So I am in a campaign where our Druid has been affected by a Charm Person Spell by an Incubus. If one of our allies cast a Charm Person Spell on the Druid would it counter the affects of the first Charm Person Spell?
When a creature is effected by the same effect twice, the "more potent" effect takes priority (paraphrased). Assuming spell level to be the same, the longer duration wins.
But the first effect didn't end, it is just suppressed by the second effect.
So I am in a campaign where our Druid has been affected by a Charm Person Spell by an Incubus. If one of our allies cast a Charm Person Spell on the Druid would it counter the affects of the first Charm Person Spell?
The Incubus doesn't use the Charm Person spell, it use a unique Charm action, which is not the effects of the same spell cast multiple times in combine even though both cause the same condition. You can be charmed or grappled by different effects.
Conditions: A condition lasts either until it is countered (the prone condition is countered by standing up, for example) or for a duration specified by the effect that imposed the condition. If multiple effects impose the same condition on a creature, each instance of the condition has its own duration, but the condition's effects don't get worse. A creature either has a condition or doesn't.
Charm. One humanoid the fiend can see within 30 feet of it must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be magically charmed for 1 day. The charmed target obeys the fiend's verbal or telepathic commands. If the target suffers any harm or receives a suicidal command, it can repeat the saving throw, ending the effect on a success. If the target successfully saves against the effect, or if the effect on it ends, the target is immune to this fiend's Charm for the next 24 hours. The fiend can have only one target charmed at a time. If it charms another, the effect on the previous target ends.
As DxJxC said, not RAW, but it's definitely a creative use of a spell, so personally I would probably allow this. That being said, this forum is for game mechanics and rules clarifications.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
[REDACTED]
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I am in a campaign where our Druid has been affected by a Charm Person Spell by an Incubus. If one of our allies cast a Charm Person Spell on the Druid would it counter the affects of the first Charm Person Spell?
Not exactly counter, but it will take priority.
When a creature is effected by the same effect twice, the "more potent" effect takes priority (paraphrased). Assuming spell level to be the same, the longer duration wins.
But the first effect didn't end, it is just suppressed by the second effect.
Perfect, thank you very much.
Here is the actual rule since I was lazy the first time:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/spellcasting#CombiningMagicalEffects
The Incubus doesn't use the Charm Person spell, it use a unique Charm action, which is not the effects of the same spell cast multiple times in combine even though both cause the same condition. You can be charmed or grappled by different effects.
Charm. One humanoid the fiend can see within 30 feet of it must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be magically charmed for 1 day. The charmed target obeys the fiend's verbal or telepathic commands. If the target suffers any harm or receives a suicidal command, it can repeat the saving throw, ending the effect on a success. If the target successfully saves against the effect, or if the effect on it ends, the target is immune to this fiend's Charm for the next 24 hours. The fiend can have only one target charmed at a time. If it charms another, the effect on the previous target ends.
As DxJxC said, not RAW, but it's definitely a creative use of a spell, so personally I would probably allow this. That being said, this forum is for game mechanics and rules clarifications.
[REDACTED]