They require a bonus action and concentration, ok, but what if I hit a creature with Wrathful Smite, he makes the proper Saving Throw and fails. And lets say that he fails every single check he makes after that.
Can I use other concentration spells while the creature is under the effects of the failed Smite Saving Throw? Or if I use my concentration on other spell, the creature's condition (like Wrathful Smite's frightened) is dismissed?
If you're talking about the smite spells and not the divine smite, then they usually say. For example banishing smite tells you exactly that it lasts until the spell ends, meaning you need to maintain concentration for the duration.
1) Smite spells like Wrathful smite. These spells are a bonus action to cast and require concentration to maintain their effects. Most of them require you to hit a target, at which point their effects occur. In the case of Wrathful smite it does an extra d6 damage on the first hit then the target makes a save. If they fail they are frightened of you until the spell ends (though they can use their action to get another save). Each spell will say what it does but if it has an ongoing effect that says "until the spell ends" then if the spell requires concentration, you will need to continue concentration on that spell - otherwise the effect will end as soon as concentration stops.
2) Divine smite. Whenever a paladin hits a target they can choose to expend a spell slot to do additional radiant damage on the attack. The amount of damage is 2d8 + 1d8/spell level above 1. Plus an additional +1d8 vs fiends or undead. As long as a paladin has a spell slot left they can choose to use divine smite on any attack that hits.
Just looking at 1st and second level smite spells, and the 3rd level Blinding Smite, the description tells you what it does. You cast the spell and concentrate on it. The next time you hit during the spells duration (and you are concentrating) you do the extra damage. Then the target has to make a saving throw or be subjected to an additional effect.
With Searing Smite, it does extra damage and then at the beginning of the creatures turns it has to make a save or take more damage. If they make the save the spell ends. And if they fail they keep making saves until either 1. they make the save, ending the spell, 2. You lose concentration, ending the spell, 3. The duration ends, ending the spell, 4. They die, ending the spell.
Edit: once you hit for the first time during the spells duration, the first part of the spell does damage and that part is done an over with no matter how long you concentrate. Only the second part lingers and fulfills the rest of the description. I’m the example of Thunderous Smite after the initial 2d6 damage the creature makes a STR save and if it fails it gets pushed and knocked prone and the. The spell ends. If they make the save, the spell ends. One turn, once you hit, and it’s done either way.
They require a bonus action and concentration, ok, but what if I hit a creature with Wrathful Smite, he makes the proper Saving Throw and fails. And lets say that he fails every single check he makes after that.
Can I use other concentration spells while the creature is under the effects of the failed Smite Saving Throw? Or if I use my concentration on other spell, the creature's condition (like Wrathful Smite's frightened) is dismissed?
All of these smite spells with lasting effects say the effect lasts "until the spell ends," so the effect lasts as long as the duration which is dependent on concentration. Concentrating on something else or otherwise losing concentration ends the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi guys, so I have a question about smites:
They require a bonus action and concentration, ok, but what if I hit a creature with Wrathful Smite, he makes the proper Saving Throw and fails. And lets say that he fails every single check he makes after that.
Can I use other concentration spells while the creature is under the effects of the failed Smite Saving Throw? Or if I use my concentration on other spell, the creature's condition (like Wrathful Smite's frightened) is dismissed?
If you're talking about the smite spells and not the divine smite, then they usually say. For example banishing smite tells you exactly that it lasts until the spell ends, meaning you need to maintain concentration for the duration.
There are two kinds of paladin smites.
1) Smite spells like Wrathful smite. These spells are a bonus action to cast and require concentration to maintain their effects. Most of them require you to hit a target, at which point their effects occur. In the case of Wrathful smite it does an extra d6 damage on the first hit then the target makes a save. If they fail they are frightened of you until the spell ends (though they can use their action to get another save). Each spell will say what it does but if it has an ongoing effect that says "until the spell ends" then if the spell requires concentration, you will need to continue concentration on that spell - otherwise the effect will end as soon as concentration stops.
2) Divine smite. Whenever a paladin hits a target they can choose to expend a spell slot to do additional radiant damage on the attack. The amount of damage is 2d8 + 1d8/spell level above 1. Plus an additional +1d8 vs fiends or undead. As long as a paladin has a spell slot left they can choose to use divine smite on any attack that hits.
Just looking at 1st and second level smite spells, and the 3rd level Blinding Smite, the description tells you what it does. You cast the spell and concentrate on it. The next time you hit during the spells duration (and you are concentrating) you do the extra damage. Then the target has to make a saving throw or be subjected to an additional effect.
With Searing Smite, it does extra damage and then at the beginning of the creatures turns it has to make a save or take more damage. If they make the save the spell ends. And if they fail they keep making saves until either 1. they make the save, ending the spell, 2. You lose concentration, ending the spell, 3. The duration ends, ending the spell, 4. They die, ending the spell.
Edit: once you hit for the first time during the spells duration, the first part of the spell does damage and that part is done an over with no matter how long you concentrate. Only the second part lingers and fulfills the rest of the description. I’m the example of Thunderous Smite after the initial 2d6 damage the creature makes a STR save and if it fails it gets pushed and knocked prone and the. The spell ends. If they make the save, the spell ends. One turn, once you hit, and it’s done either way.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
All of these smite spells with lasting effects say the effect lasts "until the spell ends," so the effect lasts as long as the duration which is dependent on concentration. Concentrating on something else or otherwise losing concentration ends the spell.