So... if someone chooses a race which also knows once per day or rest spells as a racial spell, could that character also cast them with their class spell slots assuming they were a class that had spell slots of the proper type?
Meaning, would that be considered a prepared spell for that Wizard without having to "double learn it" to be able to cast it a second time? Anyone aware of RAW on this?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Playtesting Fugare Draconis, an epic tale of adventure, loss, and redemption
Generally, no. The spells are not known, nor are they wizard spells (or any other class spells) for the purposes of any feature that depends on something being a wizard spell. They have their own spellcasting ability which may or may not align with a class spellcasting ability (Int, Wis, Cha usually). They do not and cannot use a spell slot, they have their own number of usages (or unlimited uses). They are always cast at their lowest level, since they can't use a higher slot. Much of this is generally true also for a warlock invocation spell (unless the invocation states that it uses a warlock spell slot).
All that being said, in my games I home-rule that all a character's spells use the same spellcasting ability and count as belonging to that characters class no matter how they acquired the spell (I feel a young Forest Gnome Sorcerer would quickly learn to channel their Minor Illusion magic through their sorcerous magical channel of Charisma). But I also don't allow multiclassing, so this is a possible simplification for my universe.
So, do we have to level up to gain all the spells, or do we know all of the spells at level 1. For example, yuan-ti can learn suggestion, do i need to be a level 2 to learn it or do i know it as a level 1?
So, do we have to level up to gain all the spells, or do we know all of the spells at level 1. For example, yuan-ti can learn suggestion, do i need to be a level 2 to learn it or do i know it as a level 1?
The feature from Yuan-ti Pureblood explicitly says when you learn its racial spells, and you definitely don't know them all at level 1. You can cast Suggestion, once per long rest, once you are level 3.
Innate Spellcasting
You know the poison spray cantrip. You can cast animal friendship an unlimited number of times with this trait, but you can target only snakes with it. Starting at 3rd level, you can also cast suggestion with this trait. Once you cast it, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for these spells.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So... if someone chooses a race which also knows once per day or rest spells as a racial spell, could that character also cast them with their class spell slots assuming they were a class that had spell slots of the proper type?
Meaning, would that be considered a prepared spell for that Wizard without having to "double learn it" to be able to cast it a second time? Anyone aware of RAW on this?
Playtesting Fugare Draconis, an epic tale of adventure, loss, and redemption
Generally, no. The spells are not known, nor are they wizard spells (or any other class spells) for the purposes of any feature that depends on something being a wizard spell. They have their own spellcasting ability which may or may not align with a class spellcasting ability (Int, Wis, Cha usually). They do not and cannot use a spell slot, they have their own number of usages (or unlimited uses). They are always cast at their lowest level, since they can't use a higher slot. Much of this is generally true also for a warlock invocation spell (unless the invocation states that it uses a warlock spell slot).
All that being said, in my games I home-rule that all a character's spells use the same spellcasting ability and count as belonging to that characters class no matter how they acquired the spell (I feel a young Forest Gnome Sorcerer would quickly learn to channel their Minor Illusion magic through their sorcerous magical channel of Charisma). But I also don't allow multiclassing, so this is a possible simplification for my universe.
So, do we have to level up to gain all the spells, or do we know all of the spells at level 1. For example, yuan-ti can learn suggestion, do i need to be a level 2 to learn it or do i know it as a level 1?
The feature from Yuan-ti Pureblood explicitly says when you learn its racial spells, and you definitely don't know them all at level 1. You can cast Suggestion, once per long rest, once you are level 3.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.