So, if my Dual Wielder was fighting with two short swords, then sees an enemy come within 10', could he choose to put away one of the short swords and grab his whip?
I had taken the wording "You can draw orstow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one" to mean you could but recently saw something online that says no. It's the "or" that some people are pointing to. I took it as inclusive, meaning either or both. Others take it as exclusive, meaning one or the other. But if the rules said "Draw AND stow" that would be even more confusing.
I would take the "or" to mean that you can draw two one-handed weapons, stow two one-handed weapons, or stow one one-handed weapon and draw one one-handed weapon. Although some people might see the wording of the feat as describing the fact that each hand is stowing/drawing the weapon held in that hand - rather than the stow one/draw one, which suggests the same hand is doing both things.
But note that in your example the stow/draw can't be done as part of an Opportunity Attack - so let's hope you saw the enemy before the end of your turn so that you could stow/draw at that point.
So, if my Dual Wielder was fighting with two short swords, then sees an enemy come within 10', could he choose to put away one of the short swords and grab his whip?
I had taken the wording "You can draw orstow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one" to mean you could but recently saw something online that says no. It's the "or" that some people are pointing to. I took it as inclusive, meaning either or both. Others take it as exclusive, meaning one or the other. But if the rules said "Draw AND stow" that would be even more confusing.
Any thoughts?
As a DM i'd let a Dual Wielder stow a weapon and draw another but the way i read it let you you draw or stow two weapons instead of one, when doing so in tandem with your movement and action.
Interacting with Objects Around: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
So, if my Dual Wielder was fighting with two short swords, then sees an enemy come within 10', could he choose to put away one of the short swords and grab his whip?
I had taken the wording "You can draw orstow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one" to mean you could but recently saw something online that says no. It's the "or" that some people are pointing to. I took it as inclusive, meaning either or both. Others take it as exclusive, meaning one or the other. But if the rules said "Draw AND stow" that would be even more confusing.
Any thoughts?
You can do 2 draws or 2 stows, but not a draw and a stow, RAW - but most DMs allow a stow-and-draw as a single item interaction anyway, even without the feat (which would mean with the feat you could do 2 stow-and-draws). Ask your DM.
Drawing a weapon uses the “free object interaction.” So does stowing a weapon. The feat lets you draw two or stow two weapons with one such interaction. Doing two free object interactions in a round uses the Action - not the bonus action - of a character.
So a dual wield feat character could stow two short swords as their Free action object interaction and then they would need to use their action to draw two whips as an example. A character without the feat using two daggers could sheathe one dagger as a free interaction and a second dagger as an Action one round, then draw short as a free action the next round and the second short sword as that second round’s Action.
Sage advice clarified that simply “dropping” held weapons instead of stowing/sheathing them does not use the free item interaction or any kind of action at all, nor does changing the way you hold a versatile weapon. So a dual wielder could drop two short swords as a “non action” and draw two whips as a free object interaction and then attack with their attack action and bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, if my Dual Wielder was fighting with two short swords, then sees an enemy come within 10', could he choose to put away one of the short swords and grab his whip?
I had taken the wording "You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one" to mean you could but recently saw something online that says no. It's the "or" that some people are pointing to. I took it as inclusive, meaning either or both. Others take it as exclusive, meaning one or the other. But if the rules said "Draw AND stow" that would be even more confusing.
Any thoughts?
I would take the "or" to mean that you can draw two one-handed weapons, stow two one-handed weapons, or stow one one-handed weapon and draw one one-handed weapon. Although some people might see the wording of the feat as describing the fact that each hand is stowing/drawing the weapon held in that hand - rather than the stow one/draw one, which suggests the same hand is doing both things.
But note that in your example the stow/draw can't be done as part of an Opportunity Attack - so let's hope you saw the enemy before the end of your turn so that you could stow/draw at that point.
As a DM i'd let a Dual Wielder stow a weapon and draw another but the way i read it let you you draw or stow two weapons instead of one, when doing so in tandem with your movement and action.
You can do 2 draws or 2 stows, but not a draw and a stow, RAW - but most DMs allow a stow-and-draw as a single item interaction anyway, even without the feat (which would mean with the feat you could do 2 stow-and-draws). Ask your DM.
Drawing a weapon uses the “free object interaction.” So does stowing a weapon. The feat lets you draw two or stow two weapons with one such interaction. Doing two free object interactions in a round uses the Action - not the bonus action - of a character.
So a dual wield feat character could stow two short swords as their Free action object interaction and then they would need to use their action to draw two whips as an example. A character without the feat using two daggers could sheathe one dagger as a free interaction and a second dagger as an Action one round, then draw short as a free action the next round and the second short sword as that second round’s Action.
Sage advice clarified that simply “dropping” held weapons instead of stowing/sheathing them does not use the free item interaction or any kind of action at all, nor does changing the way you hold a versatile weapon. So a dual wielder could drop two short swords as a “non action” and draw two whips as a free object interaction and then attack with their attack action and bonus action.