Can I cast Animal Friendship using my action, Spiritual Weapon using my bonus action and Counterspell using my reaction in case of a trigger present? None of them require concentration.
Can I make a parallel with the example below?
A player with two weapons who can attack with the weapon in one of his hands and with a bonus action can attack with a weapon in the second hand and with his reaction attack an enemy if he provokes an attack of opportunity.
You can only cast a cantrip if you cast a leveled spell. So you could cast Spiritual Weapon and Sacred Flame on your turn, for example, but not animal Friendship. You're also able to Counterspell while you're trying to cast another spell if someone is trying to interrupt you with their own Counterspell. So yes you could cast three as long as one of them is a cantrip.
You can only cast a cantrip if you cast a leveled spell. So you could cast Spiritual Weapon and Sacred Flame on your turn, for example, but not animal Friendship. You're also able to Counterspell while you're trying to cast another spell if someone is trying to interrupt you with their own Counterspell. So yes you could cast three as long as one of them is a cantrip.
That’s not quite correct. And I may get it wrong myself, but if you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast, is a cantrip. And it doesn’t matter what order you cast, if you cast a leveled spell as an action you cannot cast anything as a bonus action. Period.
Now, what I’m fuzzy on is if you cast a spell as a bonus action and a cantrip as an action can you still use counterspell because of the bonus action casting restriction
Edit: your example of spiritual weapon and sacred flame is correct but the wording of your first sentence was slightly off.
There are no general limits to the number of spells you can cast each turn. But there is an important rule with bonus action spells:
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
So by casting Spiritual weapon, you cannot cast either of the other spells you mentioned on the same turn. You can't cast Animal Friendship because it isn't a cantrip, and you can't cast Counterspell because it isn't a cantrip and because it has a casting time of 1 reaction.
However, if you set up Spiritual Weapon on a previous turn, you could cast both Animal Friendship and Counterspell on the same turn, while also making an attack with your Spiritual weapon (as you aren't casting the spell, you are just using the bonus action provided by the spell effect).
Can I cast Animal Friendship using my action, Spiritual Weapon using my bonus action and Counterspell using my reaction in case of a trigger present? None of them require concentration.
Can I make a parallel with the example below?
A player with two weapons who can attack with the weapon in one of his hands and with a bonus action can attack with a weapon in the second hand and with his reaction attack an enemy if he provokes an attack of opportunity.
You can't cast them as others have already said.
Two-Weapon Fighting has it's own rules and limitations and specifically doesn't prevent reaction. Casting a spell as a bonus action not only limit you to the level of spell you can cast (cantrip), but also the action used to do so (1 action).
The only way I am aware of that you can cast 3 spells in 9ne turn is by taking a dip 8nto Fighter for action surge.
Then you cast cast fireball (1), when the enemy tries to counterspell it you counterspell the counterspell (2) and you use Action Surge to cast fireball again.(3). You would still have your bonus action but would not be able to cast a spell with it.
The only way I am aware of that you can cast 3 spells in 9ne turn is by taking a dip 8nto Fighter for action surge.
Then you cast cast fireball (1), when the enemy tries to counterspell it you counterspell the counterspell (2) and you use Action Surge to cast fireball again.(3). You would still have your bonus action but would not be able to cast a spell with it.
This is legal, but it's not the only way. For example, any Sorcerer with a Fighter dip can triple-cantrip: 2 cantrips from Action and Surged Action, and then the Bonus Action one from Quickened. Cantrips are spells, so that's 3 spells in one turn.
The only way I am aware of that you can cast 3 spells in 9ne turn is by taking a dip 8nto Fighter for action surge.
Then you cast cast fireball (1), when the enemy tries to counterspell it you counterspell the counterspell (2) and you use Action Surge to cast fireball again.(3). You would still have your bonus action but would not be able to cast a spell with it.
