what's throwing me here. "If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so". This seems to imply that if a reaction spell doesn't specify it's limitations that it can be cast whenever, simply using your use of a reaction for the round. For example, silvery barbs being useable in response to an enemy making a saving throw.
So my question is, can a sorcerer use their metamagic to quicken a spell and then still use their reaction to silvery barbs an enemy's saving throw to said spell. Based on the reading for bonus actions, no - but based on the reading for reactions, yes. Specific vs general, so which ruling is more specific? They both seem very specific hahaha
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Reactions
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.
The sorcerer cannot. A quickend spell uses the bonus action, which means a reaction spell on their turn is no longer available.
Well, they can still cast a cantrip as a reaction, but not a levelled spell.
No, that's not correct. The rule isn't that you can only cast cantrips, it's that you can only cast cantrips with a cast time of one action. Granted, I think there's some question about what the cast time of a one-action cantrip cast as a reaction with the War Caster feat is, so I'll concede that grey area, but spells like the One D&D playtest Guidance or Resistance are unavailable.
"Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn? There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn.
If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it.
Can you also cast a reaction spell on your turn? You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball."
Jeremy Crawford also addressed "was it intentional to make rules so that reaction spells and bonus action spells can't be used on the same turn?" A: "Yes"
Also keep in mind when you're cast 2 spells simultaneously like that counterspelling the counterspelled fireball example where you're simultaneously casting both fireball and counterspell... you need to provide the components for these spells. So you'll wanna have both hands free, as both Fireball and Counterspell have somatic components.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I can only speak for myself, but I can perform the somatic components of two simultaneous spells with one hand. It's well known that the somatic component for counterspell is a middle finger.
Reactions spells are exceptions to the rule against casting two spells during your turrn.
"Can you also cast a reaction spell on your turn? You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball."
Reactions spells are exceptions to the rule against casting two spells during your turrn.
There is no rule against casting two spells during your turn. There is a rule against casting anything other than one-action cantrips on your turn if you also cast a spell as a bonus action. Reaction spells provide no exception to that rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The sorcerer cannot. A quickend spell uses the bonus action, which means a reaction spell on their turn is no longer available.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Well, they can still cast a cantrip as a reaction, but not a levelled spell.
No, that's not correct. The rule isn't that you can only cast cantrips, it's that you can only cast cantrips with a cast time of one action. Granted, I think there's some question about what the cast time of a one-action cantrip cast as a reaction with the War Caster feat is, so I'll concede that grey area, but spells like the One D&D playtest Guidance or Resistance are unavailable.
From the Sage Advice:
"Is there a limit on the number of spells you can cast on your turn? There’s no rule that says you can cast only X number of spells on your turn, but there are some practical limits. The main limiting factor is your action. Most spells require an action to cast, and unless you use a feature like the fighter’s Action Surge, you have only one action on your turn.
If you cast a spell, such as healing word, with a bonus action, you can cast another spell with your action, but that other spell must be a cantrip. Keep in mind that this particular limit is specific to spells that use a bonus action. For instance, if you cast a second spell using Action Surge, you aren’t limited to casting a cantrip with it.
Can you also cast a reaction spell on your turn? You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball."
https://dnd.wizards.com/sage-advice/ability-check
Also, Jeremy Crawford commented on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1151287969312985089
Jeremy Crawford also addressed "was it intentional to make rules so that reaction spells and bonus action spells can't be used on the same turn?" A: "Yes"
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/729081361059827712
Also keep in mind when you're cast 2 spells simultaneously like that counterspelling the counterspelled fireball example where you're simultaneously casting both fireball and counterspell... you need to provide the components for these spells. So you'll wanna have both hands free, as both Fireball and Counterspell have somatic components.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I can only speak for myself, but I can perform the somatic components of two simultaneous spells with one hand. It's well known that the somatic component for counterspell is a middle finger.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Reactions spells are exceptions to the rule against casting two spells during your turrn.
"Can you also cast a reaction spell on your turn? You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball."
From Sage Advice : https://media.wizards.com/2015/downloads/dnd/SA_Compendium_1.0.pdf
There is no rule against casting two spells during your turn. There is a rule against casting anything other than one-action cantrips on your turn if you also cast a spell as a bonus action. Reaction spells provide no exception to that rule.