Starting at 1st level, you can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see.
If the spell targets more than one ally, you choose the ally who can make the attack.
Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself succeeds on an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw Range: 60 feet Components: V Duration: Instantaneous
You magically distract the triggering creature and turn its momentary uncertainty into encouragement for another creature. The triggering creature must reroll the d20 and use the lower roll.
You can then choose a different creature you can see within range (you can choose yourself). The chosen creature has advantage on the next attack roll, ability check, or saving throw it makes within 1 minute. A creature can be empowered by only one use of this spell at a time.
I'm a level 2 Circle of Stars Druid and I'm planning on taking Fey Touched at level 4 to pick up Silvery Barbs, and then at level 7 (6druid/1cleric) I'm planning on taking Order Domain so I can cause my allies to attack with my healing/support spells.
So here's my question: If I affect an ally with Silvery Barbs and give them Advantage, would this invoke an attack as a Reaction via Voice of Authority?
What if I target an enemy first and force them to reroll, and then give my ally advantage? The ally isn't the original target of the spell, they're more like a secondary target. Still kosher?
What if I target an enemy first and force them to reroll, and then give my ally advantage? The ally isn't the original target of the spell, they're more like a secondary target. Still kosher?
The secondary effect of silvery barbs still counts as a spell that targets them, so it works.
Spell targeting is a wonky thing. There is the target upon whom you cast the spell, and then there is the target of the spell's effect. Sometimes this is the same creature, and sometimes it is not. The rules refer to both as targets of the spell. You'll notice that VoA doesn't say you have to cast the spell on them. It just says they have to be a target of the spell. Heck, you could drop a fireball on your ally and if they are in the AoE of the blast, fireball calls them a target. Even they would be valid targets for Voice of Authority at that point. I do not endorse fireballing your friends :)
Unfortunately, what is the "target" of a spell isn't well defined can be a bit ambiguous in some circumstances in the rules so ultimately it comes down to ask your DM how they want to run it. It is best to run ideas like this past the DM before trying to use them in a session.
[Edit: As Plaguescarred points out below - the definition of "target" in the rules is: "A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell’s magic. A spell’s description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect" ]
A DM could decide that the creature triggering the spell is the target and the other creature affected is a side effect of the spell and not a "target". (eg when casting Dragon's breath on a creature - is the target the creature receiving the spell or all the creatures that can be hit by the spell? Is the "target" of Detect Magic, the creature it is cast on, or all of the other creatures/objects that the creature affected by Detect Magic looks at? If a cleric casts Warding Bond, are both the creature affected and the cleric considered targets?)
On the other hand, personally, I'd probably allow it since it seems like a cool combination, though since I wouldn't allow Silvery Barbs in a game I was running anyway, it is a moot point from my perspective :)
Unfortunately, what is the "target" of a spell isn't well defined in the rules
A spell's target is defined in the rules as follow;
Targets: A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell's magic. A spell's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect.
Voice of Authority
Starting at 1st level, you can invoke the power of law to embolden an ally to attack. If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately after the spell to make one weapon attack against a creature of your choice that you can see.
If the spell targets more than one ally, you choose the ally who can make the attack.
==================================================
Silvery Barbs
1st-level Enchantment
Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when a creature you can see within 60 feet of yourself succeeds on an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw
Range: 60 feet
Components: V
Duration: Instantaneous
You magically distract the triggering creature and turn its momentary uncertainty into encouragement for another creature. The triggering creature must reroll the d20 and use the lower roll.
You can then choose a different creature you can see within range (you can choose yourself). The chosen creature has advantage on the next attack roll, ability check, or saving throw it makes within 1 minute. A creature can be empowered by only one use of this spell at a time.
Spell Lists. Bard, Sorcerer, Wizard
================================================
I'm a level 2 Circle of Stars Druid and I'm planning on taking Fey Touched at level 4 to pick up Silvery Barbs, and then at level 7 (6druid/1cleric) I'm planning on taking Order Domain so I can cause my allies to attack with my healing/support spells.
So here's my question: If I affect an ally with Silvery Barbs and give them Advantage, would this invoke an attack as a Reaction via Voice of Authority?
Yes Silvery Barbs should trigger Voice of Authority.
What if I target an enemy first and force them to reroll, and then give my ally advantage? The ally isn't the original target of the spell, they're more like a secondary target. Still kosher?
The secondary effect of silvery barbs still counts as a spell that targets them, so it works.
Spell targeting is a wonky thing. There is the target upon whom you cast the spell, and then there is the target of the spell's effect. Sometimes this is the same creature, and sometimes it is not. The rules refer to both as targets of the spell. You'll notice that VoA doesn't say you have to cast the spell on them. It just says they have to be a target of the spell. Heck, you could drop a fireball on your ally and if they are in the AoE of the blast, fireball calls them a target. Even they would be valid targets for Voice of Authority at that point. I do not endorse fireballing your friends :)
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I agree with TexasDevin being the target of any of Silvery Barbs effects should trigger.
Awesome :) Ty gents :)
Unfortunately, what is the "target" of a spell
isn't well definedcan be a bit ambiguous in some circumstancesin the rulesso ultimately it comes down to ask your DM how they want to run it. It is best to run ideas like this past the DM before trying to use them in a session.[Edit: As Plaguescarred points out below - the definition of "target" in the rules is: "A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell’s magic. A spell’s description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect" ]
A DM could decide that the creature triggering the spell is the target and the other creature affected is a side effect of the spell and not a "target". (eg when casting Dragon's breath on a creature - is the target the creature receiving the spell or all the creatures that can be hit by the spell? Is the "target" of Detect Magic, the creature it is cast on, or all of the other creatures/objects that the creature affected by Detect Magic looks at? If a cleric casts Warding Bond, are both the creature affected and the cleric considered targets?)
On the other hand, personally, I'd probably allow it since it seems like a cool combination, though since I wouldn't allow Silvery Barbs in a game I was running anyway, it is a moot point from my perspective :)
That's my personal answer as well :)
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Why wouldn't you guys allow Silvery Barbs?
A spell's target is defined in the rules as follow;
Some consider it overpowered so don’t allow it in their games.
There are some threads on these forums where people discussed this if you want to do a search to see their reasoning s
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?