The notion that Speed is how far a creature can move within a single round is taken out of context, it's in the context of travel pace, not combat.
The context is how creatures move; the combat section doesn't exist in isolation, it doesn't replace all rules that came before it, and even in the quote you gave it references using your speed (the entire section on moving in combat repeatedly does so), because you don't get infinite speed in a round, you eventually run out and can't move any further.
But I don't want to get embroiled in the movement rules in yet another thread; the movement rules in 5e are some of the worst defined in the game, and the word speed is used to mean multiple different things extremely inconsistently which doesn't help.
However, for dissonant whispers the issue is very simple; the question is "how far can a creature move in a round?", the answer is "up to its speed" because the only rule in the game that covers this, says that. If dissonant whispers allowed it to move beyond the normal limit it would say so, must say so, otherwise there's no reason to assume it can.
This is different from being pushed (e.g- by thunderwave) because effects like that aren't using your movement/speed.
It's an opinion based on how i have playtested 5E since 2012, how i've seen the Devs discuss it in twitter or podcasts and or in Sage Advice.Here's an exemple of an official ruling on the Harengon's Rabbit Hop trait
The Rabbit Hop trait is a perfect example of the devs writing bad rules; all it tells us is that the character "jumps", it says literally nothing about being additional movement, so RAW we have no reason to assume we should do anything other than use the rules we have been provided for jumping/moving.
What the devs then claim about how it works is really just an admission that what the rule says isn't what they intended for it to say. This is why it's so infuriating when they don't actually fix things. If I or my players need to reference a tweet or some other outside source beyond errata to confirm the intent of a rule, then the rule was never fit for purpose.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
It's the contrary, If dissonant whispers was using your movement speed or needed you to have movement left to move as a reaction, it would say so. You're compelled to move as far as your speed if you have a reaction.
Plenty of creatures also have legendary actions that let them move up to their speed (or half or whatever). Since this occurs outside their turn, this movement does not consider how much they just moved on their last turn. I guess I never really thought about dissonant whispers in that context, but I think it's correct to say that the amount of movement you have used on your turn doesn't really have anything to do with how far you move as a reaction.
However... what happens when someone hits you with dissonant whispers on your turn? That one I'm not so sure about. I would be inclined to take the character's movement into account in that situation, even though it seems to contradict the standard I laid out in the first paragraph.
EDIT: I just thought about something else. If the reaction fleeing does not take your movement into account, how can it provoke an OA? I mean, we know it does, but we just kind of broke the definition we use for what counts as forced movement.
Bonus action are only usable on your turn, One of the reason Orcs are so mobile is their Aggressive trait letting them move up to their speed as a bonus action, if it used up their speed movement, it would be a pretty lame feature! ☺
Aggressive. As a bonus action, the orc can move up to its speed toward a hostile creature that it can see.
EDIT: I just thought about something else. If the reaction fleeing does not take your movement into account, how can it provoke an OA? I mean, we know it does, but we just kind of broke the definition we use for what counts as forced movement.
It provoke an Opportunity Attack because it moves as a reaction.
Opportunity Attack: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.
EDIT: I just thought about something else. If the reaction fleeing does not take your movement into account, how can it provoke an OA? I mean, we know it does, but we just kind of broke the definition we use for what counts as forced movement.
It provoke an Opportunity Attack because it moves as a reaction.
Opportunity Attack: You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.
It's the contrary, If dissonant whispers was using your movement speed or needed you to have movement left to move as a reaction, it would say so. You're compelled to move as far as your speed if you have a reaction.
If it involves doing something that's an exception to the normal rules then it needs to state that, not the other way round. Because the default is always that the normal rules apply, and the normal rules say speed is how far you can move during a round. All dissonant whispers says is you move, ergo you follow the normal movement rules.
@Zoltar Dissonant whispers, can creature who used full speed on its turn, have any left to move away?
@mikemearls yes, use its full speed #WOTCstaff
This answer by Mike Mearls isn't even clear, and he has a nasty habit of contradicting himself or making strange rulings in tweets; tweets by devs are at bestonly relevant for establishing intent, they are of precisely zero use for Rules As Written because they are not official rulings.
Once again, if I have to refer to a tweet that contradicts what the rules actually say, then either the tweet is wrong, or the rules are wrong, either way, one of them needs to be fixed.
