Some monsters, like the demilich and the deep scion unleash powerful AOEs that affect every creature in range. These monsters don't seem to exclude themselves, however. Are they, in fact, not obligated to subject themselves to these effects? And if they are not, is it actually possible for a player to stand inside their own fireball unharmed?
A strict RAW reading of any game feature that doesn't specifically exclude you from an effect affecting all creature within x feet of you could lead to think it will also affect you.
For those interested though, there are several answers from the Devs giving the impression that it isn't intended;
@Lulcal Does the second effect of Lightning Arrow, where it deals 2D8 damage to targets around, also affects the original target?
@JeremyECrawford The splash damage of lightning arrow affects each creature within 10 ft. of the target, not the target. #DnD
@JohaaanSwe Hello @JeremyECrawford,regarding UE Arcana, Path of the zealot, does Divine fury "each creature within 5 feet" damage the barbarian aswell?
@JeremyECrawford If I say, "Each person within 5 feet of me gets a cupcake," an idiomatic reading of that English doesn't lead to me getting a cupcake. #DnD
For creatures that it doesn’t make sense/is unclear RAW, you probably just need to make a ruling about it. It does seem like they usually mean all other creatures, as long as it’s always centered on the user.
See the Paladin auras, which specify “whenever you or a friendly creature within 10 feet of you”. Generally, if it’s always centered on the user, it probably shouldn’t hit the user unless it specifies it. If the ability created an AOE somewhere, like Fireball, it should hit the user, even if they place the AOE directly on themselves.
For spells, it depends if you can choose targets within x feet of you, such as Bless or if it's an AoE of which type.
A line, cube or cone’s point of origin is not included in its area of effect unless you decide otherwise, while a sphere or cylinder’s point of origin is included in its area of effect.
Targeting Yourself: If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.
Some monsters, like the demilich and the deep scion unleash powerful AOEs that affect every creature in range. These monsters don't seem to exclude themselves, however. Are they, in fact, not obligated to subject themselves to these effects? And if they are not, is it actually possible for a player to stand inside their own fireball unharmed?
I think it might be important to differentiate between something that is unleashed (eminates) from a creature and the description provided by Fireball.
The creature abilities all call for "Each creature within X feet of Creature-A". They don't call for "Each creature within X feet of Creature-A, including Creature-A".
Fireball specifically calls for "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point.." Which means, if our caster is inside that range, and doesn't have an ability that allows them to exclude themselves from the effect, they are effected.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
What about casting a spell like Thunderwave, but putting yourself inside of the cube? It says the wave “sweeps out from you,” but the Cube rules work differently.
A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn't pushed.
In addition, unsecured objects that are completely within the area of effect are automatically pushed 10 feet away from you by the spell's effect, and the spell emits a thunderous boom audible out to 300 feet.
Cube
You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side.
A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
So if you put your own square in the AoE to hit a Swarm, do you hit yourself? My DM says yes, but I hope he’s wrong.
What about casting a spell like Thunderwave, but putting yourself inside of the cube? It says the wave “sweeps out from you,” but the Cube rules work differently.
A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn't pushed.
In addition, unsecured objects that are completely within the area of effect are automatically pushed 10 feet away from you by the spell's effect, and the spell emits a thunderous boom audible out to 300 feet.
Cube
You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side.
A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
So if you put your own square in the AoE to hit a Swarm, do you hit yourself? My DM says yes, but I hope he’s wrong.
If you choose to have the cube's area of effect include the point of origin, and you are the point of origin, then you will take the damage.
What about casting a spell like Thunderwave, but putting yourself inside of the cube? It says the wave “sweeps out from you,” but the Cube rules work differently.
A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn't pushed.
In addition, unsecured objects that are completely within the area of effect are automatically pushed 10 feet away from you by the spell's effect, and the spell emits a thunderous boom audible out to 300 feet.
Cube
You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side.
A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
So if you put your own square in the AoE to hit a Swarm, do you hit yourself? My DM says yes, but I hope he’s wrong.
Why not use 5 ft of movement to remove yourself from the swarm then cast the spell?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
If a strike from a swarm of things is going to be a survival decision, I'm going to hazard a guess that 2d8 of your own thunder damage (half on a save) might be at or above the same threshold for a survival decision of it's own.
At the point where one might be considering dropping artillery danger close, taking a passing swipe from a swarm might be moot....get a cleric and a stretcher. YMMV.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Some monsters, like the demilich and the deep scion unleash powerful AOEs that affect every creature in range. These monsters don't seem to exclude themselves, however. Are they, in fact, not obligated to subject themselves to these effects? And if they are not, is it actually possible for a player to stand inside their own fireball unharmed?
A strict RAW reading of any game feature that doesn't specifically exclude you from an effect affecting all creature within x feet of you could lead to think it will also affect you.
For those interested though, there are several answers from the Devs giving the impression that it isn't intended;
For creatures that it doesn’t make sense/is unclear RAW, you probably just need to make a ruling about it. It does seem like they usually mean all other creatures, as long as it’s always centered on the user.
See the Paladin auras, which specify “whenever you or a friendly creature within 10 feet of you”. Generally, if it’s always centered on the user, it probably shouldn’t hit the user unless it specifies it. If the ability created an AOE somewhere, like Fireball, it should hit the user, even if they place the AOE directly on themselves.
For spells, it depends if you can choose targets within x feet of you, such as Bless or if it's an AoE of which type.
A line, cube or cone’s point of origin is not included in its area of effect unless you decide otherwise, while a sphere or cylinder’s point of origin is included in its area of effect.
I think it might be important to differentiate between something that is unleashed (eminates) from a creature and the description provided by Fireball.
The creature abilities all call for "Each creature within X feet of Creature-A". They don't call for "Each creature within X feet of Creature-A, including Creature-A".
Fireball specifically calls for "Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point.." Which means, if our caster is inside that range, and doesn't have an ability that allows them to exclude themselves from the effect, they are effected.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
What about casting a spell like Thunderwave, but putting yourself inside of the cube? It says the wave “sweeps out from you,” but the Cube rules work differently.
So if you put your own square in the AoE to hit a Swarm, do you hit yourself? My DM says yes, but I hope he’s wrong.
If you choose to have the cube's area of effect include the point of origin, and you are the point of origin, then you will take the damage.
Why not use 5 ft of movement to remove yourself from the swarm then cast the spell?
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Because doing so draws an opportunity attack (swarms have reach 0, so you trigger one when you leave its space).
If a strike from a swarm of things is going to be a survival decision, I'm going to hazard a guess that 2d8 of your own thunder damage (half on a save) might be at or above the same threshold for a survival decision of it's own.
At the point where one might be considering dropping artillery danger close, taking a passing swipe from a swarm might be moot....get a cleric and a stretcher. YMMV.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad