So I'm playing a College of Swords bard mainly because I fell in love with the blade flourishes. Basically, once per turn on a hit, I can expend a Bardic Inspiration to apply an additional effect on my attack. In particular, I'm looking at the defensive flourish which states the following:
Defensive Flourish.You can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to cause the weapon to deal extra damage to the target you hit. The damage equals the number you roll on the Bardic Inspiration die. You also add the number rolled to your AC until the start of your next turn.
Since the flourish increases the damage by a die, if I land a critical hit, the flourish die gets doubled as well. But since it states "You also add the number rolled to your AC until the start of your next turn," does my AC increase by the sum of both flourish dice, or just one of them? The other flourishes have similar effects, so I'm really asking about all of them.
You roll one bardic damage die to determine the effect, then another (or re-roll) to add the extra crit damage. You do get to add dice for the extra critical hit damage, which is great, but the Bardic Inspiration die is a separate roll from the extra damage.
When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target. Roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice and add them together. Then add any relevant modifiers as normal. To speed up play, you can roll all the damage dice at once.
crit only applies to damage. You are not rolling two inspiration die, you are rolling your inspiration die plus roll “extra dice” on the crit. Only the number on the inspiration die gets added to the AC
So I'm playing a College of Swords bard mainly because I fell in love with the blade flourishes. Basically, once per turn on a hit, I can expend a Bardic Inspiration to apply an additional effect on my attack. In particular, I'm looking at the defensive flourish which states the following:
Since the flourish increases the damage by a die, if I land a critical hit, the flourish die gets doubled as well. But since it states "You also add the number rolled to your AC until the start of your next turn," does my AC increase by the sum of both flourish dice, or just one of them? The other flourishes have similar effects, so I'm really asking about all of them.
That's... A question I haven't heard before.
That'd be something to ask your DM what they think.
The only official response is this one: https://www.sageadvice.eu/how-do-critical-hits-affect-non-damage-related-effects-from-the-bardic-inspiration-dice-rolled-for-mobile-and-defense-flourishes/
You roll one bardic damage die to determine the effect, then another (or re-roll) to add the extra crit damage. You do get to add dice for the extra critical hit damage, which is great, but the Bardic Inspiration die is a separate roll from the extra damage.
Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile.
"You also add the number rolled to your AC until the start of your next turn"
crit only applies to damage. You are not rolling two inspiration die, you are rolling your inspiration die plus roll “extra dice” on the crit. Only the number on the inspiration die gets added to the AC
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?