Specifically, can a bonus action spell be cast say Hunter's Mark, Then as an action cast the Cantrip Booming Blade and make your attack, then in response to an OA in response to your movement cast Shield as a reaction. I am specifically talking about the bonus action rule that states you can only cast cantrips with 1 action as their casting time after a bonus action spell. However it does not seem to address reaction spells or does the rule apply to them as well?
You would not be able cast the shield spell because it is on your turn where you have already cast with a bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I thought that might be the case, but I could not seem to find a clarification anywhere including in sage advice. IMHO the game is already to easy compared to other editions that came before.
I thought that might be the case, but I could not seem to find a clarification anywhere including in sage advice. IMHO the game is already to easy compared to other editions that came before.
Chapter 10: Spellcasting > Casting Time > Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Since the Shield spell is a Reaction, not an action, and is a levelled spell not a cantrip, you cannot cast this on your turn if you have used your bonus action to cast a spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I thought that might be the case, but I could not seem to find a clarification anywhere including in sage advice. IMHO the game is already to easy compared to other editions that came before.
Chapter 10: Spellcasting > Casting Time > Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Since the Shield spell is a Reaction, not an action, and is a levelled spell not a cantrip, you cannot cast this on your turn if you have used your bonus action to cast a spell.
So this is where that gets fuzzy. You can still use the reaction despite casting a leveled spell
You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius also has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball.
That Sage Advice is assuming you haven't used your bonus action for casting a spell. So it has no relevance here.
If you have used a bonus action to cast a spell, of any level, then for the remainder of your turn you are restricted to casting spells with an action that are cantrips. You can no longer use reaction spells.
There's no murkiness here. It's very clear.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
If you don't use your bonus action then you are fine. You could cast a levelled spell with your action (twice if you happen to have action surge) and with your reaction all during the same turn with no issue.
There are a lot of ways to 'cast' multiple full level spells in the same round.
Examples include using items like Potions of Flying that duplicate a spell but do NOT say 'cast a spell', combined with Haste.
Thief's Reflexes lets you take 2 turns a round (but at 17th level that only leaves you a few levels for a casting class).
There is the Contingency Spell.
You can definitely cast a spell and then cast another spell as a reaction on someone else's turn that same round. There is a Sage Advice that says that if you cast a spell and someone else counterspells your spell, you can counterspell their spell which implies the Bonus Action rule only applies to your actions, not your reactions.
Action Surge lets you take two actions, there is some argument about whether they can be two spells, ask your DM.
You can definitely cast a spell and then cast another spell as a reaction on someone else's turn that same round. There is a Sage Advice that says that if you cast a spell and someone else counterspells your spell, you can counterspell their spell which implies the Bonus Action rule only applies to your actions, not your reactions.
It only applies to your bonus actions. If you Misty Step and it gets counterspelled, you can't counterspell because it's casting a spell during your turn that's not a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
Action Surge lets you take two actions, there is some argument about whether they can be two spells, ask your DM.
By the rules, there's no argument; you absolutely can. Some people misinterpret the bonus action spell rule to be broader than it is, and some DMs think that's too powerful, but neither of those are by the book.
I was on the fence on the issue of still being able to cast a Reaction spell if you cast one with a Bonus Action, until I read two things:
The wording in the rule in the PHB: Bonus Action -- A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
And this old but seemingly still valid tweet:
Jeremy Crawford
@JeremyECrawford
Casting a bonus action spell means no other spells that turn but a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. #DnD
Jason Eau Clair
Sep 26, 2015
@JeremyECrawford Does casting a bonus action spell still allow you to cast a normal spell then still get a reaction spell?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Specifically, can a bonus action spell be cast say Hunter's Mark, Then as an action cast the Cantrip Booming Blade and make your attack, then in response to an OA in response to your movement cast Shield as a reaction. I am specifically talking about the bonus action rule that states you can only cast cantrips with 1 action as their casting time after a bonus action spell. However it does not seem to address reaction spells or does the rule apply to them as well?
You would not be able cast the shield spell because it is on your turn where you have already cast with a bonus action.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I thought that might be the case, but I could not seem to find a clarification anywhere including in sage advice. IMHO the game is already to easy compared to other editions that came before.
Chapter 10: Spellcasting > Casting Time > Bonus Action
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting#BonusAction
Since the Shield spell is a Reaction, not an action, and is a levelled spell not a cantrip, you cannot cast this on your turn if you have used your bonus action to cast a spell.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
So this is where that gets fuzzy. You can still use the reaction despite casting a leveled spell
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA161
Can you cast a reaction spell on your turn?
You sure can! Here’s a common way for it to happen: Cornelius the wizard is casting fireball on his turn, and his foe casts counterspell on him. Cornelius also has counterspell prepared, so he uses his reaction to cast it and break his foe’s counterspell before it can stop fireball.
That Sage Advice is assuming you haven't used your bonus action for casting a spell. So it has no relevance here.
If you have used a bonus action to cast a spell, of any level, then for the remainder of your turn you are restricted to casting spells with an action that are cantrips. You can no longer use reaction spells.
There's no murkiness here. It's very clear.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Thank you I missed that.
but what happens if I don't use a bonus action
like can I as a careful meta-magic sorcerer cast fireball on myself and then cast absorb elements
As said above, if you don't cast a bonus action spell, you are not restricted in what spells you can cast
If you don't use your bonus action then you are fine. You could cast a levelled spell with your action (twice if you happen to have action surge) and with your reaction all during the same turn with no issue.
There are a lot of ways to 'cast' multiple full level spells in the same round.
Examples include using items like Potions of Flying that duplicate a spell but do NOT say 'cast a spell', combined with Haste.
Thief's Reflexes lets you take 2 turns a round (but at 17th level that only leaves you a few levels for a casting class).
There is the Contingency Spell.
You can definitely cast a spell and then cast another spell as a reaction on someone else's turn that same round. There is a Sage Advice that says that if you cast a spell and someone else counterspells your spell, you can counterspell their spell which implies the Bonus Action rule only applies to your actions, not your reactions.
Action Surge lets you take two actions, there is some argument about whether they can be two spells, ask your DM.
There is of course the Time Stop spell.
It only applies to your bonus actions. If you Misty Step and it gets counterspelled, you can't counterspell because it's casting a spell during your turn that's not a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
By the rules, there's no argument; you absolutely can. Some people misinterpret the bonus action spell rule to be broader than it is, and some DMs think that's too powerful, but neither of those are by the book.
I was on the fence on the issue of still being able to cast a Reaction spell if you cast one with a Bonus Action, until I read two things:
The wording in the rule in the PHB: Bonus Action -- A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
And this old but seemingly still valid tweet: