I am trying to imagine a situation where someone tied up in chains would be grappled, but not restrained. The grappled condition says you can end it by getting away. Restrained does not. So technically, Mike Mearles answered the question as it was asked, but I'm not sure that it was a great question to begin with.
Never thought about restrained not explicit stating you could escape it by creating distance like grappled does. Following that lapse in rule minutia, a person could not teleport away from being restrained at all. I know that is holding to RAW without qualifying intent of the rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
IMHO, Earthdawn is still the best fantasy realm, Shadowrun is the best Sci-Fi realm, and Dark Sun is the best D&D realm.
For me, how is it any different than a creature grabbing you? If you are wrapped up in vines or rope or a creature with a bunch of limbs why can’t you teleport out? Anchored or not anchored, the spell targets self, not the environment around you and I don’t know if you would count vines as being worn or carried, unlike your clothing, so poof, you teleport away and the vines just sit there grasping nothing.
For me, how is it any different than a creature grabbing you? If you are wrapped up in vines or rope or a creature with a bunch of limbs why can’t you teleport out? Anchored or not anchored, the spell targets self, not the environment around you and I don’t know if you would count vines as being worn or carried, unlike your clothing, so poof, you teleport away and the vines just sit there grasping nothing.
But definitely a DM call.
In several of these cases, the restraining effect will say the creature is grappled and restrained while grappled. So teleportation breaks the grapple thus ending the restrained.
In cases where restrained but not grappled, I guess the restraints are intended to move with the target.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am trying to imagine a situation where someone tied up in chains would be grappled, but not restrained. The grappled condition says you can end it by getting away. Restrained does not. So technically, Mike Mearles answered the question as it was asked, but I'm not sure that it was a great question to begin with.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Never thought about restrained not explicit stating you could escape it by creating distance like grappled does. Following that lapse in rule minutia, a person could not teleport away from being restrained at all. I know that is holding to RAW without qualifying intent of the rule.
IMHO, Earthdawn is still the best fantasy realm, Shadowrun is the best Sci-Fi realm, and Dark Sun is the best D&D realm.
For me, how is it any different than a creature grabbing you? If you are wrapped up in vines or rope or a creature with a bunch of limbs why can’t you teleport out? Anchored or not anchored, the spell targets self, not the environment around you and I don’t know if you would count vines as being worn or carried, unlike your clothing, so poof, you teleport away and the vines just sit there grasping nothing.
But definitely a DM call.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
In several of these cases, the restraining effect will say the creature is grappled and restrained while grappled. So teleportation breaks the grapple thus ending the restrained.
In cases where restrained but not grappled, I guess the restraints are intended to move with the target.