Considering: - (Sharpshooter) "Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If that attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage." - (Burst Fire) "...or it can spray a 10-foot-cube area within normal range with shots. Each creature in the area must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or take the weapon's normal damage."
If the attack that you make has no attack roll, do you subtract 5 from nothing and get 10 free damage?
My logic: It is just saying if you subtract 5 from attack roll, and it hits, you deal extra damage. Doesn't say it needs to be an attack roll, it's just very implied. So even if you say, well how can you subtract 5 from nothing, it doesn't state that matters.
To summarize my logic: "that attack" just has a -5 attack roll condition on it, and a burst attack isn't affected by that condition.
I mean, in a world where you get a Nat 1 and your dm says you hit someone you didn't want to hit, you would still do the +10 damage right? As long as you hit, you deal +10 damage I assume? So does it not make sense you are infact still hitting someone, just with the burst property?
The thing about Burst Fire is that you are no longer making an attack roll in the first place; you're taking the attack action, but then replacing one instance of an attack roll with an AoE save, thus the conditions that allow for the Sharpshooter shot are no longer present.
It's only an attack when it includes an attack roll. If you aren't making an attack roll, you aren't making an attack. If you aren't making an attack, you can't use that part of Sharpshooter.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Exception aside, an attack usually involves an attack roll, and the Sharpshooter feat specifically affect an attack roll while Burst Fire is a saving throw, making them incompatible.
“Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage.”
It say you take a -5 to the attack roll. That’s you. From your roll
when you use Burst you are not making an attack roll, they are making a saving throw. Their roll
If they are making a saving throw there is nothing for you to subtract from.
Considering:
- (Sharpshooter) "Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If that attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage."
- (Burst Fire) "...or it can spray a 10-foot-cube area within normal range with shots. Each creature in the area must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or take the weapon's normal damage."
If the attack that you make has no attack roll, do you subtract 5 from nothing and get 10 free damage?
My logic: It is just saying if you subtract 5 from attack roll, and it hits, you deal extra damage.
Doesn't say it needs to be an attack roll, it's just very implied. So even if you say, well how can you subtract 5 from nothing, it doesn't state that matters.
To summarize my logic: "that attack" just has a -5 attack roll condition on it, and a burst attack isn't affected by that condition.
I mean, in a world where you get a Nat 1 and your dm says you hit someone you didn't want to hit, you would still do the +10 damage right? As long as you hit, you deal +10 damage I assume? So does it not make sense you are infact still hitting someone, just with the burst property?
The thing about Burst Fire is that you are no longer making an attack roll in the first place; you're taking the attack action, but then replacing one instance of an attack roll with an AoE save, thus the conditions that allow for the Sharpshooter shot are no longer present.
A 'hit' in game terms is when an attack roll meets or exceeds a target's AC. - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#AttackRolls
When you use the Burst Fire property you are forgoing taking the Attack action to use the Burst Fire action and cause an area of effect that targets must save against. - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/dungeon-masters-workshop#Properties
Because you are not making an attack you cannot use Sharpshooter.
It's only an attack when it includes an attack roll. If you aren't making an attack roll, you aren't making an attack. If you aren't making an attack, you can't use that part of Sharpshooter.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Exception aside, an attack usually involves an attack roll, and the Sharpshooter feat specifically affect an attack roll while Burst Fire is a saving throw, making them incompatible.
One other way to put it:
If the attack you make has no attack roll? You aren't making an attack at all.
“Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack's damage.”
It say you take a -5 to the attack roll. That’s you. From your roll
when you use Burst you are not making an attack roll, they are making a saving throw. Their roll
If they are making a saving throw there is nothing for you to subtract from.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?