Looking to build a multiclass circle of stars druid/grave domain cleric and wondering how circle of mortality might interact with the druid's starry form (chalice) when targeting the same creature. The language for circle of mortality states "When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die."
Ignoring additional healing from wisdom modifiers, would casting cure wounds at first level restore 16 health to a creature with zero hit points (1d8 from the spell+1d8 from chalice)? Or would I max the 1d8 from cure wounds but still roll the 1d8 for chalice? On that same point, would something like the moon sickle (extra 1d4 when casting a healing spell) max out when targeting a creature with 0hp? The language seems ambiguous as to whether or not the effect includes ALL dice rolled, or only the dice specifically tied to the spell.
I've seen similar discussion regarding the cleric's supreme healing ability (which uses similar language), where someone argued that you only max the original 1d8 from cure wounds. RAW, I'm not convinced that this is a 100% accurate interpretation, and would love to see references if any clarifying language can be found. Without any rule saying the additional dice from chalice/moon sickle/etc. specifically *don't* count, I'm inclined to believe you could max any die related to the roll.
The chalice feature says "Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier." You're regaining hit points via a feature that is triggered by a spell, not increasing the output of the spell. Casting cure wounds would trigger effect 1, circle of mortality, and effect 2, chalice starry form, but effect 1 and 2 in this case have no interaction with each other, as they are effects and not spells. So you'd regain 8+1d*+WIS.
Moon Sickle also would not get the full 4 automatically, for the same reason. It's not a spell itself, so it's not restoring hit points with a spell, it's restoring hit points with a magical item, triggered by a spell being cast.
How i read it Circle of Mortality would only max the healing dice from Cure Wound spell because the Chalice Starry Form healing is seperate and can even target a different creature than the target of the spell.
When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die.
the chalice from starry druid is not a spell. so it is not effected by circle of mortality. so you would restore 9-16 + wis not 16 + wis
While "technically" I would say RAW the maxed die would only apply to the d8 from cure wounds, I personally would allow the extra chalice and moon sickle dice to be maxed as well at my table.
My reasoning for this other than "rule of cool" when dnd wording is ambiguous, is that it is a very situational use ability that makes a character feel amazing. It fixes one of the issues with battle healing when a PC is continuously being dropped to zero and brought back every round by a healer, which can be frustrating for both the character dropping to 0 and the healer trying to keep them alive. And while that can be tense and exciting it can also get old very quickly. This ruling can help smooth that out allow combat to flow more smoothly for characters, while also giving the dm more leeway to not go easy on PCs.
I still say RAW it would be a bo, but anyone interested in this interaction should talk with thier dm.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Looking to build a multiclass circle of stars druid/grave domain cleric and wondering how circle of mortality might interact with the druid's starry form (chalice) when targeting the same creature. The language for circle of mortality states "When you would normally roll one or more dice to restore hit points with a spell to a creature at 0 hit points, you instead use the highest number possible for each die."
Ignoring additional healing from wisdom modifiers, would casting cure wounds at first level restore 16 health to a creature with zero hit points (1d8 from the spell+1d8 from chalice)? Or would I max the 1d8 from cure wounds but still roll the 1d8 for chalice? On that same point, would something like the moon sickle (extra 1d4 when casting a healing spell) max out when targeting a creature with 0hp? The language seems ambiguous as to whether or not the effect includes ALL dice rolled, or only the dice specifically tied to the spell.
I've seen similar discussion regarding the cleric's supreme healing ability (which uses similar language), where someone argued that you only max the original 1d8 from cure wounds. RAW, I'm not convinced that this is a 100% accurate interpretation, and would love to see references if any clarifying language can be found. Without any rule saying the additional dice from chalice/moon sickle/etc. specifically *don't* count, I'm inclined to believe you could max any die related to the roll.
The chalice feature says "Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier." You're regaining hit points via a feature that is triggered by a spell, not increasing the output of the spell. Casting cure wounds would trigger effect 1, circle of mortality, and effect 2, chalice starry form, but effect 1 and 2 in this case have no interaction with each other, as they are effects and not spells. So you'd regain 8+1d*+WIS.
Moon Sickle also would not get the full 4 automatically, for the same reason. It's not a spell itself, so it's not restoring hit points with a spell, it's restoring hit points with a magical item, triggered by a spell being cast.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
How i read it Circle of Mortality would only max the healing dice from Cure Wound spell because the Chalice Starry Form healing is seperate and can even target a different creature than the target of the spell.
the chalice from starry druid is not a spell. so it is not effected by circle of mortality. so you would restore 9-16 + wis not 16 + wis
Blank
While "technically" I would say RAW the maxed die would only apply to the d8 from cure wounds, I personally would allow the extra chalice and moon sickle dice to be maxed as well at my table.
My reasoning for this other than "rule of cool" when dnd wording is ambiguous, is that it is a very situational use ability that makes a character feel amazing. It fixes one of the issues with battle healing when a PC is continuously being dropped to zero and brought back every round by a healer, which can be frustrating for both the character dropping to 0 and the healer trying to keep them alive. And while that can be tense and exciting it can also get old very quickly. This ruling can help smooth that out allow combat to flow more smoothly for characters, while also giving the dm more leeway to not go easy on PCs.
I still say RAW it would be a bo, but anyone interested in this interaction should talk with thier dm.