This is legal, but it's not the only way. For example, any Sorcerer with a Fighter dip can triple-cantrip: 2 cantrips from Action and Surged Action, and then the Bonus Action one from Quickened. Cantrips are spells, so that's 3 spells in one turn.
But that is using a dip into fighter which I still think is the only way, but yes you as well as using your 2 actions and a reaction to cast spels you can also use your two actions and a bonus action as long as they are all cantrips (they don't even need to be a sorcerer if your bonus action spell is something like magic stone or shillelagh.
With Action Surge and a few feats or multiclassing you could actually cast 4 spells a turn. Cast a cantrip of your choice, Action Surge and cast another cantrip of your choice. Close to melee range of target and Quicken Spell (Sorcerer multiclass or Metamagic Adept feat) and cast Dissonant Whispers (Bard multiclass or Fey Touched feat). If target fails save and flees it triggers a Opportunity Attack with which you can hit them with another cantrip (Warcaster feat).
Without Action Surge you can still pull off 3 spells a turn.
You cannot cast three spells on your turn every turn, but if you set things up the right way, it can be done on occasion. When it is your turn, and you want to cast a combination of spells, here is a simple flowchart that will help you determine what combination you can cast:
You can only cast a cantrip if you cast a leveled spell. So you could cast Spiritual Weapon and Sacred Flame on your turn, for example, but not animal Friendship. You're also able to Counterspell while you're trying to cast another spell if someone is trying to interrupt you with their own Counterspell. So yes you could cast three as long as one of them is a cantrip.
That’s not quite correct. And I may get it wrong myself, but if you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast, is a cantrip. And it doesn’t matter what order you cast, if you cast a leveled spell as an action you cannot cast anything as a bonus action. Period.
That's where I think you're wrong, technically. Most casters can't cast anything as a bonus action after casting a leveled spell with their action simply because there are no bonus action cantrips. However, if you're playing a sorcerer with Quickened Spell, or if you have the Metamagic Adept feat from Tasha's and have access to QS from there, you can still use your action to cast a leveled spell, Quicken a cantrip, and then cast it. There's no restriction against bonus action spells if you've already cast a leveled spell, it just has to be that of the two spells you can potentially cast on your turn (excluding reactions), 1 must be either a leveled spell or a cantrip, and the other *must* be a cantrip.
You can cast 3 spells in a turn provided 1 of them is a cantrip, one of them is a bonus action, and one is a reaction.
There's no restriction against bonus action spells if you've already cast a leveled spell, it just has to be that of the two spells you can potentially cast on your turn (excluding reactions), 1 must be either a leveled spell or a cantrip, and the other *must* be a cantrip.
You can cast 3 spells in a turn provided 1 of them is a cantrip, one of them is a bonus action, and one is a reaction.
Not according to Tasha's clarification;
Bonus Action Spell: If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
There's no restriction against bonus action spells if you've already cast a leveled spell, it just has to be that of the two spells you can potentially cast on your turn (excluding reactions), 1 must be either a leveled spell or a cantrip, and the other *must* be a cantrip.
You can cast 3 spells in a turn provided 1 of them is a cantrip, one of them is a bonus action, and one is a reaction.
Not according to Tasha's clarification;
Bonus Action Spell: If you want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action, remember that you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
If on your turn you already casted a spell with level or reaction, no bonus action spell possible.
If on your turn you already casted a spell as a bonus action, no leveled or reaction spell possible.
The rule you cited says nothing about if you've already cast a leveled spell with your action. The rule merely states that if you start your turn off with a bonus action, you need to follow it up with a cantrip that takes an action.
If however, you start your turn casting a leveled spell with an action, you can still cast a cantrip with a bonus action, provided you have access to Quickened Spell.
The rule you cited says nothing about if you've already cast a leveled spell with your action. The rule merely states that if you start your turn off with a bonus action, you need to follow it up with a cantrip that takes an action.
If however, you start your turn casting a leveled spell with an action, you can still cast a cantrip with a bonus action, provided you have access to Quickened Spell.
The rule i quoted on the contrary specifically say that.
