That glossary entry probably could use some errata for clarity. It's just trying to differentiate a particular type of harm as opposed to acquiring a harmful condition or some other harmful effect. They are talking about the type of harm that is capable of causing a creature or an object to lose Hit Points. Hit Points don't have to be lost in order for something to be classified as damage. The way that this glossary entry is worded is a bit misleading which could cause an interpretation that does not align with how dealing damage and taking damage is described throughout the "Playing the Game" portion of the rules.
In the rules, it is described like this:
Each weapon, spell, and damaging monster ability specifies the damage it deals. You roll the damage dice, add any modifiers, and deal the damage to your target.
It is implied throughout the rules that when damage is dealt to a creature, that creature takes damage, unless a rule or feature says otherwise. For example:
Immunity to a damage type means you don’t take damage of that type
According to the rules, when you DO take damage, you subtract it from your temporary hit points first, and then you subtract whatever is left from your hit points.
But RAW, hit points do have to be lost in order for you to have taken damage. At least until they errata the definition for damage.
Edit: actually, with this definition of damage from the glossary, you also can't suffer a death saving throw failure from taking damage because you can't lose anymore hit points after dropping to 0.
Temporary is and adjective describing a particular subset of the general group “hitpoints” . They are still hitpoints so even if the temp HP are not exhausted you have stilllost hitpoints when you take damage. So you still need to roll for concentration. There is no real way to worm out of that. But nice try.
Nah, the glossary is just saying that the concept of damage represents a certain type of harm. Taking damage means that that particular type of harm has been inflicted upon you. When you DO take damage, the consequences of that are resolved by the various rules that I've quoted above.
If it were the way that you are saying it would have been written in a different way.
"Damage represents harm that causes a creature or an object to lose Hit Points."
So if you aren't losing hit points, you aren't taking damage?
Temporary Hit Points aren’t Hit Point, but if you have Temporary Hit Points and take damage, those points are lost first, and any leftover damage carries over to your Hit Points, meaning if there was no leftover, you still took damage in the first place, you just didn't loose Hit Points.
For example, if you have 5 Temporary Hit Points and take 7 damage, you lose those points and then lose 2 Hit Points.
That's also for a different edition of the game... Sorta
The way Damage, Concentration, Temporary Hit points, etc. work in the 2024 PHB is the same as in the 2014 one. They didn't change that.
At this point, like Wi1dBi11 said, you're just trying to find a nonexistent loop in the rules that would allow you to avoid dealing with Concentration. That's why you're ignoring rules as written, everyone showing you why you're wrong, and even Jeremy Crawford's explanation. You just don't want to accept it.
I don't think it even makes sense to have this discussion anymore. You won't convince us because you're wrong, we won't convince you because you already have the answer you chose and won't accept another one (not sure why you asked the question to begin with, then). Honestly, just talk to your DM. Even if you convince us, unless your DM allows it, it's pointless. If they allow it, good for you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, am I reading this right that in the new players handbook losing temp hp doesn't cause you to make a constitution save to maintain concentration?
Concentration says it can be broken by damage.
Damage is defined as a loss of hit points.
And according to chapter 1, temporary hit points are explicitly not hit points.
So you wouldn't need to roll for concentration and effects that trigger on damage also wouldn't trigger while you have temp hp?
No. Damage is not "defined as" a loss of hit points.
Instead, there is a general rule which states that:
Subtracting hit points is not what taking damage means -- it's what happens when you do take damage.
Then, later on, there is a specific exception to the above general rule, which states that:
So, this is a more specific rule for what happens when you do take damage, and you happen to have some temporary hit points.
Temporary hit points do not prevent you from taking damage.
The rules glossary specifically states
"Damage represents harm that causes a creature or an object to lose Hit Points."
So if you aren't losing hit points, you aren't taking damage?
That glossary entry probably could use some errata for clarity. It's just trying to differentiate a particular type of harm as opposed to acquiring a harmful condition or some other harmful effect. They are talking about the type of harm that is capable of causing a creature or an object to lose Hit Points. Hit Points don't have to be lost in order for something to be classified as damage. The way that this glossary entry is worded is a bit misleading which could cause an interpretation that does not align with how dealing damage and taking damage is described throughout the "Playing the Game" portion of the rules.
In the rules, it is described like this:
It is implied throughout the rules that when damage is dealt to a creature, that creature takes damage, unless a rule or feature says otherwise. For example:
According to the rules, when you DO take damage, you subtract it from your temporary hit points first, and then you subtract whatever is left from your hit points.
Jeremy Crawford also confirmed that this is how it works.
https://x.com/JeremyECrawford/status/503958007177166848
Glossaries are snap shots of rules not the full and complete rules. The full rule is in the section described up2ng.
That's also for a different edition of the game... Sorta
But RAW, hit points do have to be lost in order for you to have taken damage. At least until they errata the definition for damage.
Edit: actually, with this definition of damage from the glossary, you also can't suffer a death saving throw failure from taking damage because you can't lose anymore hit points after dropping to 0.
So definitely need errata
Temporary is and adjective describing a particular subset of the general group “hitpoints” . They are still hitpoints so even if the temp HP are not exhausted you have stilllost hitpoints when you take damage. So you still need to roll for concentration. There is no real way to worm out of that. But nice try.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Nah, the glossary is just saying that the concept of damage represents a certain type of harm. Taking damage means that that particular type of harm has been inflicted upon you. When you DO take damage, the consequences of that are resolved by the various rules that I've quoted above.
If it were the way that you are saying it would have been written in a different way.
Temporary Hit Points aren’t Hit Point, but if you have Temporary Hit Points and take damage, those points are lost first, and any leftover damage carries over to your Hit Points, meaning if there was no leftover, you still took damage in the first place, you just didn't loose Hit Points.
For example, if you have 5 Temporary Hit Points and take 7 damage, you lose those points and then lose 2 Hit Points.
The way Damage, Concentration, Temporary Hit points, etc. work in the 2024 PHB is the same as in the 2014 one. They didn't change that.
At this point, like Wi1dBi11 said, you're just trying to find a nonexistent loop in the rules that would allow you to avoid dealing with Concentration. That's why you're ignoring rules as written, everyone showing you why you're wrong, and even Jeremy Crawford's explanation. You just don't want to accept it.
I don't think it even makes sense to have this discussion anymore. You won't convince us because you're wrong, we won't convince you because you already have the answer you chose and won't accept another one (not sure why you asked the question to begin with, then). Honestly, just talk to your DM. Even if you convince us, unless your DM allows it, it's pointless. If they allow it, good for you.