Plenty of creatures also have legendary actions that let them move up to their speed (or half or whatever). Since this occurs outside their turn, this movement does not consider how much they just moved on their last turn.
Citation please, because if this is how they function then the rules must surely say that somewhere, otherwise it's just an invention or an assumption that is never stated. And no, I don't care if devs retroactively try to claim that's how it works in a tweet, because if they can't be bothered correcting the rules then why should I be expected to do it for them?
The only rule that actually states what speed is in D&D is absolutely clear that it is how far a creature moves in a round; it doesn't matter if movement occurs on the creature's turn, in a reaction or in a legendary reaction, because if those things don't state that they bypass the normal restriction then they don't do that.
The advantage of moving as a legendary action isn't that you magically get more movement, it's that you can move when you normally can't, it enables enemies to respond to situations as they happen, such as being encircled (or in danger of that happening). It lets a creature move using the last of its remaining speed before it gets its speed back etc.
It may well be that the intention is that they can move beyond the normal limit as well, but if that's what the rules are supposed to say then they should actually say so. Either the rules say what they are meant to say, or they don't, which is it?
Bonus action are only usable on your turn, One of the reason Orcs are so mobile is their Aggressive trait letting them move up to their speed as a bonus action, if it used up their speed movement, it would be a pretty lame feature! ☺
Aggressive. As a bonus action, the orc can move up to its speed toward a hostile creature that it can see.
This is another example of a bad rule (one which is also now discontinued). Just because it's clear what the intention of the feature is (bonus action Dash) doesn't mean the rule itself is written well, because what speed is defined as in the rules, clearly isn't what they meant by "speed" in this one. This goes right back to the enormous amount of inconsistency involved in the frankly terrible movement rules in 5e.
Just like I could write a rule "As an action, attack a creature with an item"; it's probably clear the rule is meant to mean "make an attack using an item" rather than "attack a creature that has an item". Point being, just because you can guess what a rule is supposed to say doesn't mean it's okay that it doesn't actually say that.
But I really don't want to get into this again here; the thread's about dissonant whispers, and nobody so far has provided a single shred of evidence that the rules say you can exceed your speed for the round, ergo you can't. Just because other similar abilities might run into the same problem changes nothing.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
This is not a replacement to the per-round speed limitation because it's still based on how much speed you have remaining; that entire section repeatedly mentions spending/using your speed, because it's a finite (per round) resource. Unless a rule specifically overrides, or increases, the normal per-round limit there is precisely zero reason to assume that that happens.
The quoted rule states "on your turn you can move a distance up to your speed". Well what is your speed? Your speed is how far you can move in one round, this hasn't changed just because the combat rules are telling you what you can do on your turn, which is only part of the round.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Citation please, because if this is how they function then the rules must surely say that somewhere, otherwise it's just an invention or an assumption that is never stated. And no, I don't care if devs retroactively try to claim that's how it works in a tweet, because if they can't be bothered correcting the rules then why should I be expected to do it for them?
The only rule that actually states what speed is in D&D is absolutely clear that it is how far a creature moves in a round; it doesn't matter if movement occurs on the creature's turn, in a reaction or in a legendary reaction, because if those things don't state that they bypass the normal restriction then they don't do that.
The advantage of moving as a legendary action isn't that you magically get more movement, it's that you can move when you normally can't, it enables enemies to respond to situations as they happen, such as being encircled (or in danger of that happening). It lets a creature move using the last of its remaining speed before it gets its speed back etc.
It may well be that the intention is that they can move beyond the normal limit as well, but if that's what the rules are supposed to say then they should actually say so. Either the rules say what they are meant to say, or they don't, which is it?
Oh, this isn't me trying to tell you what's what. I'm just trying to work through and parse the relationship between DW's specific rules and general rules for movement, and that's where I'm currently at. I will say that the dragon, who used all of its movement last turn, can use a legendary action to flap its wings and fly up to half its speed anyway with a legendary action. I don't think that is a particularly controversial statement.
EDIT: As for the "rules do what they say they do" argument, that's true, and I'm not saying it isn't, but it's not the whole truth. Rules do what they say they do...and whatever other general rules also apply.
