If players use Ready Action, when does their turn end for the purposes of ending effects on them?
For example, I had a character in my recent session hit by a creature attack that made the character Frightened of the creature "until the end of their next turn." So, at the start of his next turn, he used Ready Action, and claimed that ended his turn. After another player went, his trigger happened, and he made his readied attack without disadvantage, claiming his character was no longer Frightened.
I allowed it to avoid getting bogged down in a rules discussion at the table, but it left me curious. I felt his turn did not end until his readied action was taken, so he should still have been Frightened. Just seeking clarity. Thanks!
I just wanted to add that if that was the chain of events, the player clearly acted later in the round, using their reaction, which occurred during someone else's turn.
Reactions Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's.
For added context, because the player was using their Reaction for their attack, they would not be able to use something like the Extra Attack feature (if they are a Fighter for example), because that feature specifies that the attack must take place on your Turn. Because they attacked on another player's turn, they would only get a single Melee attack.
If players use Ready Action, when does their turn end for the purposes of ending effects on them?
For example, I had a character in my recent session hit by a creature attack that made the character Frightened of the creature "until the end of their next turn." So, at the start of his next turn, he used Ready Action, and claimed that ended his turn. After another player went, his trigger happened, and he made his readied attack without disadvantage, claiming his character was no longer Frightened.
I allowed it to avoid getting bogged down in a rules discussion at the table, but it left me curious. I felt his turn did not end until his readied action was taken, so he should still have been Frightened. Just seeking clarity. Thanks!
A couple of important points. It is valid to hold an attack and then take it later. Once your turn ends, it ends. The ready action allows you to use your reaction to make an attack.
It's important to remember you do not get a bonus action or action on a ready action. You get a single attack. So a fighter would not get multiple attacks and would not be able to use action surge. I also believe readied spells require your concentration and you could lose the spell before acting.
For added context, because the player was using their Reaction for their attack, they would not be able to use something like the Extra Attack feature (if they are a Fighter for example), because that feature specifies that the attack must take place on your Turn. Because they attacked on another player's turn, they would only get a single Melee attack.
Just a quick clarification. They would get a single ATTACK ... it isn't limited to a Melee Attack.
For added context, because the player was using their Reaction for their attack, they would not be able to use something like the Extra Attack feature (if they are a Fighter for example), because that feature specifies that the attack must take place on your Turn. Because they attacked on another player's turn, they would only get a single Melee attack.
Just a quick clarification. They would get a single ATTACK ... it isn't limited to a Melee Attack.
I meant Mundane attack....not Melee. I was thinking about spells like Eldritch Blast, which would still let you gain the benefits of all the beams you would have.
For added context, because the player was using their Reaction for their attack, they would not be able to use something like the Extra Attack feature (if they are a Fighter for example), because that feature specifies that the attack must take place on your Turn. Because they attacked on another player's turn, they would only get a single Melee attack.
Just a quick clarification. They would get a single ATTACK ... it isn't limited to a Melee Attack.
I meant Mundane attack....not Melee. I was thinking about spells like Eldritch Blast, which would still let you gain the benefits of all the beams you would have.
Yep. Ready action to cast Eldritch blast or another cantrip works even better than Ready to take the Attack action. The main drawback is that the spell is still cast on your turn and requires concentration until the time you release it so it could be lost by failing a concentration save due to damage and it doesn't work well if you are already concentrating on something but otherwise you would get all beams from the spell and all of these would avoid any conditions that ended at the end of the character's previous turn.
For added context, because the player was using their Reaction for their attack, they would not be able to use something like the Extra Attack feature (if they are a Fighter for example), because that feature specifies that the attack must take place on your Turn. Because they attacked on another player's turn, they would only get a single Melee attack.
Just a quick clarification. They would get a single ATTACK ... it isn't limited to a Melee Attack.
I meant Mundane attack....not Melee. I was thinking about spells like Eldritch Blast, which would still let you gain the benefits of all the beams you would have.
Yep. Ready action to cast Eldritch blast or another cantrip works even better than Ready to take the Attack action. The main drawback is that the spell is still cast on your turn and requires concentration until the time you release it so it could be lost by failing a concentration save due to damage and it doesn't work well if you are already concentrating on something but otherwise you would get all beams from the spell and all of these would avoid any conditions that ended at the end of the character's previous turn.
Not to mention in most cases that you actually need to hold your attack, you are probably not going to lose concentration, because there usually isn't going to be someone attacking you (or you would have just attacked them on your turn).
It's important to remember you do not get a bonus action or action on a ready action. You get a single attack.
This isn't completely correct. The rules for the Ready action explicitly allows you to chose an action to take (but yes, that means that Bonus actions are not allowed). So if you want to attack then you would, when the trigger comes up, take the Attack action. Normally the trigger comes up after the creatures turn is over and thus they would only get one attack (because the Extra Attack feature is limited to "on your turn") but if the trigger takes place during the creatures turn, or if it is a monster with the "Multiattack" feature, then it could take the full number of attacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If players use Ready Action, when does their turn end for the purposes of ending effects on them?
For example, I had a character in my recent session hit by a creature attack that made the character Frightened of the creature "until the end of their next turn." So, at the start of his next turn, he used Ready Action, and claimed that ended his turn. After another player went, his trigger happened, and he made his readied attack without disadvantage, claiming his character was no longer Frightened.
I allowed it to avoid getting bogged down in a rules discussion at the table, but it left me curious. I felt his turn did not end until his readied action was taken, so he should still have been Frightened. Just seeking clarity. Thanks!
Your player is correct. End of turn is when initiative passes to the next character.
I just wanted to add that if that was the chain of events, the player clearly acted later in the round, using their reaction, which occurred during someone else's turn.
For added context, because the player was using their Reaction for their attack, they would not be able to use something like the Extra Attack feature (if they are a Fighter for example), because that feature specifies that the attack must take place on your Turn. Because they attacked on another player's turn, they would only get a single Melee attack.
A couple of important points. It is valid to hold an attack and then take it later. Once your turn ends, it ends. The ready action allows you to use your reaction to make an attack.
It's important to remember you do not get a bonus action or action on a ready action. You get a single attack. So a fighter would not get multiple attacks and would not be able to use action surge. I also believe readied spells require your concentration and you could lose the spell before acting.
Just a quick clarification. They would get a single ATTACK ... it isn't limited to a Melee Attack.
I meant Mundane attack....not Melee. I was thinking about spells like Eldritch Blast, which would still let you gain the benefits of all the beams you would have.
Yep. Ready action to cast Eldritch blast or another cantrip works even better than Ready to take the Attack action. The main drawback is that the spell is still cast on your turn and requires concentration until the time you release it so it could be lost by failing a concentration save due to damage and it doesn't work well if you are already concentrating on something but otherwise you would get all beams from the spell and all of these would avoid any conditions that ended at the end of the character's previous turn.
Not to mention in most cases that you actually need to hold your attack, you are probably not going to lose concentration, because there usually isn't going to be someone attacking you (or you would have just attacked them on your turn).
Unless you're concentrating on an ongoing spell. Losing some spell you're concentrating on because you want to ready a cantrip is pretty undesirable.
This isn't completely correct. The rules for the Ready action explicitly allows you to chose an action to take (but yes, that means that Bonus actions are not allowed). So if you want to attack then you would, when the trigger comes up, take the Attack action. Normally the trigger comes up after the creatures turn is over and thus they would only get one attack (because the Extra Attack feature is limited to "on your turn") but if the trigger takes place during the creatures turn, or if it is a monster with the "Multiattack" feature, then it could take the full number of attacks.