"you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action"
The rule you cited says nothing about if you've already cast a leveled spell with your action. The rule merely states that if you start your turn off with a bonus action, you need to follow it up with a cantrip that takes an action.
If however, you start your turn casting a leveled spell with an action, you can still cast a cantrip with a bonus action, provided you have access to Quickened Spell.
The rule i quoted on the contrary specifically say that.
"you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action"
It's not the order that is the problem, or even what the rule prescribes. All that rule means is you can't cast 2 leveled spells ina turn; one has to be a leveled spell and one has to be a cantrip. Here's he rule with the part I'm referring to, bolded as it is explicitly stated in the rule:
"you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action." It literally says you can still cast cantrips.
But also again, this rule does not even address my original point. This rule you keep citing is in the case where the leveled spell you're casting is the bonus action. My original point was that if the leveled spell you cast was the ACTION, and you had a way to change the casting time of a CANTRIP to a BONUS ACTION (i.e. quickened spell), you can cast 3 spells in a turn using your action, bonus action, and reaction.
I'm not saying "just do them in a different order", I'm saying "do a different thing from that."
The difference, again, is that the leveled spell is cast with the ACTION, and the cantrip becomes the BONUS ACTION.
Are you suggesting you can get around the rule by casting the prohibited combination of spells in a different order?
The only prohibition in the rules is that you can't cast leveled spells with both your action and bonus action. You're bonus action and action must be some combination of 1 and no more leveled spells, and 1 cantrip. Or you could do two cantrips, provided you had access to an ability which changed the casting time of a cantrip from 1 action to a bonus action, like Quickened Spell, which exists for almost that sole purpose.
You can only cast a cantrip if you cast a leveled spell. So you could cast Spiritual Weapon and Sacred Flame on your turn, for example, but not animal Friendship. You're also able to Counterspell while you're trying to cast another spell if someone is trying to interrupt you with their own Counterspell. So yes you could cast three as long as one of them is a cantrip.
That’s not quite correct. And I may get it wrong myself, but if you cast any spell (leveled or cantrip) as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast, is a cantrip. And it doesn’t matter what order you cast, if you cast a leveled spell as an action you cannot cast anything as a bonus action. Period.
Now, what I’m fuzzy on is if you cast a spell as a bonus action and a cantrip as an action can you still use counterspell because of the bonus action casting restriction
Edit: your example of spiritual weapon and sacred flame is correct but the wording of your first sentence was slightly off.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
There are no general limits to the number of spells you can cast each turn. But there is an important rule with bonus action spells:
So by casting Spiritual weapon, you cannot cast either of the other spells you mentioned on the same turn. You can't cast Animal Friendship because it isn't a cantrip, and you can't cast Counterspell because it isn't a cantrip and because it has a casting time of 1 reaction.
However, if you set up Spiritual Weapon on a previous turn, you could cast both Animal Friendship and Counterspell on the same turn, while also making an attack with your Spiritual weapon (as you aren't casting the spell, you are just using the bonus action provided by the spell effect).
Counterspell can be cast as a reaction on your turn even when your casting another spell. If, for example, you are casting let's say fireball, and an enemy wizard tries to counterspell your spell, you can - with your reaction - cast counterspell back at them and fireball would go off. See this post https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/9890-can-you-counterspell-while-casting-another-spell. It contains a sage advice link which gives the official ruling.
You can't cast them as others have already said.
Two-Weapon Fighting has it's own rules and limitations and specifically doesn't prevent reaction. Casting a spell as a bonus action not only limit you to the level of spell you can cast (cantrip), but also the action used to do so (1 action).
The only way I am aware of that you can cast 3 spells in 9ne turn is by taking a dip 8nto Fighter for action surge.
Then you cast cast fireball (1), when the enemy tries to counterspell it you counterspell the counterspell (2) and you use Action Surge to cast fireball again.(3). You would still have your bonus action but would not be able to cast a spell with it.