I will say that the dragon, who used all of its movement last turn, can use a legendary action to flap its wings and fly up to half its speed anyway with a legendary action. I don't think that is a particularly controversial statement.
In a Rules As Written discussion it is, because the rules as far as I can see never state that this is the case; so under normal rules if the dragon has no speed left it cannot move.
Even if we assume what they mean by "speed" in this case (since they don't use the word speed consistently in the rules) is "base speed" or "current maximum speed" rather than "remaining speed", they still have nothing left to use to actually move with, because they're still limited by their speed for the round (unless the legendary action is taken after a new round started).
Dragons are already mobile creatures (most have 80 feet of flying speed to work with), the advantage of moving as a legendary action is doing it out of sequence to avoid being surrounded, or repositioning themselves early for their next action etc.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
This is RAW discussion, so if a feature doesn't say it cost movement, it doesn't.
I believe this is a logically incomplete statement. If a feature doesn't say it uses movement, we still need to weigh it against uncontradicted general rules that may or may not apply to the situation.
The thing I'm currently hung up on is the statement in the movement rules that refers to a round. How long is a round in this context? Is it a full cycle of initiative from one point to the same point on the next round? That certainly seems to be the most straightforward answer. If that's the case, then we have to allow either what Haravikk is saying that the dragon has no more movement to move with even for a legendary action, or we have to allow that DW / legendary actions contradict this rule by granting you additional movement similar to how the dash action does. But you have pointed out they don't say they do that (and dash does) :)
This is RAW discussion, so if a feature doesn't say it cost movement, it doesn't. Like i said, most trait, feature or effect involving moving up to or as far as your speed using a ressource, action or reaction does not cost movement on top.
we have to allow that DW / legendary actions contradict this rule by granting you additional movement similar to how the dash action does. But you have pointed out they don't say they do that (and dash does) :)
The dash action moves you nowhere, it let you gain extra movement for the current turn equals to your speed. That's why Readying the Dash action don't let move you, you have no movement off turn.
That's why you can Ready to move up to your speed, it's the only way you can outside of traits, features or actions letting you do so. And none of them will cost movement, because you have no movement off turn. Movement is on your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn. Off turn movement usually involve another resource such as an action or reaction.
Yeah, you know what. I'm satisfied to say that: "Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round." is contradicted in the case of legendary actions, dissonant whispers (outside your turn), readying movement, and the dash action. That would make those specific rules apply in those situations and let you move up to your speed even when your pool of movement has been exhausted.
That's why you can Ready to move up to your speed, it's the only way you can outside of traits, features or actions letting you do so. And none of them will cost movement, because you have no movement off turn. Movement is on your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn.
But we agree that things that affect movement cost still apply off-turn, like standing up from prone, difficult terrain, even though they don't affect your speed, right?
That's why you can Ready to move up to your speed, it's the only way you can outside of traits, features or actions letting you do so. And none of them will cost movement, because you have no movement off turn. Movement is on your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn.
But we agree that things that affect movement cost still apply off-turn, like standing up from prone, difficult terrain, even though they don't affect your speed, right?
Right because they cost movement or extra feet to move basically.
This is RAW discussion, so if a feature doesn't say it cost movement, it doesn't. Like i said, most trait, feature or effect involving moving up to or as far as your speed using a ressource, action or reaction does not cost movement on top.
The rules say that speed is how far you can move in a round; there is no need for other rules to specify that a move counts against your speed with that already stated, because that's the general rule. Moving without counting against your speed is the exception that needs to be made.
Here's the Devs straight up saying you have no movement off turn; another proof that moving off turn doesn't cost movement!
@thomas_conners If you ready the Dash Action, can you then move up to twice you speed in reaction to the trigger?
@JeremyECrawford Dash gives you extra movement. Off your turn, you have no movement. E.g., 0 ft. + 30 ft. = 30 ft., not 60 ft.
This proves nothing of sort for multiple reasons:
Firstly because it's an unofficial tweet, and tweets aren't Rules As Written. I'm arguing RAW here, not Rules As Intended; but this particular tweet doesn't help with the latter either, if anything it makes the intention less clear, not more.
Second, because movement and speed are not the same, movement is the thing you do, limited by your speed (how far you can move in a round).
