Eldritch Blast requires a ranged spell attack against a target. The +6 is the your modifier to hit. So you roll an attack you add your modified (+6) and then determine if it hits the target's AC. If the spell requires a save then D&D Beyond would hard code you save DC in that column (i.e. Wisdom 14) .
So you would roll a d20 then add the +6 to hit. If it equals or exceeds the target’s AC the. You hit them. Then you roll damage. Roll a d10 and add 4 to that number. That is how much damage you do.
Edit: if it was a spell with a saving throw the hit/DC Column would show something like “15 DEX” or whatever your spell save DC is and the type of saving throw the target needs to make (Dexterity in my example)
No. Just to your hit roll. The effect button captures the damage on a hit.
If you are using D&D Beyond to play and have the digital dice, you select the HIT/DC button (+6) and it will roll a digital d20. The system will then present your total value (dice roll + modifier). If the DM rules that value hits a target, you will then select the effect button (1d10+4).
The HIT modifier increases your the value you roll to hit a target. It adds your spell modifier to your attack rolls thus giving you a better chance to hit a target.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I play a warlock and in my cantrips section there is a hit dc button and a effect button.
I understand that the effect button determines the damage I do with the cantript but i dont understand the function of the hit dc.
Eldritch Blast requires a ranged spell attack against a target. The +6 is the your modifier to hit. So you roll an attack you add your modified (+6) and then determine if it hits the target's AC. If the spell requires a save then D&D Beyond would hard code you save DC in that column (i.e. Wisdom 14) .
Thanks. So my hit / dc gets added to the damage I do?
So whatever I roll in hit/dc gets added to the damage i do?
Or is it just to check if im higher than the armor class and does not impact the damage?
No. That is to hit only. The modifier on damage is already calculated in the effect column 1d10+4
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
No. If your hit is successful you then get to roll damage which is listed under effect. In your case it would be 1d10 + 4 force damage.
So you would roll a d20 then add the +6 to hit. If it equals or exceeds the target’s AC the. You hit them. Then you roll damage. Roll a d10 and add 4 to that number. That is how much damage you do.
Edit: if it was a spell with a saving throw the hit/DC Column would show something like “15 DEX” or whatever your spell save DC is and the type of saving throw the target needs to make (Dexterity in my example)
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Okay. Thank you everyone. I understand it now. :D
No. Just to your hit roll. The effect button captures the damage on a hit.
If you are using D&D Beyond to play and have the digital dice, you select the HIT/DC button (+6) and it will roll a digital d20. The system will then present your total value (dice roll + modifier). If the DM rules that value hits a target, you will then select the effect button (1d10+4).
The HIT modifier increases your the value you roll to hit a target. It adds your spell modifier to your attack rolls thus giving you a better chance to hit a target.