Hello folks, I'm looking for a bit of clarification/opinions on the rules when a giant octopus retrains an enemy. In our next session we'll likely my in a situation where the party will be doing underwater fighting against hunter sharks, and the party druid will almost certainly wildshape into a giant octopus.
If the giant octopus uses the tentacles attack and grapples a hunter shark at 10 or 15 foot range. Can the shark, attack the octopus back? The octopus is out of range but it has tenacles in the same space and the space between.
Also, can anyone see any reason why, under the grapple movement rules, the octopus can't drag the shark on to land?
Thanks in advance, I'm still quite new to DMing and want to make sue I implement the rules properly.
Tentacles. Melee Weapon Attack:+5 to hit, reach 15 ft., one target. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage. If the target is a creature, it is grappled (escape DC 16). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the octopus can't use its tentacles on another target.
Technically, the tentacles attack is a melee weapon attack that has a range of 15 feet. The octopus is still located in and occupies its own squares (4 squares for a large beast I believe) and this attack can target something up to 3 squares away from that. So, the RAW is that a hunter shark in this situation would not be able to attack the octopus since the hunter shark's attack only has a range of 5 feet. Yes, it's weird that the shark wouldn't be able to attack the tentacles that are holding it, so that seems like the sort of thing that a DM could overrule based on the situation, but it would be up to the DM to deviate from the RAW.
According to the rules for Grappling, the main option that the hunter shark would have in this situation is to use its action to attempt to escape the grapple with a contested strength check, in which case it would have a slightly better than 50/50 chance to succeed, but it would burn its action in the process.
The octopus could definitely drag the shark onto land by moving at half speed while maintaining the grapple.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello folks, I'm looking for a bit of clarification/opinions on the rules when a giant octopus retrains an enemy. In our next session we'll likely my in a situation where the party will be doing underwater fighting against hunter sharks, and the party druid will almost certainly wildshape into a giant octopus.
If the giant octopus uses the tentacles attack and grapples a hunter shark at 10 or 15 foot range. Can the shark, attack the octopus back? The octopus is out of range but it has tenacles in the same space and the space between.
Also, can anyone see any reason why, under the grapple movement rules, the octopus can't drag the shark on to land?
Thanks in advance, I'm still quite new to DMing and want to make sue I implement the rules properly.
Tentacles. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 15 ft., one target. Hit: 10 (2d6 + 3) bludgeoning damage. If the target is a creature, it is grappled (escape DC 16). Until this grapple ends, the target is restrained, and the octopus can't use its tentacles on another target.
Technically, the tentacles attack is a melee weapon attack that has a range of 15 feet. The octopus is still located in and occupies its own squares (4 squares for a large beast I believe) and this attack can target something up to 3 squares away from that. So, the RAW is that a hunter shark in this situation would not be able to attack the octopus since the hunter shark's attack only has a range of 5 feet. Yes, it's weird that the shark wouldn't be able to attack the tentacles that are holding it, so that seems like the sort of thing that a DM could overrule based on the situation, but it would be up to the DM to deviate from the RAW.
According to the rules for Grappling, the main option that the hunter shark would have in this situation is to use its action to attempt to escape the grapple with a contested strength check, in which case it would have a slightly better than 50/50 chance to succeed, but it would burn its action in the process.
The octopus could definitely drag the shark onto land by moving at half speed while maintaining the grapple.