Third because normally being unable to move outside of your own turn doesn't mean you can do so for free when you move outside of your turn, this doesn't logically follow at all, and it's never stated anywhere.
And lastly, because if you are going by the flawed statement (why we don't like tweets) "off your turn, you have no movement" then what you would actually be arguing is that dissonant whispers can never move you (because if you have never have movement outside of your turn then you never do so).
The reason Dash as a reaction doesn't work is because you can't move as part of that same reaction, so being able to move further on the turn is useless unless something during the same turn causes you to make a normal move.
Yeah, you know what. I'm satisfied to say that: "Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round." is contradicted in the case of legendary actions, dissonant whispers (outside your turn), readying movement, and the dash action. That would make those specific rules apply in those situations and let you move up to your speed even when your pool of movement has been exhausted.
Contradicted by what? None of these things say they enable movement beyond the creature's normal limit for the round.
I feel like you're assuming that they must allow free movement because they won't work if you have none left, but that would be a flawed assumption; as I've pointed out there are good reasons to want to spend the same movement out of sequence. A dragon's wing attack doesn't just enable it to move, it lets it do an area attack, nor does a vampire's Move legendary action because that one doesn't trigger opportunity attacks (the trade off is you have to wait, and spend a legendary action) etc.
Readying movement to become a reaction is useful because it lets you move only if something happens, rather than moving on your turn only to have to move back again, it can let you move when circumstances are better, after an ally casts haste on you, or any number of other reasons.
Still being subject to the same limit on total movement in a round doesn't make any of these things useless. And to drag this topic kicking and screaming back towards what it's supposed to be about, it just means that dissonant whispers needs to be more carefully timed, i.e- don't cast it on something that already used all of its speed. It also gives it a built in time lag for charging enemies; so you can't just immediately send them away again.
It's already an extremely powerful 1st-level spell, what with psychic damage, targeting a less commonly high saving throw, and being capable of triggering opportunity attacks. Having to wait a round doesn't make it weak.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The context is how creatures move; the combat section doesn't exist in isolation, it doesn't replace all rules that came before it, and even in the quote you gave it references using your speed (the entire section on moving in combat repeatedly does so), because you don't get infinite speed in a round, you eventually run out and can't move any further.
But I don't want to get embroiled in the movement rules in yet another thread; the movement rules in 5e are some of the worst defined in the game, and the word speed is used to mean multiple different things extremely inconsistently which doesn't help.
However, for dissonant whispers the issue is very simple; the question is "how far can a creature move in a round?", the answer is "up to its speed" because the only rule in the game that covers this, says that. If dissonant whispers allowed it to move beyond the normal limit it would say so, must say so, otherwise there's no reason to assume it can.
This is different from being pushed (e.g- by thunderwave) because effects like that aren't using your movement/speed.
The Rabbit Hop trait is a perfect example of the devs writing bad rules; all it tells us is that the character "jumps", it says literally nothing about being additional movement, so RAW we have no reason to assume we should do anything other than use the rules we have been provided for jumping/moving.
What the devs then claim about how it works is really just an admission that what the rule says isn't what they intended for it to say. This is why it's so infuriating when they don't actually fix things. If I or my players need to reference a tweet or some other outside source beyond errata to confirm the intent of a rule, then the rule was never fit for purpose.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
It's the contrary, If dissonant whispers was using your movement speed or needed you to have movement left to move as a reaction, it would say so. You're compelled to move as far as your speed if you have a reaction.
Here's a Devs tweet if you want WoTC opinion on the matter; Dissonant whispers, can creature who used full speed on its turn, have any left to move away? (sageadvice.eu)
Plenty of creatures also have legendary actions that let them move up to their speed (or half or whatever). Since this occurs outside their turn, this movement does not consider how much they just moved on their last turn. I guess I never really thought about dissonant whispers in that context, but I think it's correct to say that the amount of movement you have used on your turn doesn't really have anything to do with how far you move as a reaction.
However... what happens when someone hits you with dissonant whispers on your turn? That one I'm not so sure about. I would be inclined to take the character's movement into account in that situation, even though it seems to contradict the standard I laid out in the first paragraph.