This is legal, but it's not the only way. For example, any Sorcerer with a Fighter dip can triple-cantrip: 2 cantrips from Action and Surged Action, and then the Bonus Action one from Quickened. Cantrips are spells, so that's 3 spells in one turn.
But that is using a dip into fighter which I still think is the only way, but yes you as well as using your 2 actions and a reaction to cast spels you can also use your two actions and a bonus action as long as they are all cantrips (they don't even need to be a sorcerer if your bonus action spell is something like magic stone or shillelagh.
Only as long as you haven't cast a spell as a bonus action, which applies the "Only cantrips" to any and all other spell casting on your turn.
With Action Surge and a few feats or multiclassing you could actually cast 4 spells a turn. Cast a cantrip of your choice, Action Surge and cast another cantrip of your choice. Close to melee range of target and Quicken Spell (Sorcerer multiclass or Metamagic Adept feat) and cast Dissonant Whispers (Bard multiclass or Fey Touched feat). If target fails save and flees it triggers a Opportunity Attack with which you can hit them with another cantrip (Warcaster feat).
Without Action Surge you can still pull off 3 spells a turn.
You cannot cast three spells on your turn every turn, but if you set things up the right way, it can be done on occasion. When it is your turn, and you want to cast a combination of spells, here is a simple flowchart that will help you determine what combination you can cast:
"Not all those who wander are lost"
That's where I think you're wrong, technically. Most casters can't cast anything as a bonus action after casting a leveled spell with their action simply because there are no bonus action cantrips. However, if you're playing a sorcerer with Quickened Spell, or if you have the Metamagic Adept feat from Tasha's and have access to QS from there, you can still use your action to cast a leveled spell, Quicken a cantrip, and then cast it. There's no restriction against bonus action spells if you've already cast a leveled spell, it just has to be that of the two spells you can potentially cast on your turn (excluding reactions), 1 must be either a leveled spell or a cantrip, and the other *must* be a cantrip.
You can cast 3 spells in a turn provided 1 of them is a cantrip, one of them is a bonus action, and one is a reaction.
Not according to Tasha's clarification;
If on your turn you already casted a spell with level or reaction, no bonus action spell possible.
If on your turn you already casted a spell as a bonus action, no leveled or reaction spell possible.
The rule you cited says nothing about if you've already cast a leveled spell with your action. The rule merely states that if you start your turn off with a bonus action, you need to follow it up with a cantrip that takes an action.
If however, you start your turn casting a leveled spell with an action, you can still cast a cantrip with a bonus action, provided you have access to Quickened Spell.
Are you suggesting you can get around the rule by casting the prohibited combination of spells in a different order?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The rule i quoted on the contrary specifically say that.
"you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action"
It's not the order that is the problem, or even what the rule prescribes. All that rule means is you can't cast 2 leveled spells ina turn; one has to be a leveled spell and one has to be a cantrip. Here's he rule with the part I'm referring to, bolded as it is explicitly stated in the rule:
"you can't cast any other spells before or after it on the same turn, except for cantrips with a casting time of 1 action." It literally says you can still cast cantrips.
But also again, this rule does not even address my original point. This rule you keep citing is in the case where the leveled spell you're casting is the bonus action. My original point was that if the leveled spell you cast was the ACTION, and you had a way to change the casting time of a CANTRIP to a BONUS ACTION (i.e. quickened spell), you can cast 3 spells in a turn using your action, bonus action, and reaction.
I'm not saying "just do them in a different order", I'm saying "do a different thing from that."
The difference, again, is that the leveled spell is cast with the ACTION, and the cantrip becomes the BONUS ACTION.
The only prohibition in the rules is that you can't cast leveled spells with both your action and bonus action. You're bonus action and action must be some combination of 1 and no more leveled spells, and 1 cantrip. Or you could do two cantrips, provided you had access to an ability which changed the casting time of a cantrip from 1 action to a bonus action, like Quickened Spell, which exists for almost that sole purpose.