In my campaign the first minor villain is a a medusa who petrifies people that her god deems unfit for the new world they are creating, and next session the party are going to be led by a kobold they befriended into a cave where their gem dragon leader is trapped, due to having its wings petrified by the medusa. Is it possible for medusas to selectively turn parts of a creatures body into stone?
By the rules, no. But the rules are basically only written to handle PC vs NPC combat. For anything narrative, the DM decides what is or isn't possible. The only real limit I would put on that is to try to avoid harming the PCs outside the rules.
Not usually, no. But since Medusa's petrifying gaze restrains first and dragons are large and have good saves, it can easily be explained that it is petrifying slowly from the effect and the restrained effect keeps it from flying.
having its wings petrified by the medusa. Is it possible for medusas to selectively turn parts of a creatures body into stone?
Normally both in folklore and D&D rules, a creature succumbing to a Medusa's gaze is completly petrified, along with any nonmagical object worn or carried, but nothing prevent a DM from ruling otherwise if it serve the campaign's story better. Many reasons could explain it, curse, divine intervention if you want so.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In my campaign the first minor villain is a a medusa who petrifies people that her god deems unfit for the new world they are creating, and next session the party are going to be led by a kobold they befriended into a cave where their gem dragon leader is trapped, due to having its wings petrified by the medusa. Is it possible for medusas to selectively turn parts of a creatures body into stone?
By the rules, no. But the rules are basically only written to handle PC vs NPC combat. For anything narrative, the DM decides what is or isn't possible. The only real limit I would put on that is to try to avoid harming the PCs outside the rules.
Not usually, no. But since Medusa's petrifying gaze restrains first and dragons are large and have good saves, it can easily be explained that it is petrifying slowly from the effect and the restrained effect keeps it from flying.
Normally both in folklore and D&D rules, a creature succumbing to a Medusa's gaze is completly petrified, along with any nonmagical object worn or carried, but nothing prevent a DM from ruling otherwise if it serve the campaign's story better. Many reasons could explain it, curse, divine intervention if you want so.