EDIT: I just thought about something else. If the reaction fleeing does not take your movement into account, how can it provoke an OA? I mean, we know it does, but we just kind of broke the definition we use for what counts as forced movement.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Bonus action are only usable on your turn, One of the reason Orcs are so mobile is their Aggressive trait letting them move up to their speed as a bonus action, if it used up their speed movement, it would be a pretty lame feature! ☺
It provoke an Opportunity Attack because it moves as a reaction.
Perfect.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
If it involves doing something that's an exception to the normal rules then it needs to state that, not the other way round. Because the default is always that the normal rules apply, and the normal rules say speed is how far you can move during a round. All dissonant whispers says is you move, ergo you follow the normal movement rules.
This answer by Mike Mearls isn't even clear, and he has a nasty habit of contradicting himself or making strange rulings in tweets; tweets by devs are at best only relevant for establishing intent, they are of precisely zero use for Rules As Written because they are not official rulings.
Once again, if I have to refer to a tweet that contradicts what the rules actually say, then either the tweet is wrong, or the rules are wrong, either way, one of them needs to be fixed.
Citation please, because if this is how they function then the rules must surely say that somewhere, otherwise it's just an invention or an assumption that is never stated. And no, I don't care if devs retroactively try to claim that's how it works in a tweet, because if they can't be bothered correcting the rules then why should I be expected to do it for them?
The only rule that actually states what speed is in D&D is absolutely clear that it is how far a creature moves in a round; it doesn't matter if movement occurs on the creature's turn, in a reaction or in a legendary reaction, because if those things don't state that they bypass the normal restriction then they don't do that.
The advantage of moving as a legendary action isn't that you magically get more movement, it's that you can move when you normally can't, it enables enemies to respond to situations as they happen, such as being encircled (or in danger of that happening). It lets a creature move using the last of its remaining speed before it gets its speed back etc.
It may well be that the intention is that they can move beyond the normal limit as well, but if that's what the rules are supposed to say then they should actually say so. Either the rules say what they are meant to say, or they don't, which is it?
This is another example of a bad rule (one which is also now discontinued). Just because it's clear what the intention of the feature is (bonus action Dash) doesn't mean the rule itself is written well, because what speed is defined as in the rules, clearly isn't what they meant by "speed" in this one. This goes right back to the enormous amount of inconsistency involved in the frankly terrible movement rules in 5e.
Just like I could write a rule "As an action, attack a creature with an item"; it's probably clear the rule is meant to mean "make an attack using an item" rather than "attack a creature that has an item". Point being, just because you can guess what a rule is supposed to say doesn't mean it's okay that it doesn't actually say that.
But I really don't want to get into this again here; the thread's about dissonant whispers, and nobody so far has provided a single shred of evidence that the rules say you can exceed your speed for the round, ergo you can't. Just because other similar abilities might run into the same problem changes nothing.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
plague literally just quoted movement rules on the last page that cited turns, not rounds
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
This is not a replacement to the per-round speed limitation because it's still based on how much speed you have remaining; that entire section repeatedly mentions spending/using your speed, because it's a finite (per round) resource. Unless a rule specifically overrides, or increases, the normal per-round limit there is precisely zero reason to assume that that happens.
The quoted rule states "on your turn you can move a distance up to your speed". Well what is your speed? Your speed is how far you can move in one round, this hasn't changed just because the combat rules are telling you what you can do on your turn, which is only part of the round.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Oh, this isn't me trying to tell you what's what. I'm just trying to work through and parse the relationship between DW's specific rules and general rules for movement, and that's where I'm currently at. I will say that the dragon, who used all of its movement last turn, can use a legendary action to flap its wings and fly up to half its speed anyway with a legendary action. I don't think that is a particularly controversial statement.
EDIT: As for the "rules do what they say they do" argument, that's true, and I'm not saying it isn't, but it's not the whole truth. Rules do what they say they do...and whatever other general rules also apply.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
In a Rules As Written discussion it is, because the rules as far as I can see never state that this is the case; so under normal rules if the dragon has no speed left it cannot move.
Even if we assume what they mean by "speed" in this case (since they don't use the word speed consistently in the rules) is "base speed" or "current maximum speed" rather than "remaining speed", they still have nothing left to use to actually move with, because they're still limited by their speed for the round (unless the legendary action is taken after a new round started).
