Hi all, new posting here so please be gentle. Unfortunately the mobile site for the forums doesn’t show me a search so hopefully you’ll forgive me for posting what could be (is likely) questions already asked many times. Apologies for that in advance.
Firstly; when casting find familiar, and becoming deaf and blind to see and sense what it sees (as an action), once I’ve had my familiar (say a spider) scout for me and I command it return to me, to stop seeing through its eyes and return my own senses does the familiar have to be dismissed into the pocket dimension (taking another action)?
The rules don’t specify that in particular, only that the affect lasts until the start of my next turn, or that it can be optionally dismissed (again as stated, as an action).
Out of combat it’s kind of a non-discussion as players can take as many actions as they please and could simply dismiss and immediately re-summon their familiar. In combat (whilst ill advised), should my character be deaf and blind it becomes a different matter. But all this said a player can (unless compelled) choose to stop casting a spell or performing an action without using another… action, surely? It’s an ongoing debate with my DM, and whilst I’d almost never see a good reason to use this in combat, meaning it’s actually a pretty silly debate, the question stands. Why could this detail just not be included in the rules 😑
My second question is around familiar reactions to use spells. My interpretation for this rule is that my familiar can cast a non-combative spell during my turn as a reaction to my character asking it to do so. My DM reads it as a reaction to another event such as a creature moving into its area etc. Which is correct please?
Thirdly, again on casting spells; we’re restricted to touch spells with a familiar, the only one I can cast is shocking grasp, which is combative, so isn’t a viable option for a familiar, correct? I can see some people online discussing it and using it that way. My DM has denied its use so it’s neither here nor there but opinions are nice to have. I’m on the fence with it, what do you think?
Fourth; if a familiar cannot attack, why give us the option of a venomous snake? Is this possibly to be distracting for an NPC or creature who recognises the snake to be venomous allow some kind of distraction maybe? Has anyone’s DM allowed their familiar to attack with the snake?
Finally, what creative ways have you all used a familiar that fit nicely with the raw rules?
For the first question I think I’ve answered it myself. The rules do give us a duration and that is until the start of my next turn, so that’s the trade off regardless. Again, a bit of a moot point unless in combat, and even then you’d be vulnerable to attacks so unless caught unaware you probably wouldn’t do it…
The way rules are written is that familiar can do most things in combat but can't take the attack action. So on their turn your snake can't nosh anyone and envenom them. They can dash, disengage, aid another, just not attack or ready an attack action.
However they can make attacks if another thing lets them. So your snake could make an opportunity attack OR deliver a touch spell you cast (using cast the cast a spell action) on your turn using their reaction. And the good thing is that when your familiar delivers a spell like this they use your attack modifier. So that snake may not deliver venom but it can be a shocking experience!
Fab well considered and informative response, thank you @Brian!
Love the last response, very creative. My DM did not like me scouting ahead to avoid any surprises, he told me he thought it spoilt the game but allowed it under protest *shrug*
Fab well considered and informative response, thank you @Brian!
Love the last response, very creative. My DM did not like me scouting ahead to avoid any surprises, he told me he thought it spoilt the game but allowed it under protest *shrug*
Scouting ahead is half the point of a familiar. Just remember familiars can still be noticed by enemies, and they live in a world where they know familiars exist. If the goblins see a raven sitting there staring at them, they’ll probably kill it, just to be safe.
As far as stopping casting a spell. Most spells, and all spells you’d use in combat have a casting time of 1 action or 1 bonus action, so there’s not really time to stop, you just do it. If you were out of combat and casting something that took 10 minutes or an hour, sure, you can stop mid-cast if you like. Per the PHB rules on casting, if you are interrupted you don’t cast a spell, but you also don’t lose the slot, so if you want to start again, you have to start from the beginning. If you are talking about maintaining a spell with concentration, you can willingly drop concentration, for no action, at any time (even on someone else’s turn).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all, new posting here so please be gentle. Unfortunately the mobile site for the forums doesn’t show me a search so hopefully you’ll forgive me for posting what could be (is likely) questions already asked many times. Apologies for that in advance.
Firstly; when casting find familiar, and becoming deaf and blind to see and sense what it sees (as an action), once I’ve had my familiar (say a spider) scout for me and I command it return to me, to stop seeing through its eyes and return my own senses does the familiar have to be dismissed into the pocket dimension (taking another action)?
The rules don’t specify that in particular, only that the affect lasts until the start of my next turn, or that it can be optionally dismissed (again as stated, as an action).
Out of combat it’s kind of a non-discussion as players can take as many actions as they please and could simply dismiss and immediately re-summon their familiar. In combat (whilst ill advised), should my character be deaf and blind it becomes a different matter. But all this said a player can (unless compelled) choose to stop casting a spell or performing an action without using another… action, surely? It’s an ongoing debate with my DM, and whilst I’d almost never see a good reason to use this in combat, meaning it’s actually a pretty silly debate, the question stands. Why could this detail just not be included in the rules 😑
My second question is around familiar reactions to use spells. My interpretation for this rule is that my familiar can cast a non-combative spell during my turn as a reaction to my character asking it to do so. My DM reads it as a reaction to another event such as a creature moving into its area etc. Which is correct please?
Thirdly, again on casting spells; we’re restricted to touch spells with a familiar, the only one I can cast is shocking grasp, which is combative, so isn’t a viable option for a familiar, correct? I can see some people online discussing it and using it that way. My DM has denied its use so it’s neither here nor there but opinions are nice to have. I’m on the fence with it, what do you think?
Fourth; if a familiar cannot attack, why give us the option of a venomous snake? Is this possibly to be distracting for an NPC or creature who recognises the snake to be venomous allow some kind of distraction maybe? Has anyone’s DM allowed their familiar to attack with the snake?
Finally, what creative ways have you all used a familiar that fit nicely with the raw rules?
For the first question I think I’ve answered it myself. The rules do give us a duration and that is until the start of my next turn, so that’s the trade off regardless. Again, a bit of a moot point unless in combat, and even then you’d be vulnerable to attacks so unless caught unaware you probably wouldn’t do it…
The way rules are written is that familiar can do most things in combat but can't take the attack action. So on their turn your snake can't nosh anyone and envenom them. They can dash, disengage, aid another, just not attack or ready an attack action.
However they can make attacks if another thing lets them. So your snake could make an opportunity attack OR deliver a touch spell you cast (using cast the cast a spell action) on your turn using their reaction. And the good thing is that when your familiar delivers a spell like this they use your attack modifier. So that snake may not deliver venom but it can be a shocking experience!
Nosh 🤣🤣🤣 oh that made me laugh.
An excellent point about reaction!! Thank you!
Fab well considered and informative response, thank you @Brian!
Love the last response, very creative. My DM did not like me scouting ahead to avoid any surprises, he told me he thought it spoilt the game but allowed it under protest *shrug*
Scouting ahead is half the point of a familiar. Just remember familiars can still be noticed by enemies, and they live in a world where they know familiars exist. If the goblins see a raven sitting there staring at them, they’ll probably kill it, just to be safe.
As far as stopping casting a spell. Most spells, and all spells you’d use in combat have a casting time of 1 action or 1 bonus action, so there’s not really time to stop, you just do it. If you were out of combat and casting something that took 10 minutes or an hour, sure, you can stop mid-cast if you like. Per the PHB rules on casting, if you are interrupted you don’t cast a spell, but you also don’t lose the slot, so if you want to start again, you have to start from the beginning.
If you are talking about maintaining a spell with concentration, you can willingly drop concentration, for no action, at any time (even on someone else’s turn).