Dragons are already mobile creatures (most have 80 feet of flying speed to work with), the advantage of moving as a legendary action is doing it out of sequence to avoid being surrounded, or repositioning themselves early for their next action etc.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
In fairness, I'm going to need to consider this.
I believe this is a logically incomplete statement. If a feature doesn't say it uses movement, we still need to weigh it against uncontradicted general rules that may or may not apply to the situation.
The thing I'm currently hung up on is the statement in the movement rules that refers to a round. How long is a round in this context? Is it a full cycle of initiative from one point to the same point on the next round? That certainly seems to be the most straightforward answer. If that's the case, then we have to allow either what Haravikk is saying that the dragon has no more movement to move with even for a legendary action, or we have to allow that DW / legendary actions contradict this rule by granting you additional movement similar to how the dash action does. But you have pointed out they don't say they do that (and dash does) :)
"Not all those who wander are lost"
This is RAW discussion, so if a feature doesn't say it cost movement, it doesn't. Like i said, most trait, feature or effect involving moving up to or as far as your speed using a ressource, action or reaction does not cost movement on top.
Here's the Devs straight up saying you have no movement off turn; another proof that moving off turn doesn't cost movement!
The dash action moves you nowhere, it let you gain extra movement for the current turn equals to your speed. That's why Readying the Dash action don't let move you, you have no movement off turn.
That's why you can Ready to move up to your speed, it's the only way you can outside of traits, features or actions letting you do so. And none of them will cost movement, because you have no movement off turn. Movement is on your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn. Off turn movement usually involve another resource such as an action or reaction.
Yeah, you know what. I'm satisfied to say that: "Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round." is contradicted in the case of legendary actions, dissonant whispers (outside your turn), readying movement, and the dash action. That would make those specific rules apply in those situations and let you move up to your speed even when your pool of movement has been exhausted.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
But we agree that things that affect movement cost still apply off-turn, like standing up from prone, difficult terrain, even though they don't affect your speed, right?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Right because they cost movement or extra feet to move basically.
The rules say that speed is how far you can move in a round; there is no need for other rules to specify that a move counts against your speed with that already stated, because that's the general rule. Moving without counting against your speed is the exception that needs to be made.
This proves nothing of sort for multiple reasons:
Firstly because it's an unofficial tweet, and tweets aren't Rules As Written. I'm arguing RAW here, not Rules As Intended; but this particular tweet doesn't help with the latter either, if anything it makes the intention less clear, not more.
Second, because movement and speed are not the same, movement is the thing you do, limited by your speed (how far you can move in a round).
Third because normally being unable to move outside of your own turn doesn't mean you can do so for free when you move outside of your turn, this doesn't logically follow at all, and it's never stated anywhere.
And lastly, because if you are going by the flawed statement (why we don't like tweets) "off your turn, you have no movement" then what you would actually be arguing is that dissonant whispers can never move you (because if you have never have movement outside of your turn then you never do so).
The reason Dash as a reaction doesn't work is because you can't move as part of that same reaction, so being able to move further on the turn is useless unless something during the same turn causes you to make a normal move.
Contradicted by what? None of these things say they enable movement beyond the creature's normal limit for the round.
I feel like you're assuming that they must allow free movement because they won't work if you have none left, but that would be a flawed assumption; as I've pointed out there are good reasons to want to spend the same movement out of sequence. A dragon's wing attack doesn't just enable it to move, it lets it do an area attack, nor does a vampire's Move legendary action because that one doesn't trigger opportunity attacks (the trade off is you have to wait, and spend a legendary action) etc.
Readying movement to become a reaction is useful because it lets you move only if something happens, rather than moving on your turn only to have to move back again, it can let you move when circumstances are better, after an ally casts haste on you, or any number of other reasons.
Still being subject to the same limit on total movement in a round doesn't make any of these things useless. And to drag this topic kicking and screaming back towards what it's supposed to be about, it just means that dissonant whispers needs to be more carefully timed, i.e- don't cast it on something that already used all of its speed. It also gives it a built in time lag for charging enemies; so you can't just immediately send them away again.
It's already an extremely powerful 1st-level spell, what with psychic damage, targeting a less commonly high saving throw, and being capable of triggering opportunity attacks. Having to wait a round doesn't make it weak.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.